We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely secluded villa - great with kids”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Go555031
1 review
“Lovely secluded villa - great with kids”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had a great stay for nine days with two kids (7 and 9) and even had guests over for a few days. The pool was perfect for the kids, the location secluded, the staff was super helpful and professional, and there's plenty of activities nearby, including the lake that offers fishing, island hopping and more.
All in all I'd highly recommend Mandalay, and the kitchen is great for up to a few days, but anything beyond that, or anything beyond traditional Sri Lankan cuisine, and the kitchen gets monotone - at best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Hi
Many thanks for your kind review and I am so glad you were able to enjoy the fabulous villa and the surroundings. Really good also to see that you enjoyed the local cuisine that was prepared for you.
Thank you for the recommendation.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katemoore...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Mandalay”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Such a special villa in a really peaceful part of Koggala Lake. One occasionally hears the rumble of the nearby train. The staff took great care to ensure all our needs were met and nothing was too much trouble. The chef prepared the most delicious Sri Lankan meals for us - fresh fish, curries, egg hoppers and always fresh juice for breakfast. We enjoyed a lovely boat ride where we visited an old Buddhist temple and cinnamon island, all from the convenience of the villa’s private jetty. We even saw some crocodiles. This was our fourth visit to Sri Lanka and Mandalay definitely stands out as a favourite. A beautiful colonial villa and grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Hi Kate
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you have found your favourite villa - please do come back. I am also really glad that you took advantage of our special location by the lake and ventured out. There is something spiritually romantic and uplifting about being on the tranquil waters.
When can you return?
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumanah H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway villa!”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at Mandalay at the end of a two week tour of Sri Lanka and could not have had it any better. The location of the villa is superb the team looking after you are very very helpful and the food is delicious. Would definitely reccommend this villa for a good relaxing getaway. Thank you to everyone who looked after us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Many thanks for your kind review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mandalay so much. It was a pleasure to host you. Please do come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina V
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best of both worlds - on a large tranquil lake and next to Sri Lanka's stunning beaches.”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The villa is located on Koggala Lake and only 5 minutes from the beaches - 10 minutes from Weligama and 40 minutes to Galle Fort. The three-bedroom (one large master bedroom, one twin and one double room) villa is set on the lake with its own boating dock where a local fisherman can take you to visit the nearby Cinnamon Island and Spice Island which we highly recommend. The fisherman also took our children fishing to their absolute delight and the fish was then placed on the grill by the in-villa chef. The villa represents a simple and relaxing way of living. The villa has a large pool in the heart of the property so if you are travelling with children it is great to watch them from the outdoor dining area or even from the top floor master bedroom. The two younger children in cots upstairs under the large oversized mosquito nets, whilst our younger two slept in the twin rooms downstairs. It was an adventure for all the family and the convenient location meant that we could pop out to nearby restaurants or spend the day in Galle Fort.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Edwina
Many thanks for your review and for the time to write it. I am so thrilled you were able to enjoy the true spirit of lake side living with fish caught in the morning and then cooked up by the Chef in the evening. It is fun for sure.
Thank you for coming and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkblack
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxing family holiday!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had such an amazing time at Mandalay. The staff were so lovely and looked after us without bombarding. The pool was the perfect temperature and we enjoyed 7 nights to just relax, read our books, swim, catch a tuk tuk to the local restaurants and beaches and basically have a lovely, relaxing time (as relaxed as it can be with 3 children!). Our girls are 4 and 6 and relatively strong swimmers, the pool is divine however it was only 6 year old who could stand in it so something to be mindful of. We had monkeys leap from tree to tree around us which was lots of fun plus there were a few local dogs hanging around but they were lovely and very relaxed and unobtrusive. The Chef is amazing - much better at the local Sri Lankan cuisine than the western style so we ended up doing it the Sri Lankan way for breakfast lunch and dinner! Delicious! Huge room upstairs and downstairs had two single beds that actually fit our 3 (king size singles). Internet / Wifi was available and we took our Apple TV which was great although they had plenty of DVDs to choose from. All in all I can highly recommend the Mandalay Villa - we had a great stay!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Dear Vanessa
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for your kind and helpful comments. I am so glad you enjoyed our 'local' cooking....we are always trying to improve on our chef's international cuisine but the local variety comes so naturally to him and with spice 'on the side' you can fire up your day to taste. However thank you for this comment and we will focus on some select dishes at our next training session. Great idea also re Apple TV ... I will look into this also.
Thank you again for coming.....please come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmira
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most relaxing week ever”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent 6 nights at Mandalay villa and we could not had better stay for our first time to SriLanka.

Ancient local character house in perfect harmony with Koggala lake. Gorgeous by all means.
My kids and us were spoiled by chef Chinthaka with all his amazing dishes, a true travel to SriLanka cuisine.

The staff wad extremly helpfull and always ready to make our stay a dream.
Thanks Dalsi, Nimal and Peyanesa for being there.

We had friends for dinner in Mandalay and chef Chinthaka suggested to have a local traditional show with fireworks: it was just mind blowing for all of us. I recommand it strongly.
Lot of unforgettable memories for all of us.

We will be back soon!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Hi Agmira,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love to hear great feedback like this, as does the team at Mandalay whom we have passed your comments onto.

The fireworks sound awesome!

Please do let us know if you plan a return trip, to any of our villas...and we will ensure it is just as magical as this one for you.

Kind regards,

The EvinSL Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A new level of relaxation.”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay at Mandalay was absolutely incredible. It was the most relaxed we have ever been. The staff were unforgettable as was the incredible food. Chintikka is an exceptional chef.
We cannot recommend Mandalay Lake Villa enough. Its proximity to everything is another bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The heat.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Michael,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandalay.
Best Regards.
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing