We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low season trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fortress

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Low season trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. All facilities are in place. Nice room with seaview. Pool is amazing. Beach is little rough with rocks on the water. View is amazing. SPA is too expensive on the regular basis.
Recommend for couples or family.












Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank garminman300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    276
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
852
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was the last hotel in our two week tour of this fantastic county, described as 'The Honeymoon Hotel'. Having stayed in three hotels prior to this we must say that this was the best. The staff were excellent and even arranged for freshly baked gluten free bread for my wife. The food was great with the full board package we had. Grounds were mazing with a hammock strung between two palm tress right outside our beach front room. the beach was amazing and a great walk if you wanted. The room really had the wow factor with jacuzzi bath with lights and jets making it all that bit more special. A bose speaker system came with the room with the hotel even supplying an IPOD packed with music. The gym was good with equipment that was all that was needed for your use and a fitness instructor if you so wished. The only gripe we would have was the price of drinks with a £6 bottle of wine back home costing 25 there and even the local beer more expensive that all the other hotels we had stayed at in Sri Lanka. That said we were so sad to leave and would recommend this to anyone wanting that wow hotel for their honeymoon.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a beach front room but as there are only 40 rooms you really can't lose out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My female friend and I visited the Fortress when staying nearby in order to use the spa, which was recommended to us by our own hotel. When we booked our two 90 minute treatments by telephone we asked if we could then have lunch at the Fortress and use the pool for a couple of hours - we thought we would be nicely relaxed after our time in the spa so it would be nice to stay put for a couple of hours before getting back in a tuk tuk. (Our hotel was gorgeous and also had a lovely pool - but was about 20 minutes drive away, and did not have a spa). The lady we spoke to said yes, of course. When we arrived (about 30 minutes early) we checked in at the spa (we were escorted to the spa brusquely by the man at the gate as if we were trespassers - little did we know what was to come), checked again it was ok to use the pool (answer: yes) and went to sit by the pool for a little while until the treatment room was ready. Within seconds aggressive and unfriendly pool staff arrived to eject us as non hotel guests - the pool was almost empty and there were loads and loads of empty beds. We explained our arrangement with the spa, and that we would be buying lunch and drinks, snacks etc, would only be there for a short time and were met with utter rudeness and a total "computer says no" attitude, like we were riff raff interlopers trying to grab a freebie. One very burly and hostile man from the pool then followed us to the spa like we were criminals, hung around in the spa reception, staring at us angrily the whole time. I asked that he left us alone as we were feeling threatened - when we went downstairs to the spa treatment room, he was still lurking there, staring at us angrily! Not very relaxing at all. After the treatment (which was very good, and the ladies were lovely) we went to pay our bill and were met by the spa manager - who basically told us we had lied about being told we could use the pool, I literally could not believe it. Her rudeness was extraordinary. I pointed out that we were staying in a lovely hotel nearby, were not some kind of freeloaders as we had our own facilities at our hotel, but it is common practice to be able to buy lunch and sit by the pool for a bit in most places when you have just paid for two of the more expensive spa treatments on the menu - and we would not have bothered to come if we knew it was all going to be so much of a big problem! Eventually she backed down (her reasoning was all over the place to be honest and it was all a bit cringeworthy) and we went back to the pool. Then the manager came over (a lady) and again asked us to leave - even though the pool was still mostly empty (it was low season - April). When I gave her a piece of my mind about how extraordinarily bad the service was, she relented and grudgingly said we could remain at the pool. However by this time we really felt thoroughly unwelcome and exhausted by all the hassle so decided just to leave anyway, and went back to our own lovely hotel for lunch and a swim instead. I should mention we were very smartly dressed, quiet and unassuming and are used to using the spa facilities of lots of much higher end properties - I really have never encountered such rudeness or utter, utter stupidity, and in a property that, sorry folks to be uncomplimentary, is really nothing special! I will be returning to Sri Lanka, but I will be giving the Fortress a wide berth.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place has got to be the best hotel in Sri Lanka. The service was second to none, and the staff lovely. Stayed on honeymoon for 11 nights and really enjoyed every minute. The rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom is out of this world - I would like something similar at home!

Food was good, although most evenings we ate out either in Galle or Unawatuna, as the hotel food, although excellent, was a little pricey... as are the drinks, compared to "the outside world".

We were lucky to have a superb tuk-tuk driver who looked after us. I would thoroughly recommend you contact him - Gemunu Lakmal +94779410751 e-mail gemunu1989@gmail.com. He can arrange tours over the island to rainforests, whale watching, safari and airport collection and drop offs.

Lovely place. I would like to return one day.

Room Tip: We had room 24. It wasn't facing the sea, but that didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Fortress for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were told this is the best hotel on the island and for the most part we agree. We stayed in an ocean view room, luxuriously decked out with a jacuzzi bath, 2 person shower, massive bed and balcony overlooking the sea. Some of the kit was so high tech it took quite some figuring out but overall - very nice. The dvd collection was a lovely addition.
Staff are lovely and helpful and the pool is enormous - really beautiful and right next to the sea.
For a 5 star resort, the only minor disappointment is the food. It's fine but not amazing and the menu hardly changes each day (unless you do the lunchtime buffet which is lavish but pricey). We found taking a 3 wheeler to Unawatuna was a great way to venture out for good meals with a bit more soul and atmosphere (especially Kingfisher - delicious food & cocktails). The breakfasts were fine - lots of choice but very similar each day compared to some of the other 5 star hotels in Sri Lanka where there's a more impressive choice of freshly cooked curries and paratha etc. at breakfast.
Overall the Fortress is an excellent hotel and we loved our stay there

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Luxurious. Good sized and well equipped rooms. Ocean rooms offer a great view but beach rooms are more convenient. Good food and good service. Excellent pool with lots of space but a pity the jacuzzi facility seemed not to be working.
Plenty to do around and about - turtle 'farm' worth a look as is Koggala lake.

Room Tip: Beach is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSB462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We enjoyed a week at The Fortress. The size of the room and the bed is impressive and the air conditioning is very welcome. We had room 49 and our own small area to sit out in- greta when you just want to read your book!
Food was good if pricey, and the mid week Indo/Srilankan buffet is wonderful. Staff are pleasant, attentive and always there to help.

Situated onthe road to Galle, there are lots of Tuk Tuk drivers plying for your trade- be selective. Ask for a driver called Kula. He drives a small mini van with air conditioning and can be found near the hotel. Good value and cheaper than tuk tuks.

Room Tip: Room 49 was good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#10 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing