We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned from srilanka after a week touring then a week in the wonderful Fortress Resort. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt like royalty. We had an Ocean room, which was huge, a 7ft by 7ft bed and the sheets were changed daily. As for the daily petal decorations on the bed you felt guilty getting in. They also had an evening turning down service and towels were changed twice a day the amenities in the room from the sound system to the toiletries, luxury bedding I could go on and on. But the best bit was the view from our balcony with the infinity pool lined by palm trees and the Indian Ocean beyond, just heavenly. The staff were fantastic as soon as your cup or glass were empty they were there, if you wanted a sunbed they knew before you did and it was prepared for you. I can't speak more highly of them all. The food was great the fillet steak to die for. They have a Srilankan night once a week it was superb, what a spread. We were half board but for those who were bed and breakfast it was expensive to eat in the evening. The only criticism is that the drinks were so expensive it was silly. But on the bright side we cut down on the drinking so every cloud and all that.

Room Tip: Get a Tuk Tuk driver to take you to a beer shop and stock up your fridge with cheap booze
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    284
    72
    19
    9
See reviews for
274
879
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

After a 2 week tour around the country , we arrived with 3 kids to this hotel and it must be said it looks like heaven. The place looks even better than the pictures you will see in any magazine or on the net. Pool and sea area including scenery are fantastic. There are great food options for kids and i was a bit worried that the sea was rough but it turns out there is a small secluded beach area protected by rocks in the sea so you kids can enjoy a safe swim in the ocean( my kids are 16 14 and 10)
The staff is trying to please and serve us in an amazing way !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchampstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We ate at the fortress. The food was tasty however it wasn't worth the amount spent. The waiting staff were quite slow and seated us away from the guests who were actually staying at the hotel which was odd. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just checked out with our family of 6. We had two Fortress rooms side-by-side. The rooms were very generous in size, and the kids one had a huge king sized bed and was able to comfortably fit in 2 single beds as well.
The rooms are very well appointed. There is a Bose sound system, with preloaded iPod, and the telephones are B&O. The amenities are Crabtree and Evelyn.
The bedding was very comfortable and the housekeeping impeccable. Beds were made with flower petal pictures on the doona covers and towels were changed more than once per day. Our room was scented with oil burners daily.
I think the resort is being refurbished, as the room next to ours was being gutted. This did give us some daytime noise and our room was quite musty and humid. It may be that it was next on the list to be redone.
There is a lovely long pool which overlooks the sea. The overlooking beach has rock pools and a public sea pool. I set myself up on the edge of the property and was able to supervise kids in the sea pool, in the rock pools, in the resort pool and watch the turtles feeding in the water just beyond the rock pools, all from the comfort of my banana lounge - it was amazing.
The Lime spa offered high quality of treatments, at a reasonable price for a resort.
The restaurant served a great buffet breakfast, and we also ate there for lunches and dinners. To eat out we caught a Tut Tut for LKR 800 (return - the drivers will wait for you) to Unawatuna where there are many restaurants. This is very accessible so you shouldn't feel trapped in the resort. A tip is to catch a Tut Tut from across the road, this will be cheaper than getting the hotel to call you one, as the drivers pay the resort 50% of their fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Fortress is a superb getaway. Going in June, off season, it was very reasonable. The staff was very attentive. The breakfast buffet was excellent; it had a wide variety of items to match anyone's tastes. The evening seafood buffet, while expensive, was superb -- included all-you-can-eat lobster!! The outdoor pool meandered the length of the property and had an amazing view of the ocean. We had cocktails at the pool while watching the sun drop into the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Service is excellent and the staff could not be more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were looked after by Thejani throughout our stay (2 adults and 3 teenagers in our party) and she was fantastic. If you want a 'no worries' trip and can afford it, the Fortress Residence rooms would be tough to beat (except the subdued mood lighting in the rooms makes bed time reading tough!) And the weather was perfectly ok in August, with only the occasional rain shower, so don't think you can only come in high season when the rates are most expensive, We hope to return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, Devon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the moment that you enter through the huge gates, prepare to be amazed! The open plan reception looks directly out to The Indian Ocean with the breaking waves right there. The room we had was enormous, with a bed that about 6 could sleep in. The food was very good, and the staff very attentive.
A fabulous stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aligreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,723 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
407 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
685 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Destinology, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing