We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Colombo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

one of the first hotels in Giritale overlooking the Giritale Lake. Beautiful view. Very hospitable staff, attentive and caring. Check in is speedy and efficient. Meals are excellent with a chef who rises to all occasions and a variety of pastries, desserts and main meals. A hotel worthwhile repeating if one yearns for relaxation or site seeing.

Room Tip: Rooms by the restaurant over pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    154
    85
    17
    6
See reviews for
67
123
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NE England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Large bedroom with settee and excellent bedding.
Room was newly refurbished but it was a pity the bathroom wasn't.
Lot of refurbishment being carried out in the public areas at present and when finishes they will be very high quality.
Becomes an excellent place to stay but please sort out the bathrooms!!
Good grounds, SPA and amenities

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a refurbshed bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

location is good, sure again we will go there once, hope in near future, we will recommend other my friend as well, thanks again, we are missing this hotel & there staff too,i wish next time i will stay longer & i want to do some of sightseeing tour also, one of hotel staff show me some of good idea on the map. i want to do that trip for next time, they can also provied pick up and drove service, im happy with there service,
Breakfast is missing, nice bed it was,

Room Tip: room with view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for one night as a staging area for Polunnaruwa ruins. Hotel is on a hillside, at the edge of a forest. Gorgeous views of Giritale lake below. Took in the views as often as possible. Room is comfortable and clean. There are two chairs, small table and a TV. It's a bit crowded. Bed was firm. Bathroom is dated and could use modernizing. It's quite small and the shower curtain was literally touching me on several sides. There are some open slats on the wall that pick up noise from the lounge area. Dinner buffet has a lot of variety and is good. Breakfast buffet also offers many choices including traditional food. Would stay here again. It's a scenic and relaxing place.

Room Tip: Face the lake and away from the outdoor lounge/sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danmantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

They provide me a memorable service.very friendly staff.Best place to stay around polonnaruwa.
Love the nature around the hotel.Hotel is on top of the Munition & surrounded by the forest.when you go to the bar or pool area after 4.00 pm you can see lot of wild elephant around the lake.
Helpful staff.Should give a special thanx for Mr.Thennakoon.(as one waiter told he is the oldest staff in that Hotel)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 242nathaliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great view from every room overlooking the lake. Beds very comfortable, but rooms a little tired. Breakfasts were good, but only option in evenings was western buffet @1500lkr/pax. Not a lot of restaurants in town, so ended up eating kothu roti and fried rice at the Welfare Restaurant outside the army base. Meal for 2 was 355lkr.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel has an amazing lake view, very comfortable open air lounge and good food. Staff were helpful and friendly, and accommodated our request to swap rooms as we asked for a king size bed. We had a good stay there.

Room Tip: ask for the room with lake view - its just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#2 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Property: Giritale Hotel
Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing