We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding !!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2008

My husband and I (Kiri and Matt) stayed at the fortress in september and had our wedding during a 11 day stay. It was the perfect setting for a perfect wedding. We arrived after a long transfer (which neither of us minded as it gave us a chance to view everything we would have missed if we didn't leave the hotel) to the warmest welcome and champagne! Forget what everyone has said before, THE FORTRESS IS FANTASTIC, it is simply bliss, the perfect place to unwind, relax, you know it's good when you spend the next 2 months wishing you were back there. The best parts:

1. The FOOD is some of the best we have ever eaten there is so much choice and in our opinion it is all beautifully presented and tasty. We went full-board so had no worries regarding cost of dishes (recommend doing this)
2. The STAFF are just amazing. Susantah "the bar manager" made our stay even more special - organising unique cocktails for us, especially kiri's kiss for our wedding day!! Guyani the wedding co-ordinator could not have been more accomodating to our wishes for the big day, the flowers, wedding cake, hair dressers were just brilliant and v.well organised as you would expect.
3. The ROOM. We booked a beach room and were upgraded to ocean loft suite on arrival - perfect for our wedding stay. We were honestly speechless whilst being shown around, it was quite amazing.
4. The LOCATION. The beach is just beside the hotal and even though the sea is dangerous to swim we went for a quick dip to the left of the hotel, behind a coral reef with the locals which made our holiday, they are very friendly people if a little cheeky!!
5. The POOL. One word, awesome. It's massive, clean and looked after by the brilliant staff.
6. The WEATHER. It was hot but not oppressive, even when it rains your glad for the air to clear.

OVERALL

DO NOT listen to the moaners, they are either very very very fussy or live in the height of luxury every day of their lives. This place is stunning. We spoke with many, many people and The Fortress is considered the best in Sri Lanka. If you want to escape and relax go here. The hotel only caters for about 80 people so it never gets too busy and you don't get swamped by kids. Anyone looking at a foreign wedding then The Fortress is perfect, quiet but exquisite.

xxx

P.S Hi Phil, Hi Hannah !! Hi Stan !!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cheeky0872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for The Fortress Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2008

Very chic hotel with above average accommodation and service.

I stayed at the hotel for two nights attending a wedding of a friend. The rooms are very pleasantly furnished with many gadgets to play with.

The only complaint about the room is that it is totally open plan, with little privacy when one is using the bathroom (need I say more).

The venue is only 10 minutes from the centre of Galle by car, although I noted that the three wheelers have set up their own consortium to provide transport (These will charge above the local rate, so be warned).

The south coast of Sri Lanka, is my favoured beach sites on the island, and The Fortress certainly enhances the coastline, as it exploits an historical building rather than being a purpose built modern construction.

I have driven past the hotel on a number of occasions paying little attention to it, but it is a positive haven of tranquility and relaxation, so worthy of a visit.

As with all Sri Lankan hotels, the local rate is considerably lower than the international rate, and given the lack of tourists, the hotel could afford to be more generous to those guests decide to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Uduwerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We've just returned from an 8 night stay at the Fortress and loved it!
Whilst it's true that the 4 hour transfer from the airport is a nightmare after a long flight - it's well worth it once you arrive there (NB we have been told that all air taxi transfers from Colombo have been suspended so you will have to endure the 4 hour drive for the time being!)
The hotel is, like a lot of the previous reports have said, amazing. It's relatively small, so never crowded, and has such a peacful feel that it's impossible not to come away feeling refreshed and relaxed.

Rooms
We had an Ocean room and the view out to the Indian Ocean frrom our bed was fantastic - the beach rooms also face the sea but as they are on the ground floor I think that the views may have been obstructed a little bit by trees/sunbeds etc.
The rooms are elegantly designed, spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds are absolutely huge and super comfy! There are some nice touches in the in-room facilities such as the ipod.

Pool
The pool itself is lovely with a jacuzzi section and has a beaultiful view out across the ocean.
It was never crowded and there were never any issues getting sunbeds!
You can't really sunbathe on the beach as the tide comes practically up to the wall that surrounds the hotel and the sea is quite rough for swimming. However, there is a section of the sea that is protected by a reef where you can swim.

Bar and Restaurant
The bar and resturant areas are beautiful and chilled out. There are two menus to choose from (Pepper - the a la carte menu and Heat - grills/pastas and pizzas)
The food really was excellent and the cost was reasonable compared to the UK - 900 -1,500 ruppess for a main (but not compared to what you pay in the local village!). Every price on the menu is subject to 10% service charge and 15% tax which is not included in the price printed on the menu.
The thing that really bumps up the bill is wine which is extortionate compared to what you pay in the UK. The average price of a bottle of wine was around 5,000 rupees (ex tax and service charge)
The only negative that we have was the buffet evening (once a week) which was expensive and not worth it in our opinion.

We also ate in a local village called Unawatuna which is about 20mins away in a tuk tuk (600 rupees). Here you can eat fresh seafood for next to nothing. We paid approx £15 for a slap up and delicious meal for 2 people including cocktails and beers..
The best restaurants that we went to were Hot Rock and Coral Lite.

Service
The hotel staff were excellent and the service that we had far exceeded service that we are used to in the UK, without being overbearing.

Overall a fantastic holiday and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheeshUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

After a long flight (from the UK) and a 4 hour transfer from Columbo by car we were hugely impressed by the Fortress. It is a stunning, private, luxurious and stylish hotel. The staff do their utmost to help (although saying "yes" when you don't understand what the guest is asking for isn't that helpful - make sure they understand). The food was amazing, we stuck to seafood and currys which they do really really well. We tried yoga and the cooking class, both of which are worthwhile. The spa is also great. The pool in the Ocean-View Loft rooms was fantastic. You feel like you are in a Conde Nast shoot the entire length of your stay.

Worth noting that apparently there are sea-plane transfers to Koggala which would have cut down the journey time significantly.

Watch out for Mossies...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ppp54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

This is a great hotel, fantastic value for money. Set about 15km outside Galle in a town called Koggala, this is a new hotel which has been designed to look old. Dont let this put you off as it is actually not a bad thing. The hotel is really open and has a wonderful sense of space. There are lots of beautiful swimming pools all set right on the beach front so you also have great views of the Indian Ocean. Service is excellent and staff are very friendly. Food is great and the rooms are brilliant. Very contemporary styling, lots of space, a massive king size bed in the room, with great fresh tea and coffee making facilities.

The spa is also really good and affordable.

We went into Galle for the day and you should expect to pay about Rs 1000 to a local tuk tuk (use the guys outside the front of the hotel) for a return trip. Dont fall for the scam of the beach touts offering to provide transport for Rs500 as they will basically try to drag you to lots of shops where they make a commission on any sales.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Radha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

we stayed in the Fortress for 4 nights for the second stop of our honeymoon.
starting from the journey from the airport we forgot to book the hotel transport but we met this very friedly minibus driver that drove us down to Galle with a little of tour guiding while driving along the south coast. 4 hrs journey are a little heavy but you will keep your eyes well open by the way they drive...crazy!
when we arrive we were welcome by the resort manager (a very friendly and young south african guy). We felt very welcome by the staff and the room was excellent. we stayed in the ocean room.
It' s a place where you can totally relax with the sound of the wave and lay on the sofa that gives the view of it.
the bathroom and the shower box is just amazing.
the breakfast is also very good if you like to try different things. I usually try local food when I travel and their fish curry that I had for dinner was out of this world!!!!
i felt so relax, safe and secure that I didn't want to leave...never!!
the hotel can organize trips to galle and the tea plantation and other safari. we went to the tea plantation...an experience to live.
Galle is also beautiful...it's like a city in a fort.
at night we adventure ourselves out of the resort on a tuk tuk and went to unawatuna (I think you spell it this way) beach to try some more local food and it was soooooooooooo cheap and litteraly the restaurant was at 3 meters from the shoreline.
I raccomend everyone to go to the fortress and to Sri Lanka in general. the people there is so friendly and needs tourism to survive after the disaster of the tsunami.
will go back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank italoanglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Sadly like a few other 'high' end hotels in Sri Lanka they think the addition of Bose speakers and a large bathroom is justification enough for the fairly steep prices they end up charging. This was the case with The Fortress.

The whole concept of what makes a really good hotel excellent seemed to be lost at The Fortress amongst an array of high tech light switches, stained throw cushions and worn in-room printed material.

Service was friendly but inexperienced. Attention to detail from scrappy overused menus with pages missing, average room amenities that were not replenished and searching for staff when you needed made this beautiful setting neither worth its star rating nor price tag.
The high tech gadgetry in the rooms was impressive with a great espresso coffee machine and good music system, however; there were gowns but no slippers, no information on the area or what was available at the hotel and no price list for the mini bar – all standard items in most decent hotels.

As one would expect with a sea side property a high level of maintenance is required, and the leaf collectors aside, minimal maintenance had been conducted to combat the encroaching rust and general deterioration.

The $85 price tag on the lukewarm, over cooked seafood with its distinguishable floury texture of having been frozen was disappointing especially when over half was sent back. The chef kindly came to ask us the problem which even he seemed to see our point - yet no one bothered to enquire if we wanted to try something else nor were we offered an apology.

On the plus side the pool was lovely, the setting stunning and the spa and services excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane_MikePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,763 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress Resort & Spa

Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £150 - £681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fortress Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing