We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel”
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just spent a week relaxing in this wonderful hotel. Best hotel room ever from Bose sound system to enormous bed and state of the art bathroom - with incredible views over the ocean. Staff are excellent, attentive and caring without being over the top. Spa facilities are sublime, had some fantastic treatments. Food and drink were excellent. I can't fault it - one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    279
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
270
869
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we spent 2 weeks at this hotel and enjoyed every minute the service,food and room(a beach room well worth the extra money)were excelent .the sea was to rough to swim in but was countered by a daily view of large sea turtles coming right up to the hotel to eat the sea weed .the infinity pool was clean, fresh and made up for the lack of sea swiming although this is possible just a short tuc tuc ride to a different beach . we went on many well organised personal trips to see wild elephants ,jackels etc all at fair price. we would recomend this hotel in all ways

Room Tip: beach rooms are the best as upper flour room lose the conection to the sea and mean you have a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The most beautiful beach hotel I have visited so far. The architecture is fabulous. Absolute luxury. The rooms are enormous with spacious bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. Beds are so large and comfortable with the best pillows. Can lie on the bed and watch the sea through glass patio doors. So relaxing. All necessary amenities are provided including cable television and a great music system. I highly recommend it for honeymoon couples or those who want a romantic getaway.
There was a Tepanyaki buffet for lunch on Saturday and the most amazing sea food buffet for dinner. Every meal was really good. The back ground music (violin and guitar) was soothing and enjoyable.
Great spa treatments available too.
The pool right next to the sea was a delight. It is definitely a hotel worth visiting.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this place! Just got back after spending 4 nights at this lovely resort. From checking in to checking out everything was just perfect and hassle free like every holiday should be.
I felt a certain calmness at this place, always service with a smile from all the staff. Lovely pool and a beautiful location.
Took a short ride into Galle by tuktuk but regretted it! There isn't much too see around the area,although they make out that every place is worth a visit.
I would definitely go back to this resort, it's perfect if you are looking for a quiet break. Nothing much to do around so ideal for just relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean view rooms if possible, beautiful high ceilings and lovely sea view from the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stunning entrance-beautiful property with an amazing seaview and infinity pool, Loved the carefree squirrels scampering all over the lawn and the general lot out. Rooms were well fitted - amazing equipment ( the i-pod was not working though!) but the wear and tear of being right at the beach front showed in the stained blinds n wobbly floor boards. Furniture looked a tad tired. One thing we found hard to deal with was the poor water pressure in the shower n wc!

My husband had a massage at the Spa - though perfectly set, the therapist debt do justice to the setting - pity!

Staff we ok - the receptionist that greeted us upon arrival was warm, friendly and enthusiastic - sadly that didn't filter through to the rest - although I must say the yoga instructor was a sweet fella who tried his beat to involve the guests !

Great if you just wanna hang by the pool , take long beach walks and have a lazy lazy stay !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IEatLOVEPray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Here they realy now what hospitality means. During the 4 days that we stayed we encountered that in everything they think "guests first". Together with the beautiful location, the superb rooms and great Kitchen it made our holiday complete. Definetly a place to come back.
From here you can do a lot of excursions. It is a good spot to visit Galle, but also the Elephant Orphanage a little further is easy to reach.
The Hotel offers great leisure facilities also for kids. Next to the pool, they organize late afternoon soccer-competition and there is the possibility to take a swim in the Sea.

Room Tip: Oceanroom on 1st floor is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edo196418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

i much prefer a more .natural normal place.this is ok if you are nouveax rich.or russian my advise if you want real life with real people .go to mirrissa beach .for maybe 10 pounds per night you interact with locals .and interesting people .or go to welligima .these places are not real life ,avoid if possible

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nilantha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
6.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing