We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence In All Spheres”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellence In All Spheres”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Visited for two nights stay & was impressed in comparison to the same place 3 years ago. The check in was swift, the rooms was upto mark with all modern amenities like Bose sound to intelligent lighting. The jacuzzi in the room was nice. Trying upgrading to a beach rooms as it's worth the bucks.
Food wise the pros is that service is superb. Special mention of mr. Amjad in the restaurant who is an asset. They have two menus, try the PEPPER menu rather than the HEAT. Breakfast was very ordinary though there was selection, it didn't have taste, for instance the chef I think does not even know how to make a basic string hoppers which was " don't talk abt it".
Try there lamprais rice which was wow. Don't try there hummus & pizzas which was very ordininary.
I think the hotel management has to really push the kitchen to greater heights. Check out the food for instance in Ullagalla wallauwa.
Spa was also very nice and professional.
Keep it up fortress as it's still the best property down south in Srilanka & hope the management doesn't take my criticism too personal.

Will I return again- yes bcus of the service & the lamprais.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    285
    73
    19
    9
See reviews for
281
882
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband I live in Dubai, so over the EID holidays we wanted to get out of the ME and go somewhere which didnt take over 7 or 8 hours travelling time. We choose the Fortress. This hotel is devine. the rooms are very spacious, (we stayed in a beach room), with its own sitting area, big king size bed, jacuzzi bath and separate massive rain shower. The view was amazing, the staff couldnt do enough - this is a little bit paradise in Sri Lanka. Well worth a visit...

Room Tip: We stayed in a Beach room, which overlooks the beach (obviously). There are other rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived at midday but that was not a problem, they switched cleaning staff so my room was prepared immediately. The room was cool, well furnished, comfortable. Free WiFi, (thats a rarity nowadays, most hotels charge the earth for it as they know business travellers must have it). Restaurant service was first class, attentive waiters but not intrusive, food was well prepared, well presented and delicious.
All in all a very enjoyable experience to stay here. I was on a business trip but the stay here made it feel more like a holiday. Will I return? Yes I will, for business reasons and for a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great for a couples trip. We came with three kids 5 and under and there wasn't much variety for them BUT they certainly my weren't complaining given there's a huge pool and they are happy to spend most of their time there. The hotel is I the beach Nd has stunning g ocean views, but it's not a swimming beach. The beach is very narrow - more like the hotel Is set on a small hill above the beach and the surf is rough. But it's gorgeous and relaxing to listen to the waves poolside.

They could definitely use an additional restaurant for variety. The menu is pretty big though and they are flexible with requests.

We split our time between this hotel and a private villa inside Galle Fort, which we found a nice mix for just over a week in the area.

Room Tip: We liked our ocean facing room that was bit further away from the pool so we could leave the shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We headed to Galle after a wedding in Negombo and heard that the Fortress was the best place to stay and heard correctly.

The good:

Wow first impression on arrival.
Amazing pool
Amazing beach front location with waves crashing in
Wonderful sea salty air
Manager greeted us on arrival
Upgraded to ocean room
Great sea view
Historic hotel
Sturdy wooden doors/gates n fittings
Decent shower
Ipod bose music
Ok breakfast
Good pizza
Amazing curry n culture night show
Ok service
Nice balcony
Great day bed
Cold beer
Cocktail night
Kid friendly
Pool table

The not so good:

3hr drive from airport is too far
Annoying beggars/scammers on beach
Waves too big to swim
Sharp rocks on beach
Hustling tuk tuk drivers outside
Expensive laundry
Suicidal driving on roads
Limited quality western food
No soya milk

In summary, its an amazing venue, hotel and relaxing spot but just too far from the airport to justify the trip.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 201Hedgefunder201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 for one week having spent a week travelling around the country.
Positives - incredible bedroom, oil burner filled with gorgeous clove oil every night, supremely comfy bed, best shower I have ever used, fabulous facilities and decor. Restaurant staff were unsurpassed in their attention. Pool outstanding in its user friendliness and view over the sea. A calm oasis.
Negatives our room looked onto a wall. Wrong season so we could not swim in the sea. Rip off tuk tuks outside the hotel and they could turn nasty. Hotel staff porters should have monitored them better.
Overall a fabulous experience in a beautiful country.

Room Tip: Ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My-self and my partner took my parents to Sri Lanka as a gift,and we spent the last week at the The Fortress,the staff were very polite and couldnt do enough for you ,food was good. The view from your room was amazing we had he beach front room ,which i would recommend its worth the money ,we will certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: Beach front room ,amazing views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
388 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress Resort & Spa

Property: The Fortress Resort & Spa
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing