We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Fortress, Koggala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Arrived at The Fortress , greeted at the grand double gates by the doorman our cases were taken by porters, walked through to an amazing site of the ocean waves crashing onto the beach across the infinity pool, a memory that will stay forever, the stay at The Fortress from beginning to end was an experience second to none from the staff were so accommodating, efficient and friendly, accommodation great,everything to make your stay special, i could not recommend this hotel enough

Room Tip: beach view with plunge pool (room 11) excellent!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLIN26011960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
There are newer reviews for The Fortress Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the second time for us at the Fortress Hotel, We had a Late check in, and the staff were very Helpful, and greeted us well, the Rooms were very Clean and fortable, BReakfast the Next Morning was Perfect, My son enjoyed it, Asela the Manager was very helpful and Careing to us, he takes teh extra Mile to make us all feel at home.Hats off to him, a great asset to Fortress Hotel:)

Room Tip: Request for a room near the Pool, as its very easy then to access all places in the Hotel, and dont...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larinetoussaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have been to Galle few times in the past and stayed at Lighthouse Hotel. This time we decided to stay at Fortress Hotel affer listening to few of our friends who said this is must visit place. The hotel is okay but not as good as Lighthouse Hotel. The rooms are luxuirous. However, one night when we back from our dinner, we found a live cockroach was crawling on our bed linnen. The room boy said "Sir haven't seen a cockroach before" when we complained to the Reception. I said ''young man, I have seen heaps however, I do not want to see a cockroach once you have paid $400 for room per night. The food was ordinary and not worth for the money we paid. Very friendly staff .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for three nights at The Fortress and it was fantastic. The hotel is gorgeous with all the facilities and absolute luxury. Rooms are fantastic and all the meals we ate in the restaurant (breakfasts and dinners) were amazing. The service was great. Our only disappointment was with the room service we had on our first night (club sandwich and wrap) which was pretty poor. Thankfully every other meal more than made up for this.

Room Tip: Upstairs room away from restaurant was nice, quiet and private
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Recently toured Sri Lanka with Kuoni and opted to spend 4 days here to recuperate from the tour and returning home.

The Fortress is a fantastic hotel and our Sea View Garden room was wonderful. I have lived in smaller flats the room was so big! The room was well designed with an all mod cons TV, DVD, Ipod loaded, an enourmous bed, lounge sofa area and possibly the largest bathroom encountered in a hotel with Shower enclosure around two metres.

The hotel itself is really comfortable and well laid out with a spa, gym, tea lounge and restaurant.

The restaurant served a high standard a la carte menu most days and whilst not Michelin standard it tasted good and was well presented. Buffet days were good and I feel that I ate my weight in Lobster on Seafood night.

The Spa was comfortable and pretty average for this part of world with a range of treatments include Ayurvedic ones. Prices weren't cheap but 5 star hotels usually aren't but they were comparable to UK prices and maybe a little cheaper than that. These things have the value you place on them so cost is relative.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and delivered competent service at a high level, I think they have 1.5 staff for every guest. Sometimes the balance was lost though where I felt occasionally they were overly attentive - probably 1 person asking if food is good is about right 3 people chatting to you might be a little much. Even so it wasn't too much too often.

The service around the pool was generally pretty good with the basics but the drink service sometimes could have been more attentive, still nobody died of thirst so that was lucky.

All in all across my many travels I would list this hotel pretty high up my list and on this tour 5 hotels it was the best.

Room Tip: Room 6 was awesome
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. All facilities are in place. Nice room with seaview. Pool is amazing. Beach is little rough with rocks on the water. View is amazing. SPA is too expensive on the regular basis.
Recommend for couples or family.












Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank garminman300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was the last hotel in our two week tour of this fantastic county, described as 'The Honeymoon Hotel'. Having stayed in three hotels prior to this we must say that this was the best. The staff were excellent and even arranged for freshly baked gluten free bread for my wife. The food was great with the full board package we had. Grounds were mazing with a hammock strung between two palm tress right outside our beach front room. the beach was amazing and a great walk if you wanted. The room really had the wow factor with jacuzzi bath with lights and jets making it all that bit more special. A bose speaker system came with the room with the hotel even supplying an IPOD packed with music. The gym was good with equipment that was all that was needed for your use and a fitness instructor if you so wished. The only gripe we would have was the price of drinks with a £6 bottle of wine back home costing 25 there and even the local beer more expensive that all the other hotels we had stayed at in Sri Lanka. That said we were so sad to leave and would recommend this to anyone wanting that wow hotel for their honeymoon.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a beach front room but as there are only 40 rooms you really can't lose out...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,762 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress Resort & Spa

Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £155 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing