We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic staff”
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We've just spent a wonderful week at this hotel. It's quite a drive from the airport (3hours) although will get much quicker when the motorway is extended. Some of the traffic on the roads was quite chaotic and thankfully the hotel driver was calm, experienced and didn't take any risks. Whilst the hotel is near a road you cant hear the traffic from the hotel grounds - it really is a haven of tranquility. We had a great welcome and were offered a tour of the resort as well as a choice of welcome drinks. There are 2 large spotlessly clean pools with plenty of sun beds.

The spa comes VERY highly recommended and is reasonably priced- Balinese massage, head massage etc. there is a daily special offer which is worth looking into. We visited about 4 times.

The rooms were clean and spacious we had booked a duplex as the larger suite was not available and it was absolutely fine for all 4 of us. 2 TVs and DVD rental was a nice touch as well with good choices. Both of our rooms had sea views and we had a balcony and our own sun loungers in the garden overlooking the sea.

There is a wide selection of food and its good quality. We would recommend the half board which comes with a generous allowance per person each day which you can use towards the fine dining restaurant on request.

The hotel has little squirrels running around which are really cute and the children loved them. The beach does have a few locals trying to sell you tours - whilst a lot cheaper than the hotel we decided to go with the hotel tours as we knew the vehicles were well maintained (actually almost brand new).

Arjuna Madushanka was a stand out star employee who looked after us brilliantly all week. Nothing was too much trouble and when our youngest son had a stomach ache ( from swallowing sea water whilst boogie boarding) he brought him coconut juice and green bananas which did actually make him feel so much better.

Living in Dubai we do have high expectations and the fortress certainly lived up to these. The real differentiator is the hotel employees and their sheer friendliness and willingness to be flexible to make your stay enjoyable. THANKS to all who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUTHANDPAULLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    284
    72
    19
    9
See reviews for
274
879
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have visited Fortress on several occasions and my one day layover was disappointing. I was given room 47 upstairs which has a lovely balcony and a partial view of the Indian Ocean which was the highlight of the room. The room itself was not up to standard. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been and the bath which I usually love was not cleaned properly. The room looked aged compared to last time.
On a positive note the staff are excellent. Arranged a boxed breakfast for us in the morning and the lunch which we had at the restaurant was very good. Whatever issues we brought to their attention were dealt with very professionally.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent three fabulous nights is this sumptuous hotel. Our room was well equipped with the finest sound system and a wonderful bathroom. Three of us shared the accommodation and there was plenty of room for us all. It was a bonus to have two sinks! The food was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. We loved watching the turtles swimming on the rocks.

Room Tip: Our room was great for three people. We did not see any other rooms. The view out to sea was fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A gorgeous place in an old dutch fortress. Entering through huge doors the hotel opens up towards the sea. We stayed two nights, in a room on the top floor facing sideways against a blind wall, sea view would be preferred. Food of excellent quality, only the service in the restaurant was not up to standard, some employees seem ed to have an arrogant behavior.
The beds slept really well and were of top quality! We´ll be back!

Room Tip: avoid the rooms a the far ends, since they are lacking a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottobrunn-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Spent 10 nights half board,arrived at Colombo airport at 1530 hours and thanks to Destinology UK ( their mix up over transfer)t, finally got to fortress at 2320 hours very tired. Told us that we had been upgraded to beach view from ocean view room not sure as seen so much about rooms on T.A. to the ladies credit said we good view ocean view next day and change if we wanted.After looking next day we decided to stay on beach view just a matter of choice found the rooms very spacious,but do feel they could have been laid out a little better the seating area is designed for extra sleeping rather than sitting on,and a few more draws would not go amiss.The bathroom was again very spacious but was amazed to see that the marble frontage to the washbasin cracked in three places and at sometime in the past had just had a botched repair instead of being replaced,not a big job to do.Our room cleaner Geeth did an execellent job in keeping everything clean a real hard worker as were the two pool attendants Upul and Manju always on the go despite being one short through an accident. In general the lawned areas are ok but nothing special very low maintenance again i expect to keep staffing levels in these areas to a minimum.To the left of the grounds is a door through the wall which leads to a small beach here you will find a safe bathing area small in size as this is behind a reef and size of it will depend on the height of the tide,as you come back through the door to the right is a turtle hatchery which the hotel run but do not publicise,to the right you have a beach proper stretching for miles nice for a long walk and a dip on this stretch you will also come across a few chaps wanting to take you here there and every where we didnt use them,but they didnt hassle us to take any of their tours seemed quite happy just to have a chat. The hotel did put on some great entertainment on Independence night,and the singer during and after diner was first class the best night of our stay,again the young lady we only knew by the badge name of Trainee, really never got to talk to her as she was always so busy earned her wages, in the restaurant staffing levels are at a maximum,but how well some of them are trained is open to question you can be left waiting on times or even forgotten,did have a couple of issues especially over breakfast,two mornings running went to get another course only to come out and find our table cleared of everything the cooked food was never very hot and the plates were always cold,I like to start with fruit but what was on offer here was the poorest selection ive ever come across. Will come back to Sri Lanka again but will drop down a grade on hotel and fly buisness class as we always do it the other way cheap flight but best hotel, seen enough on this trip to book everything on a independant basis.

Room Tip: think this is just a matter of personal choice,either beach or ocean view are much the same in size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Amazing hotel, from the big gates as you enter you really feel like you are coming somewhere special and that it is.

The good
- Stunning pool that is almost infinity over the sea.
- Beautiful rooms that come with Bose sound systems. Very sleep and and spacious
- Delicious food, we had the Sri Lankan platter and it was amongst the best meals we had in Sri Lanka
- You can see turtles right from the sun loungers playing in the sea


The bad
- Patchy service. Took 45 mins at the pool to order a drink after waiters disappearing, wrong menu coming twice and then finally the actual drinks taking a long time. However the rest of the stay was nice and so only docked one star for this. More training is needed and pool waiters should wait in front of the chairs to see who needs serving for this class of hotel
- Rocky beach so don't expect to be able to walk out and play in the surf. Also at this end of Galle the surf is strong so be careful

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lovely location, right on the beach, beautiful! The overall ambiance of this hotel is great, but there is a couple of things lacking. It's a five star hotel and daily water in the room was not automatic. There is a coffee machine and the coffee capsules are charged at 350 rupees EACH. Dreadful given the nightly charge - this should have been complimentary . This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka and we expected at least complimentary quality coffee. The food was good in the restaurant but expect a very leisurely wait. The outdoor service in the gardens and around the pool was faultless - courteous and prompt. The hotel has an arrangement with the tuk tuk drivers outside and this was a great way to travel in and out of Galle which is about 14 km away.

We were, however distressed after paying our very expensive bill (-at midday, we did not leave until 1800) to be chased to the gate by Someone from the front desk demanding to pay an unpaid fictitious bill. This was public, unnecessary and discourteous - we were angry my husbands name and ADDRESS had been added to some one else's room number - it took us to point this out. Totally unacceptable

Room Tip: We had a beach room with plunge pool, very expensive, if you book a beach room, certainly rooms 1-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,723 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
407 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
685 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing