We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at! 5 Star Hotel and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at! 5 Star Hotel and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

There isn't a negative thing we can say about The Fortress! Absolutely one of the best places we have ever stayed. From the service, the food, the spa, the pool, the rooms...bar none, top 10 hotel. We loved it and can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseygirl4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    276
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
852
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Lovely hotel shame the service doesn't quite match! Service got poorer and poorer as our holiday progressed. As the staff are so nice you try and forgive but after a while it becomes frustrating!

If you can afford it, the beach room is a must.

No private beach so be prepared to be hassled by the locals.

As a veggie the food selection was poor (pizza, pasta and vegetable curry). Once we got talking to the chef (Vijay) he was very accomodative thankfully!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitgaitri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

My husband and I have just got back from the Fortress. We loved it the rooms are stunning, the grounds are superb, the staff wonderful. We did find it expensive but you pay for 5 star and it's so relaxing it was hard to tear ourselfs away and leave the hotel.
We used the tuk tuk driver Chaminda who was a very safe driver with an imaculate tuk tuk. He did great tours and was very reasonable. He will be found on the beach in the mornings or outside later in the day. The beach out the front is beautiful, snorkling is fab but the hotel hasn't got any equipment so take your own. The food was wonderful, expensive for Sri Lanka but a steal compared to London prices.
Yes the transfer from the airport is grim but it's so worth it once you arrive, we'd go back and do it all again gladly.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We chose the Fortress in Koggala for its peaceful position and unspoilt beauty.
We and our friends were concerned about the 5 hour road trip down to the south but the drive itself was an experience we will never forget!!
Our driver who picked us up from the airport in Colombo, whom we booked through Boutique Sri Lanka, was excellent and very informative with regards to interesting and historic landmarks as we hung on for dear life (LOL) although we did get a chance to stop for lunch at a beautiful restaurant in Bentota, positioned right at the side of a lake which in turn gave us all a chance to get our heart rate down to 60 per minute again!!
On arrival at The Fortress we were all tired and feeling a bit groggy because of the long Journey; however as soon as you are greeted and walked through the towering wooden gates you feel like you have walked into a different world, WOW!, WOW!, WOW!
we were greeted by ?????? who said "welcome to your home" and he was right. you are made to feel so welcome. within a matter of minutes we were sat beside the pool in the cool breeze of the lobby area and presented with a beautiful iced tea cocktail, watching the stilt fisherman directly in front of us in the ocean catching different types of fish from small sardines to large monkfish.
We were then checked into our rooms and all given upgrades. As we were getting married at The Fortress, the Manager Steve upgraded my partner and I to the Residence which is one of two suites within the hotel that are out of this world, a huge bathroom with a 6 people hot tub, large living room with 50" LCD TV and BOSE surround sound
( standard in all rooms), massive bedroom with huge contemporary 4 poster bed, again with large LCD TV and BOSE system and to top it off a small infinity swimming pool on the large veranda over looking the Indian Ocean.
The Spa was first class and we had the privilege of having a 2.5 hour treatment each as a part of our wedding package.
The wedding ceremony held on 14th February was superbly organised by the team and was perfect in every way
we had the top package which included arrival and departure on an elephant, traditional Sri Lankan dancers and singers, traditional drummers and a traditional Sri Lankan ceremony.
The staff at the Fortress from the room boys to the executive chef were absolutely brilliant and delivered the best service and standards we have ever experienced.
So a very special thanks to:
The GM Steve Delefortrie The most accommodating, Chef - Wijekon Kanishka,and his team
Asela Rajakaruna, Sugath Gampolage, Jinendra Peshan, Hiran Wijesiri, Samith Chandrasena, Saman Dassanayake, and Melanie Hupuarachchi they made the Fortress what it was and is. I could go on and on but I think you will get the essence of my comments.
Move over Sandy Lane, Barbados, your time is up!!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pricey0962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Have just returned from a 10 night stay at The Fortress. Have never visited Sri Lanka before so did a lot of research and picked The Fortress as our ideal hotel - what a choice. Everything you read on Trip Advisor about the hotel is true.

The Service - Truly amazing. The staff everywhere from housekeeping to waiters to grounds people are very friendly & very dedicated. And yes - the service charge is automatically added to everything bought within the hotel but the staff are worth it.

The Food - Fantastic. And yes - it is three times the price that you pay in a local Unawatuna establishment but if you want five star you pay for it.

The Rooms - Large, loads of storage, gadgets galore with ipods, dvd players, decent sized fridges, free water & mood lighting (no less than 17 light switches in our room...!!)

The Hotel - It is boutique, ie - one bar & one restaurant. But fabulous in design & amazingly clean. The pool & its attendants were great (a little tip each day ensured the best sunbeds were saved for us). The gym was to a very high standard & the spa was good too.

The Cost - Food & Drink are eye-wateringly expensive compared to outside. We enjoyed three fantastic evening meals at the hotel but the remainder were spent at Unawatuna. Thereby saving an enormous amount of money & exploring at the same time.

Unawatuna - Favourite place there was The Kingfisher followed closely by Thyroban. Both served excellent local seafood & right on the beach too.

Top Tip - Spirits were very cheap at Duty Free on the way in to Sri Lanka & when you get to the Hotel befriend a tuctuc driver - they will take you to a wineshop & you can stock up on beer.

The Fortress is an amazingly luxurious bubble, hidden away from outside by high walls & imposing entrance however the local people are still recovering from the tsunami & the downturn in tourism. I would recommend this hotel to everyone but also remind them the locals need all the tourist dollars they can get.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

The most amazing piece of paradise,state of the art luxury,the staff so kind and friendly,especially when my husband was unwell.wonderful food,even the breakfast curry!!We were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyfliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

I was very happy when i chose this hotel as it was extremely stylish and had a most modern up to date equipment to the highest calibre. The food was very spicey but very tasty at the same time. The staff were very friendly and professional , a big thanks to Hiran ( our wedding co-ordinator ) and Rohan ( Patrick ) the floor manager. They really went out of their way to make us comfortable and would highly recommend having a wedding here, the setting was perfect and we had arranged an elephant which was alot of fun, This hotel is without a doubt the Best hotel in Sri lanka

  • Liked — Very Modern and stylish
  • Disliked — nothing, liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#11 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Destinology, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka
The Fortress Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing