We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight
Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Sunset over pool
Lounge
Pool & sun terrace
Master bedroom
Reflections on the lake
Master bedroom dressing table
Honeymoon greeting
Balcony view
View across balcony
View from master bedroom ensuite
Master bedroom shower
Pool shower
Sunrise- its worth getting up!
Sunterrace plants
Front of villa
Monkeys by the pool
Bedroom two ensuite
Lower garden and jetty
Master bedroom
TV/games room
Lower garden
Kitchen
Veranda seating
Local transport
Dining area
Front steps
Hammock by the pool
Garden swings
Balcony side view
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Right hand side of garden
Sunterrace greenery
Sunset from balcony
Letting off steam!
Front of house
Lower garden in front of the pool
Garden room ensuite
The garden room
Peacock on the gate post
Antique chest
Kingfisher in action
Rear of villa
Side of house viewed from garden
Garden
Koggala beach
Villa from the lake
Bed 2
Bed 3
Bed 3 mirror
Wall Lizard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Heatherjw...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent the last three days of our holiday with friends at Lakeview Villa, and if they had been the first days, we would never have left.
Everything about the villa was perfect. The infinity pool, overlooking the lake was fantastic.
The gardens were amazing, full of birds, monkeys and even a monitor.
The bedrooms were beautiful, with the master bedroom having a fantastic balcony overlooking the lake.
Somali, the housekeeper/cook cooked the most delicious food that we had eaten during our holiday.
We would highly recommend the villa , especially for families or a group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samn970
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa, fantastic location, perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Without repeating previous comments, this villa definitely exceeded expectations. The accommodation is both comfortable & attractive, meticulously clean. The gardens are immaculate, infinity pool wonderful and the views stunning. However, what really made our few days at Lakeview Villa so perfect were the attentions of Sonali and Lasanda who manage the property, and Raja the gardener. They were so welcoming and friendly, yet somehow invisible. Sonali's cooking is simply fabulous. We hope to return, next time with our family (sorry Sonali!). Thank you Lesley, it was a lovely touch meeting us on arrival and seeing us off too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaptonCh...
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tranquillity!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent several days at Lakeview Villa enjoying the peace and tranquillity before heading to Far Horizons on the coast.

The villa, more of a colonial mansion, sits on the shores of the large and impressive lake at Koggala. The villa contains every creature comfort that you could ask for. It starts with the wow factor of the infinity pool overlooking the lake as soon as you walk through the front door and just gets better.

Four large en-suite bedrooms, all with stunning views and a multitude of places to sit, relax and unwind making the property ideal for those wanting to get away from it all. There’s even a cinema room, very popular with the children.

Lesley was there to welcome us; she was great during the booking, and she left us with Sonali and Lasantha who take complete care of you, Sonali’s cooking is something else, just amazing.

We loved our time at Lakeview and would love to visit again, for longer next time. I would highly recommend a stay at Lakeview for utter peace & quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet & lovely food
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieM833
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lakeside tranquility ”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful and extremely spacious villa, large light and airy rooms with a wonderful view of Koggala lake. Our family stayed 10 very relaxed days here, we enjoyed Sonali's very good breakfasts, lunches and dinners with huge variety of delicious food. She made a delicious chocolate cake for my daughters birthday. Large infinity pool was great, as was air conditioned film/TV room in the evenings, the selection of books and games and DVDs. Gardens kept immaculate by Raja who kept us entertained by pointing out all the visiting wildlife. I could have sat for hours on the balcony admiring the view with the birds and monkeys. Ken and Lesley very efficient at responding promptly to all our email queries leading up to the holiday, they provided lots of detailed information about the area and things to do, and we really appreciated them coming to see us at the start and end of our stay. The villa is great for an extended family with one room slightly separate from others offering extra privacy. Don't stay here if you want easy access to cafes and bars, we really enjoyed being away from busy coastal area, but it is 10 mins tuk tuk ride from nearest beach/40 mins from Galle. We hired Lasantha's moped for a very reasonable rate, great fun exploring quiet country lanes around the lake. One minor quibble was we had to ask for rooms and pool to be cleaned. No big deal though, and the villa design, location and tranquility make this a wonderful place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharshini...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“An idyllic getaway”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I am a Sri Lankan living overseas and booking this property by communicating with Lesley via email was very convenient. She was extremely helpful and even contacted us early to confirm any dietary preferences, which many hotels still do not do. She also provided detailed instructions to the property as it is hard to find. We had trouble finding the place on a rainy night, but Lesley had provided us with the phone number for Sonali (property manager) who directed us. The property is completely worth the trek!
It is a beautiful house with a stunning view over Koggala Lake. We were told that the house was designed and furnished by the owners Lesley and Ken, who clearly have a great eye. The bedrooms were nice and airy with lovely four poster beds and a little cot for our 5 month old. The bathrooms were spotless, modern and large as was the kitchen. Ken has a good movie collection which can be viewed via the projector in the air-conditioned TV room. Lesley also has a nice book collection for rainy weather.
We were quite lucky with the weather even in monsoon season, as we only had rain on two nights and the days were nice and warm, which allowed us to truly enjoy the infinity pool and the lovely outdoor dining area. Which leads me to Sonali's cooking which is just superlative. We had some truly excellent Sri Lankan curry and ate far too much for every meal! Both Sonali and Lasantha were extremely friendly and helpful and made our visit truly enjoyable. Sonali was kind enough to call us after we left as we had left our baby monitor behind and even posted it back to us. If only all property managers were as wonderful as Sonali and Lasantha! Raj the gardener was also very friendly and freely answered all our questions about the plants/trees in the garden as well as the many many birds that visited the garden and pool area in the mornings.
I could really go on and on about Lakeview Villa as could the rest of my family who travelled with me, but to sum it up, we had an excellent time, would love to return for a longer stay and will definitely recommend it to friends and family. When i am back at work and it is a particularly difficult day, i will escape by imagining that i am back in Lakeview Villa, lying in the hammock by the pool after an excellent feed, surrounded by loved ones, with an amazing view in front of me and not a care in the world. Paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view and food
Liked least: Small roads and difficulty accessing the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKruijs...
Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We staid here with two families, 8 people in total and had just a wonderful time. Sonali and her husband Lasantha made us feel very much both at home and on holiday.

Sonali prepared the most wonderful food; she is a wonder. Sri Lankan dishes (both spicy - for me and not very spicy - for the rest of our group), and also international dishes, as per request.

The time spend there could not have been better, although it was quite hot and humid, but that is due to the country, and not the house.

We will certainly be back in this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Airco in the bedrooms would have been very much appreciated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEF201474...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lakeview villa completely surpassed our expectations. The location is sublime, overlooking a huge lake where solo fishermen row for their catch in outrigger canoes. The villa is carefully designed to offer natural ventilation, spacious living, privacy, and amazing views. The staff at the villa are friendly, obliging, and discreet. Sonali, the housekeeper, is very capable and most accommodating to guests' needs.
We went for a holiday of a lifetime, to give our children an experience of a different culture; we got all that and so much more.
There are so many places to visit in the world, but we definitely want to return to Lakeview Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/views
Liked least: Storm blinds.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing