We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideallic relaxation at the end of Sri Lanka tour.”
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideallic relaxation at the end of Sri Lanka tour.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to end your Sri Lanka tour in luxury and tranquility. Within easy reach of Galle Fort, Unwatuna and Mirissa by tuk tuk if you want to get out as well. We were also very lucky and got to see some of their turtles hatch and then release them to the sea at sunset!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    282
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
273
873
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the fortress for our wedding and it was the best decision, from the moment we walked into the fortress we were amazed how beautiful it was. The staff could not do enough, especially Gayani who organised our wedding day for us. Our family came to join us and all of us could not get over how perfect the day was nothing was too much trouble. I would like to thank everyone at the hotel for making our day perfect and we hope to return for many anniversaries in the future xx

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you want to visit Galle, stay in this hotel! within easy reach of galle fort and a good place to go out whalewatching! Restaurant is great, Rooms are FANTASTIC, pool and beach are great.
No doubt one of the best hotels we stayed in on the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We wanted a nice hotel to chill out in after a weeks travelling - we could not have chosen better! Nothing was too much problem and the food was superb (if getting scrambled eggs at breakfast was an unusual process although really tasty!). Staff were always smiling. Room which was their basic one was huge although the balcony only had a side view of the sea but we knew this before arriving so no surprise and actually made no difference - great place for a cold beer after a hard day sunbathing! Booked early so had a £50 bar credit which was good. Probably one of the best, if not the best, hotel I have stayed in despite travelling for many years. Whale watching from Mirissa is a must (best between January and April).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and it was perfect. We had an ocean view room which was decorated wonderfully. It was modern and comfortable with the biggest bed you'll ever sleep in! A spa bath in the bathroom and Bose sound system made it all even better. The pool area was beautiful with great views out to sea and the service was excellent. There was only one restaurant but with so many options on the menu it didn't matter. A mixture of local and western dishes all done perfectly. Whilst there was clearly excellent hygeine everywhere was impeccable. If we could afford to we would go to a thousand times again!

Room Tip: Ocean views are just as good as beach rooms and cost less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egard_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A truly 5-star hotel of total luxury, comfort and glamour with wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. We were upgraded to an Ocean View room with view from your bed of the rolling surf of the Indian Ocean. Lovely pool with a completely non-slip slope by which to enter - a little oasis of heaven. Our bathroom was bigger than our kitchen back home!! Absolutely first class.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to an Ocean View - it is well worth it. The balcony, the view, the rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

As we approach the fortress I was thinking, we have booked a prison. Then you enter the grand wooden doors and that first impression is quickly removed. We received the warmest of welcomes from Eden. He must be about the happiest person earth and it shows. As you walk in your eyes are drawn immediately to the pool and ocean only a few steps away and it is impressive.

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights and we could not fault the Fortress or it's welcoming staff. Nothing was to much trouble and everything provided with a smile. The rooms and facilities are first grade and we look forward to our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PandM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,711 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
402 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Destinology, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing