We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koggala Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK Hotel !”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent one night in this hotel with my husband some where in Dec 2012. Rooms looked nice and the scenery was also nice. But the friendliness of the staff should be improved (however this is not about the entire staff but some, room boys were very cordial and with smiling faces.) and so as the cleanliness of the rooms. When we were in the pool area and ordered a drink from the restaurant, we actually had to go to the restaurant, find the bar keeper and get the drink done after we waited so long.
Liked the food anyway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    157
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
99
171
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff are very friendly and try to help in any way they can. They made a marvelous effort for our anniversary, decorated our room and provided a lovely cake. Unfortunately the rooms are in need of updating, they have modernised some which are lovely. The standard of food is okay but can be repetative, however the fresh fruit is marvelous and plentiful. The swimming pools are well maintained and cleaned every day as well as the rooms, but the tables in the bar were extremely dirty. The reception area is the only place where you can get an internet connection and there was often no seats left and those that are there are made to lounge in and not comfortable to sit upright. There is a natural lagoon further along the beach where most people went for a swim as the area is protected by a natural reef because the currents are very strong with large waves. During our stay at least 4 leatherback turtles laid eggs on the hotel beach and if you let the guards know you are intersted they will knock on your door when they see any turtles. We also went whale watching from melissa and were very fortunate seeing about 20, yet some guests went a few days before and didn't see any.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennydRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Koggala Beach hotel is in good quality as a three star hotel.
Their service is very good. The staff is always smiling when they see us.
Very friendly environment & reasonable room rates.
Another special thing that I noticed is the reservation system of their official website was very simple and fast (I booked through it).

The hotel is located in front of the Koggala beach and easily accessible the beach when we needed. Hotel is clean, clear and bathroom facilities also can be satisfied.

There are many things to do around the area when the stay at the hotel. The staff helped us to find them we actually grateful to them.

I recommend this hotel if someone is looking for a diversified stay in a beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you don't pay much for a 3-star hotel, don't expect a 5-star mansion (or go to The Fortress instead- a hotel next door..).The food was nice, especially the Indian and Sri Lankan themed dinner.As I fruit lover I was in heaven: sugar apple, soursop, mango,papaya,pineapple etc- I have been to many hotels in The Caribbean, Europe etc and have never seen such a variety of fruit for breakfast in a 3-star hotel, my only gripe is guava- it could have been riper..).There was a shady part on the hotel beach( if you like the shade, forget the neighbouring hotels as it felt like sauna over there, those umbrellas were simply useless after 2 pm..).The staff was really helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning boys and the waiters.I hardly ever come back to the hotel/place I have visited before, I might to this one!
(don't forget to leave the hotel and see the country-Nuwara Eliya, Ella, Kandy, Tangalle, Dondra lighthouse-amazing view from the top!,Galle,Wijaya beach...)

Try the restaurant next door as well-Catalina with a plane in front of it(a really affordable and tasty food, the portions were massive!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albarnoss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Came back from sri Lanka 2 weeks ago we stayed in the south of the island very nice koggala beach hotel is good but starting to get a little tired and needs some up dating the water system takes quite a long time to get warm. Apart from these small niggles .we found the staff wonderful very helpful especially with our 18 month son.
If you have kids this is the place to go

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 119303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My daughters liked this hotel so much that we planned to go back again. Thanks to our guide Sudath, who insisted s to take a look to the hotel facilities. The front desk was professional and cordial enough to show us couple of good rooms and we choose a middle one of the hotel of it,s right wing. It has a fantastic pool and the adjacent beach is also awesome. They have a big menu of breakfast and different cuisines for dinner. Each night they have a international theme of food, we got a Thai night and a international night. There was nice music from two a local groups in two nights. The room was spacious for four of us. They put an extra bed for four of us. The bathroom, shower and toilet was nicely cleaned. They have good offer for the off peak season. I recommend it for all who wants to avoid crowd of other beach area but want to enjoy a great time in the wide beach, take sun baths or just jump into the cold water of Indian Ocean.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floor are good for the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShashankaSaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It was a fast and comfortable journey from kottawa to koggala beach hotel from Southern high way express and we were warmly welcomed with refreshing welcome drink by the friendly staff of koggala beach hotel Then were asked to wait a bit in the reception which is facing to the pool and few minutes later we were escorted to the room.

Rooms with cozy king size Bed, spacious, view of the sea, clean bathroom.

Even it don’t have a private beach, it’s almost like a private beach as from both sides, it has 2 other resorts still belong to the same company, it was a broad wide long golden fine sandy beach, we all enjoyed very much. Absolutely gorgeous

The pool was good as well, the only thing we disappointed, there were 2 dogs who stayed next to the pool always, and it’s not hygienic and as we travel with a kid, it was little scary as well, the management must consider about this

We were on half board basis and we enjoyed the breakfast very much than the dinner, the manager of the main restaurant was very helpful and whenever we dined we received a table with sea view. We chilled out in the main bar with some cocktails. Good place

They did not had any spa itself, but still we could make bookings for massage and we got treated by one of their sister property next to the koggla beach hotel

As a whole our stay was fine, value for money, the reason was for us to choose this hotel, the beach, location which was completely free from noises and rates

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12 and its a separate block that has around 20 rooms i believe, our friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roshan_karunathilaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koggala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Property: Koggala Beach Hotel
Address: Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koggala Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing