We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for 6 nights at the end of April 2014. Set right on the beach, the place is beautiful with a stunning backdrop of the ocean. The accomodation is fabulous but we thought it important that the ocean view rooms are taken as the road side rooms are likely to be a different ball game altogether. As usual, the Sri Lankans were an utter delight and the service exactly what you hoped for. There is really only one restaurant area which was disappointing at first, however, given the stunning setting, never really bothered us after the first 5 minutes. The food is first class and the variety kept us happy, even for 6 days. Delighted so very happy to recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Beach side a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntegralDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at The Fortress and it was lovely. The rooms are very well appointed with huge comfortable beds (we had a beach room no 12) and a nice little patio area with direct access to the gardens, pool and beach. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and will bend over backwards to make your stay the best it can be. The food in the hotel is of a very good standard and tasted delicious. We ate everything from the local curry plate to a good old burger - I can highly recommend the crab curry its amazing! Food is around £10 to £15 a main on the al a carte menu or on some evenings they have speciality buffets (curry, seafood etc) which they charge in US dollars at $30 to $40 per person. The drinks are a little pricey with a 330ml local beer costing around 600 rupees after tax which is about £3, wine is around £5 a glass or £30 a bottle and although I didn't have one I calculated that a large GnT would have been close to £10!! The hotel is quiet in the evenings and people mainly keep themselves to themselves but this is probably because there is such a mix of nationalities that patronise the hotel. I would stay here again if I found myself in southern Sri Lanka as its a lovely relaxing place but I would split my time with a hotel closer to tourist attractions as its about 30 to 40 minutes to Galle by tuk tuk.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room or beach room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DezzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary at this beautiful location. Friendly staff, excellent food and breath taking views. We stayed in the sea view room which was modern and spacious. In house food and beverage manager personally looked after us during our stay.

The most memorable moment was when we had a chance to release sea turtles to the sea. We would strongly recommend any one to stay at The Fortress

Room Tip: always ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasindu j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place is lovely.... very relaxing.... attentive staff.... good food.... great atmosphere.... Very nice place....very friendly and attentive staff.... nice restaurant and rooms are amazing!.... definitely worth visiting.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savi_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is almost perfect. The room was just amazing (spacious, modern, comfortable...). The swimming pool and spa were also incredible. The view of the Koggala beach is perfect.
The service was great.
The only "non-perfect" comment i would make is regarding the food which was very good but too expensive.
Regarding Koggala, i would say that expect the amazing beach, the city/village itself does't have any interest. We hardly found places to eat or any facilities there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I visited Sri Lanka in August last year. We choose The Fortress for the first week of our honeymoon but didn't really know what to expect.
You arrive at the hotel through two large gate, I was taken aback by the view through the hotel over the Laccadive Sea. You are greeted by friendly staff with a wonderful cocktail and the 5 star service continues until the moment you leave.
We had have a wonderful ocean view room, everything about the hotel had a feeling of quality. Our room was filled with the tech people are accustomed too at home from an iPod filled with music to a brilliant jacuzzi bath. I'd go as far as saying it is one of the best hotel rooms I've ever stayed in.
As mentioned the staff are excellent and so is the food. There is a diverse menu with something to suit everyone. My wife and I also paid a little extra to have a meal under the star which was very romantic. Breakfast is all wonderful with a vast array of options and if there isn't something to suit a guest one of the chefs will make you something of your own choice.
The hotel also has a spa which has numerous treatments to choose from. Me and my wife had an excellent full body massage.
I would have no hesitation recommending The Fortress anyone, it is a fantastic hotel in an absolutely stunning country.

Room Tip: Aim to get an ocean view, it's more than worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Fortress in February for 11 nights and had a wonderful time. We booked this holiday through Destinology who arranged for us to have private transport to the hotel using the
express road which took us just over two hours. This is a new road direct to Galle from Colombo another road which will be direct access to Kandy as from 2015 which will cut the journey timeotherwise I believe it would take about 4 hours to get there. I understand they are building
by half. If you decide to go direct to Galle like we did it is not possible to do Kandy in a day, it really is an overnight stop. We did two day trips whilst we were there which was to Yala National park which was organised by the Fortress together with an English speaking driver and a new car for £200. . We were picked up at 8 am as we did not fancy getting up at 4am to see the elephants feeding. This price included going into the park for about 3-4 hours in your own private jeep and a English speaking driver who was very good. Our driver took us to a nice fish restaurant for lunch before we entered into the park. . We saw lots of animals and had a very good day there.
Our other day trip was to Uda Walawe national park which is mainly elephants however we did see three leopards which made our day. We arranged this trip with Sunimal who is a local man who walks up and down the beach trying to get business. His prices are cheaper and we stipulate new car as we don't want him turning up in an old banger,in event the car was brand new, however his driver does not speak English so Sunimal will come along for the ride and of course everyone has a baby and will try and get lunch out of you , drinks I don't mind .Sunimal is a very nice man and can be trusted but we did prefer going with the hotel as we learnt more about Sri Lanka and our driver was lovely, such a nice man and you do feel more at ease We booked Yala through Chani at reception who looked after us through our stay. We found her to be most helpful and could not do enough for you The staff at the hotel is first class and is all about giving a great service. Our thanks also to Samith on reception again great service. From the moment we drew up outside the hotel and they opened the big oak doors it was" WOW" The view was stunning just like a picture postcard it all flowed it to one sea, sun loungers, pools, gardens,and reception. We booked a fortress room with a balcony but we were told at the time of booking that the fortress rooms over looks on to a brick wall, its hard to believe when you have a balcony, yes we had table and chairs and a tree in front of us but because of the wall there was not much light coming in so we did not bother to sit out on the balcony. If this does not bother you then the fortress rooms are good with high ceilings bath, showers and toilet and everything you would want in a bedroom. If you can afford to pay the extra then the ocean rooms are lovely with patio doors which opens on to the gardens but if you don't want people walking pass then
then the upper floor level is better. We went half board at the hotel which included the a la carte menu. I had sea bass quite a few times which was lovely and they have a very good menu. It does pay to book your table the day before as we found the tables for two were taken us very quickly. I think I drank the whole bottle of pimm's whilst I was there as they soon ran out of it .We also went in a tuk tuk from outside the hotel I think his name was Lebve, well he took us all over the place into Galle and also to the Kingfisher restaurant at Unawatuna where we spent two days on the beach as the sea is much calmer there. The restaurant reserved us two sun loungers with umbrella and towels. very good food and good service and was cheaper then the hotel. The fortress actual booked the restaurant for us for the day to insure we got sun loungers as the beach is quite popular. Everything is taken care for you at the Fortress security at the main gate beautiful hotel with great service good food and lovely people. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
Angela & Steve Room no 24 15/2/14-26/2/14

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angie001fromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 15 in Weligama
450 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
468 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress Resort & Spa

Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £166 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Fortress Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing