We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We spent a mostly enjoyable four days at The Fortress in early November. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel very welcome. The food was good, although expensive, and we ate only at the hotel during our entire stay. The day before we left, we had the afternoon tea (which is a sweet and savoury selection) served in the upstairs Library overlooking the pool and ocean. Within a few hours however, my husband became very ill and we suspect the samosa was the culprit as this was the only item of the afternoon tea which he ate and I did not. The last night at The Fortress, the tedious journey to Colombo Airport, and then travelling home while battling food poisoning was unfortunately not a good ending to what had otherwise been a nice holiday and not what we would have expected to suffer from eating at a hotel of this standard. We did alert The Fortress to this in a written feedback but there has been no contact from them.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fruit_Tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for The Fortress Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in October at The Fortress and it would have been really nice if it wasn't for the nosy staff constantly checking up on you or interfering in your business, and the overpriced but merely average food.
At check-in staff did everything they could to accommodate our wishes and changed our rooms from the one with a plunge pool (who on earth wants a plunge pool in the bedroom when outside humidity is 80%), to a room with a day bed. Gorgeous room, we loved the elevated bed and the open plan bathroom. The lay-out of the hotel and grounds are beautiful.
Throughout our stay we constantly felt watched by the staff, not in a friendly, but more in an intrusive way. We'd have to say good morning/afternoon/evening to every single staff member we encountered, to some more then once because they all seemed to be on auto-pilot. We arranged our own transportation and were constantly asked where we went and with who, as if they were anxious to miss out on the commission they receive when sending guests to certain shops or restaurants.
At the restaurant nobody seemed to know what they were doing. 5 different people would come say hello and ask us what to drink, but the drinks wouldn't come until halfway dinner or breakfast. For a five star hotel the food was mediocre, what Sri Lankan chef cannot prepare a decent curry? Our best meal was on the last night, when we decided to order room service because we just couldn't handle the staff anymore. The view from our terrace is the same as from the restaurant and we were finally able to relax and really enjoy the surroundings.
This hotel really has potential, but they have to hire another chef and train all other staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The travel from Glasgow via London, Maldives then 3 hour drive to resort was not enjoyable. However in December with media reports of gales, rain and travel chaos reflecting on our environment was very gratifying. Not only is the specific location of this resort perfect the staff are the 'Stars', your arrival is anticipated, from there on you are their sole focus of attention. No need to give room number, they already know it, Ocean view day, evening & night the tranquil atmosphere is natural. The variable dinner menu each day is a combination of locally sourced ingredients with impeccable presentation to fabulously tasty 'fine dining' experiences. The emphasis is on quality not quantity. If I had any concerns there is little or no opportunity to walk off a meal or mingle in surrounding community. Extending your knowledge of Sri Lanka I found, was during the day where several organised trips proved enjoyable. Our room was spacious, luxurious and maintained to 5* standards.

Room Tip: Only ground and 1st floor. Check but I believe all rooms have ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brians8132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a truly fantastic time at this hotel. The view, surroundings and rooms are beyond five star. The service by the staff is exceptional and the food is quite simply out of this world.

We stayed here the first week of October and cannot recommend it enough. The luxury within the fortress meant we truly had a trip of a lifetime. The staff were amazing and struck the perfect balance of being helpful and not intrusive.

We were half board and the food was out of this world. One night we sat outside overlooking the ocean, with a chef special seafood BBQ evening taking place, we ate the most beautiful seafood, drank cocktails and listen to the live classical guitar band playing next to us in the restaurant was quite simply bliss.

There are no negatives about this hotel at all. Whilst staying here we did visit Yala national safari park for one night then returned to the fortress. Yala is definitely worth visiting but if you are touring my tip would be to head from the tea plantations to Yala then to the fortress (we went tea plantations, Colombo, the fortress then Yala.) Colombo was not worth the detour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barber442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I had high hopes for the Fortress for the last 4 nights of our Sri Lanka trip. The room was really beautiful and we were upgraded to a "plunge pool" room. The surroundings were lovely.
But in the mornings it felt somewhat like a busy Spanish resort with people reserving deck chairs at the crack of dawn..... The food compared to other places was average and overpriced. I sent a meal back and had it returned in a worse state than I first got it.
The plunge pool pump ran all night which couldn't be turn off & it made the room unbearably humid, which aircon didn't help.
Tuk-Tuks out the front charged excessive prices for short trips.
Like I suspect a lot of this area, you could not swim in the beach. But what it did have were hawkers who leaned over the barrier & hassled people with their monkeys whist they relaxed. There seemed to few other activities.... I could go on.....
There were some nice little touches like the "cocktail party" prior to he cultural show, staff pointing out turtles in the bay and the different beautiful flower arrangements on the bed every day.
I did write a review for the hotel when we left, which got a response from the hotel addressing some concerns after we got home which was nice.
Overall i guess was just expecting high quality in all aspects and it just didn't materialise.
I think if I came back to Sri Lanka however, I would look at other beach hotels.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank UK_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent the last four nights of our stay at the Fortress before leaving Sri Lanka. The location, service, food and room were excellent. Would highly recommend. The attention to detail re our stay was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit and this is one of the best hotels on the south coast. Asela the F&B manager is great he remember little dear ails and is a credit to this hotel. The food although limited in choice is of very high quality. If you want to go out for a meal unawatuna and Galle are only 15-30 minutes away.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Dekretser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,763 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress Resort & Spa

Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £150 - £681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fortress Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing