We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I just returned from 8 nights. Wonderful hotel. One of the best ever we have stayed in. Had an ocean view with the waves only about 100 metres away. One of the biggest heated outdoor pools I have ever seen. 50 rooms so small and friendly and the food and service are very good. Price is very reasonable. Bose speaker, ipod,, video. TV and very modern electrics in the room. Reception is really accessible being out in the open plan area outside. I loved to see men cleaning and servicing the room and women doing better jobs. Made a refreshing change from my normal hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view on the first floor for a good view of the sea. Its the top floor by the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    276
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
852
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here towards the end of our 1 month honeymoon in Sri Lanka and were expecting it to be good based on the reviews and it definitely lived up to expectation. The room was the best we stayed at in Sri Lanka (and we stayed in some great Hotels), the locaion and general layout of the Hotel is fantastic, the pool is great, service fantastic. The list goes on. The food is of a great quality, however expensive for Sri Lanka, and the bar layout is great but again very expensive by Sri Lankan standards. I understand it is a 5 star Hotel though and as such you need to expect to pay a premium. All in all a great experiance and if we make it back to Sri Lanka we will definately be making an effort to come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is an absolutely first class hotel in a stunning location. Actively managed by Jan van Twest and his colleagues, staff in every department are happily and professionally dedicated to giving guests the best possible vacation experience.

Accommodation is very well equipped and presented with the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort - don't even think twice about the glass enclosed bathroom facilities - appropriate privacy is just not an issue!

Food is high class hotel standard and whilst we would have preferred a buffet style dinner option and found the menu just a bit restricted, that is a personal preference and does not detract from the quality and presentation of the product. The executive chef is justly proud to take guests into his kitchens where his crew are clearly dedicated to the high standards he sets. They are pleased to meet reasonable "off menu" requests and are clearly delighted when their efforts are appreciated. We simply could not fault the happy and flexible approach of the restaurant staff from greeting to leaving.

Outside the grounds are very well maintained and pool staff are always on hand with a smile.

In short, we were 'captivated by The Fortress' and recommend it as a wonderful place to stay in a lovely area of Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea facing rooms have the disadvantage of guests staring into the picture windows so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112MandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was easily the highlight of our wonderful trip to Sri Lanka. Why did we leave it to the end and only have 1 night. Not only the best in Sri Lanka but more than matches other 5 star hotels we have stayed in Asia over the years. The seafood buffet on the Saturday night we were there was wonderful and the bedrooms superb and then a great buffet breakfast in the morning. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a Beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaloverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from 10 fabulous relaxing days at the fortress. Excellent location overlooking the beach, providing the soothing sounds of waves 24x7. Only about 50 rooms so small enough to be personal.
Accommodation (we stayed in an ocean room) was excellent, lovely large open room on 2 levels, huge bath, shower, 2 basins and huge king size bed, balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean.
Gym and spa are great - gym was always empty (only saw 2 or 3 others during our stay) and had adequate weights and cardio kit.
Staff are generally brilliant - always helpful, smiling and nothing was too much trouble. A few carefully chosen tips in bar and poolside of 200 rupees - about £1 - helps to ensure this of course - well it's a 'tip expected' culture.
It's not cheap to eat in the hotel, but realistically c. £100/day per couple will cover you for poolside drinks, sharing snack, pre-dinner drinks (several) and a bottle of wine with dinner.
Only constructive feedback I'd give is that they can be a little 'rules driven' over minor things - for example, potato chips only available in bar during happy hour - bit petty and unnecessary for a 5-star resort.
It is a bit of a treck (3 hours) from Colombo airport, and the drive is interesting, however don't let that out you off.
The hotel arrange trips / safaris etc with hotel drivers and good 4x4 cars to take you, so consider that.
All in all great and thoroughly enjoyable relaxing break.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here, with a view to maybe coming back and seeing more of the country next time. Had a wonderful, relaxing week. Great hotel and fantastic staff ( thank you Pradeep) and beach, plus an easy ride into Galle for dinner etc. highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilesLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is among the most beautiful hotels I've stayed at -- the rooms are large and elegantly decorated, the hotel has several cool places to hang out and the food and tea-based drinks are wonderful! Gift shop is also super cool. Also, so many fun things to do nearby that it was a perfect base for a 4-day trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#10 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing