We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first night stay”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having arrived in Sri Lanka early hours of the morning, driving from airport to climb Sigiriya rock, it was just perfect to reach Giritale Hotel in the afternoon to spend the rest of the day relaxing. Our room was spaceous and clean, there were lot's of sounds from the wildlife outside which just added to the experience. For sundowners we ordered Lion and sat on the porch overlooking the tank and it was perfect. The dinner at night felt like a true lodge experience. We were greeted with our country flag and sat down for a huge and tasty buffet dinner. The food was great! We had a good night sleep and left after a equally nice breakfast buffet. I can well recommend this hotel, for the friendly staff, the rooms and the food. It's situated perfectly between Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

After staying in the lovely Thi Lanka in Kandy this hotel really hits the other end of the scale....
The room hadn't been stayed in for a while, well that's how it smelled. .. In desperate need of renovation with peeling paint, and a basic bathroom. Dinner was a limited selection buffet of poor quality. Ended up eating pineapple and small chocolate biscuits.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Gritale Hotel for two nights on a visit to Sri Lanka.
Ideally located for visiting close by sites (Polonaruwa and Sighiriya). Built on a hill top with open views on a large water reservoir surrounded by greenery. The views from the pool area, terrace and restaurant are excellent.
Our room was tastefully decorated with a ceiling fan and an AC. It had open views from its large windows... a joy to wake up to every morning.
The food at the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was always fresh and delicious. One night there was a buffet with a wide selection of dishes, and the other night had a set menu.
Friendly and very pleasant staff going out of their way to help and make you feel welcome.
The only comment I have is the bathroom. It was functional and spotless, but very tired. Once we overcame our initial reaction to it, we settled in quite nicely.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room for a wonderful view to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently visited Giritale Hotel for the day. Couldn’t see the rooms but the hotel has been done up quite tastefully since my last visit here more than 10 years ago. The restaurant is quite spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. We found the menu choice very basic and the lack of a buffet lunch option was a negative. The quality of food was good and so was the preparation time. However we found the prices to be on par with 5 star hotels in Colombo, which I thought was a little steep. Overall it is a nice place to stay or even visit for a meal. The location is a further in from the main road so the hotel is quiet and peaceful. Didn’t see any monkeys from the restaurant so cannot comment on that 

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel sits up on the hill overlooking a lake/tank that is part of a nature preserve so it is quite tranquil and no motor boats to disrupt the quiet. Make sure you request a lakeside view, with the best room being the ones overlooking the pool. Rooms are ok size, A/C works great, and patio bar is relaxing. On the food side, it is a bit boring as they seem to focus on the international tour bus groups. However, if you are there for a couple of nights, they will accommodate special requests as they did for us. The onsite spa is run by another company and it would be good for them to coordinate together a bit more to make sure people know of the herbal spa options. The central proximity to historic and Heritage sites makes it a good location, just get there in the daylight to enjoy the view.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Welike2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The views from this hotel are mesmerizing,

the hotel is a bit hidden, on a hill, but when you arrive there the magic starts,

flowers floating on water basins, fresh juice, stunning views.. Monkeys coming and saying hello to you..(leave the windows closed)

The rooms are furbished old style but very comfortable and quiet.

The buffet is good, I would just advice the management to stop invading it with European food, it makes the hotel look like a tourist cheap place and breaks the harmony of the place. Keep it traditional and simple rather than mass tourism like.

The bar is too expensive. I had 2 beers and a drink and nearly paid 20 pounds.

I would have staid there longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophec638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Excellent hotel though only stayed for 1 night. Excellent views and rooms very clean. Staff also very helpful. Food good in restaurant as well. Would have preferred to stay 2 nights here than some of the other hotels I stayed in. Would definitely stay here again if coming back to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
572 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
383 reviews
6 mi away
Ekho Lake House
Ekho Lake House
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
212 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#11 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range: £49 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing