We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location withTerrible rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koggala Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we booked the hotel for family outing.hotel is nice. location is nice.nice pool and nice beach.but rooms are terrible.rooms are dirty.there are spider nest too.beds are smelly. pillow cases are with so many black patches. so we have changed our bookingto long Beach hotel under same management.
But I have to say Koggala beach staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Before you check in to the room better to see the rooms first and ask clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank subhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lovely Beach Hotel and Rooms are very good and Cleaned with Sea View. Foods are Testy and Service is Very Good. Restaurant Staff was Friendly. The Manager Uppsi was Very Friendly and Kind and do all need full things to Guest. I was planning to go for Night Club in Unawatuna and Manager Uppsi has Taken Me to Club 52 in Koggala Beach and it was Superb Place to Drink and Dance. Night Club staff bar man Saman, Andre and In Charge Kulle was Very Good to the There Guest. I hope if I get chance to visit I will visit again to Koggala Beach hotel and Club 52 to Relax and Enjoy Myself.

Thanks for Manager Uppsi and Club 52 Staff.

Esther………..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Having read all previous reviews I sent a friend to check up on this hotel before booking. The result was we stayed there and had a fabulous holiday, you just could not believe the surroundings, right on the beach it's not possible to improve on the situation.
The Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable and old fashioned with plenty of character. The Hotel food was buffet style with plenty of choices, traditional Sri Lankan foods as well as chef cooked food in the restaurant, with salads and varied food selections available. We stayed for 14 nights and were very happy with what we paid and what we had, remembering that it was a seaside hotel and not a modern 5 star hotel. We would be happy to return and enjoy the facilities and the very welcoming staff. A fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: All downstairs rooms have sun beds and are almost on the beach, superb for a lazy holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Fan hanging precariously from the ceiling; shower pipe broke; latch fell off shower door; given a dirty glass in the restaurant; food dull and buffet dishes random - nothing went with anything else; our driver was housed in disgusting accommodation and had to rent a room elsewhere; sun loungers grubby and broken; the bar poorly stocked, gloomy and the fans only turned on after repeated requests. A transit hotel for the coachloads. Lack of attention to detail - place awash with managers, never a good sign. Some staff trying their hardest, and the room boy was an artist with sheets, towels and flowers. Lovely location, right on beach. Good size room. No sign of activities mentioned on website. Just tatty and a bit seedy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

On the positive side:
* The beach is great! It really is, nothing to complain about there at all!
* The rooms are well located, close to the beach
* The rooms are big and well planned
* The staff was nice to you
* The rooms where clean, with the big exception of the floors that were dirty

On the negative side:
* Nearly nothing was well maintained (pool was not fresh, deck chairs fell apart, knobs and stuff in the room was loose...)
* The floors in the rooms were quite dirty. After a shower the feet got dirty again very fast after a few steps in the room. The daily cleaing in the room did not fix that problem. I gues the the just moved the dirt between the rooms.
* The restaurant was unpersonal. More or less like a school cantine. Our first night they had underdimensioned the buffet which meant that they ran out of the meat dishes. So we had to keep to the vegetarian dishes. The actual food was not very exciting.
* Things like having your laundery picked up and later on delivered meant that you need to talk to the staff about six times. You cannot count on that what you agree later on happens. If you do, you'll get dissapointed.
* Things like having one matress changed to achieve equal height beds took two days and four different attempts to talk to the staff.
* There are a few big hotels along Koggal beach, behind the hotels there is nothing. No shops, no restaurants, no nothing. If you want to shop you need to use the hotel shop (not great) or walk one kilometer or so to the local small singalese shops. To eat someplace else you need a car or a tuk-tuk.

Room Tip: We had rooms 5 and 6. Perhaps there are others that are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My cousins and I stayed at the 2 nights recently. I'm hard pressed to find any real fault with the hotel. We greeted by the bellboys with an amazing welcome drink. Since there were 4 guys we received an upgrade to the suites on the huge room where we all can stay together and were certainly not disappointed. The hotel has stunning views and is nicely designed. The rooms have sea views. They have clean and tidy pools. We had fun in their sport complex as well. The buffet is great and offers a lot of variety and the seafood selection is good. They also offer good service. The newly started idea of Club 52 in Koggala Beach Hotel is very excellent. Ultimately we all had great and memorable time over there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sethiya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Excellent location next to sea with very clean beach. Sea here is Blue...!! Hotel has nice clean swimming pool. Rooms are big enough with pvt balconies with sea view. Cleanliness in bathroom needs to be improved. Food is basic and is repetitive if u go for buffet and stay over 2 to 3 days..! Overall its good hotel. Nice and cooperative staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tushar06007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
229 reviews
5.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koggala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Sunspot Tours, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koggala Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing