We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and Memorable location”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Friendly staff and Memorable location”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

They provide me a memorable service.very friendly staff.Best place to stay around polonnaruwa.
Love the nature around the hotel.Hotel is on top of the Munition & surrounded by the forest.when you go to the bar or pool area after 4.00 pm you can see lot of wild elephant around the lake.
Helpful staff.Should give a special thanx for Mr.Thennakoon.(as one waiter told he is the oldest staff in that Hotel)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 242nathaliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    158
    88
    17
    7
See reviews for
74
130
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great view from every room overlooking the lake. Beds very comfortable, but rooms a little tired. Breakfasts were good, but only option in evenings was western buffet @1500lkr/pax. Not a lot of restaurants in town, so ended up eating kothu roti and fried rice at the Welfare Restaurant outside the army base. Meal for 2 was 355lkr.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel has an amazing lake view, very comfortable open air lounge and good food. Staff were helpful and friendly, and accommodated our request to swap rooms as we asked for a king size bed. We had a good stay there.

Room Tip: ask for the room with lake view - its just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during our time in Sri Lanka. It was perfect for visiting Polonnaruma, Dambulla and Sigiriya but pretty basic. The room was clean and comfortable with A/C and fan but it did look a little tired - great value for money though. The buffet meals were good and the staff were extremely friendly. Our main criticism would be the 50% advance payment required to secure our booking which was an expensive overseas bank transfer (may be worth asking if this is an absolute necessity). Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel itself has a swimming pool but in a poor condition so basically I didn't see anyone swimming there, restaurant and bar is very average, they are looking clean but not meeting a hotel standard. There are no facilities in the hotel or outside the hotel so it is very boring. Room is fine but toilet is old fashion. If you stop there 1 night is fine otherwise is really boring.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting a 5 star facility as the main reasons of my stay was to visit the attractions on the area. But trust me the rooms need a lot of maintenance there was no refrigerator in my room but rest of the rooms had a refrigerator as we took a total of 3 rooms. The lights in the rooms were not working and we had to get maintenance the sink in the toilet had cracks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rome_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Location location location. But the swimmingpool is not very inviting. Good rooms and beds. Dated bathroom and ceiling. ( we had far right room) but Beautifull view. With these top end prices you need everything fine and not just lean on location. They need a rainbow touch. Flowers in bowls in courtyard, bit more allure is what this place needs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thgiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
531 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
336 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
118 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
24 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Property: Giritale Hotel
Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing