We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well :-)”
Review of Cafe Ceylon

Cafe Ceylon
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Koggala
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Fusion, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very well :-)”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very lovely restaurant! Food was delicious, waiter was very polite, although seemed scared and we could barely hear him.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana_mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    82
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Oysterssss!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The lagoon oysters are highly recommendable. So is the Bonito burger.

Sadly during my last visit the chocolate brownies were not up to their usual standard but I hope this will change. One of the best restaurants in the region and the ambience in the evenings is fantastic. Shame its not beach-front though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were staying in Koggala at The Fortress. Eager for a change of food choices and looking to mark our final night we read the good reviews and headed over to Cafe Ceylon, a short spin down the road.

It's a really lovely setting with al fresco tables. We were the only diners there (out of season)

However, with the exception of the Prawn Gyoza appetisers, which were delicious, the food was appalling. Their menu must be a dozen items total and is two pages only. There is no alcohol served on the premises so after the appetisers we ordered two Fantas, the Cafe Ceylon Burger and the Fish and Chips;

The burger was advertised as tenderloin but was the size and consistency of a 1980 Birds Eye burger. It came served between two slices of white bread like a sandwich.

The chunky fries were black; obviously deep fried in dirty oil. The fried fish was quite good but again the chunky fries that came with it looked like they had been cooked in Castrol.

We picked a bit, then, keen to make a quick exit, we got the check which at R2,750 would have been a good price had the meal been edible.

The waiter didn't say anything when he saw the full plates coming back, it probably wasn't a surprise.

The service wasn't bad but it was clear nobody would be that bothered had we complained.

Their credit card machine wasn't working properly (probably same problem as the deep fat fryer) so we paid in cash.

Luckily our tuk-tuk driver had waited so we walked down the dirt track in the pitch black illuminated only by my mobile phone and were up and away.

Total round trip from our hotel and back just under an hour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sea food!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

delicious food! espacially sea food and the prices are very liberal) the have russian menu) if you order sea food, they bring it to show you and then they cook it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yuli4ka98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great food, presented like in a top class restaurant, highly recommend the tuna in sesame and the banana pudding, you won't regret a visit here!
Plenty of staff and quick service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ceylon also viewed

 
Koggala, Galle District
 

Been to Cafe Ceylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing