We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
negombo
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we stayed one night with my family Hotel view is fantastic
Manager and staff very friendly foods also very tasty rooms clean and good .we really enjoyed .nice swimming pool room rates very reasonable. value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanjanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    156
    88
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
129
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Upon checking out the staff claimed I hadn't paid despite me having an online receipt (which they accepted was correct) saying I had. The manager's suggested solution was for me to pay again, which I countered with a proposal to call the police. Amazingly once I told him this he realised that I had in fact paid already.

Its not just the manager who is terrible. The receptionist when talking to you will take calls without even apologising and then walk away. The bar is shockingly expensive for Sri Lanka- more than any other hotel I stayed at. Whilst the view is nice but I couldn't enjoy it as when I was there there was a party of Sri Lankans who made so much noise (one of them spent the time the sun was setting to play with multiple ring tones on her phone), and smoked. I asked a member of staff if they could do anything, and they said yes then promptly left never to return. Its a real shame as the facilities here mean they really could make it into a very relaxing stay, but it's let down so badly by the staff. Some of the locals were resting their feet on the tables which is awful hygiene but the staff walked by without caring.

The food was ok, but compared to somewhere like Hotel Sigiriya its bland and over priced. I don't get why you'd use this as a base to explore the area as its better to stay in Dambulla, Sigiriya etc.

Nice view though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnluckyTransfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying at the Giritale hotel and for the comment in TripAdvisor.

We regret to note you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconveniences caused to you. In the meantime, we assure you that are looking into the mentioned issues and will take corrective action.

It was very unfortunate that the booking which you had made online has not been received to the hotel up on your check in, which had resulted this unpleasant incident . And the areas what you had mentioned about the disturbances, rates and staff matters will be taken up as a constructive feedback and measures will be taken to avert the same in the future.

We sincerely hope this will not deter you staying again at Giritale Hotel should you travel again in Sri Lanka.

Thank you

Best regards

Kumudu Jayathilake

(Front Office Manager - Pegasus Reef Hotel / Carsons Hotels)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giritale hotels

Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a view to Girithale tank from this hotel. when you go to their restaurant and swimming pool area you can see the tank directly. spend time in evenings there is superb. rooms are too small with very basic facilities. swimming pool is also too small. their foods are really good and always has a good Sri Lankan flavor for foreigners. staff is well trained and always attend to your support. you can plan a tour to Minneriya park and Polonnaruwa archaeological site. nearby hotel there is a very small but nice museum where you can spend around 30 minutes.

Room Tip: near swimming pool there are 4 rooms which has direct view to Girithale tank
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights here and couldn't fault anything about the hotel. The food was great, the rooms great, the staff very friendly and helpful and the views fabulous! A great base for attractions like the Dambulla Cave Complex and Lions Rock. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our tour of Sri Lanka, we found it very relaxing with great views of the mountains. I had a lovely message in the spa ... Would recommend having the Sri Lanka message.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry_Redlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights here on recommendation by our local guide and it was just excellent. We wanted a deluxe room so these rooms overlook the pool and are very comfortable with a lovely view of the tank as well. Our room was at the top so just great. The bathroom is ok, nothing flash but everything worked ok.
The hotel was very relaxing and even sitting in the outdoor area had a lovely relaxing feel with a great view. The meals were good - lots of choices for the buffet and on request they brought some sambal to spice things up. Each meal, you have your country flag on the table so you knew where you were to sit.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. We visited the 3 main ancient sites so it was great to come back and just relax.

Room Tip: pay some extra to get a deluxe room, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_and_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

One of the more surprising things about Giritale hotel is how resorts are capturing the areas of majesty Giritale lake front and its commanding view near atop of mountain cliff. The altitude allows for guest to view throughout the entire are as a point of bird eye view (elevated view) that no one will forgets for life time. Sweeping views of the area stopping every guest to hang in the pavilion for a long time evens forgetting where is them. Immediately well mannered staff with smile will offered a welcome drink Katu anoda drink ''A very healthy fruit and the drink made from Katu Anoda”,which is very tasty and refreshing and easing the feeling of tiredness on that splendid moment.

Staffs are friendly and approachable. Waiter ‘Sampath’ offered us a Katu Anoda drink and he knows how to engage with guest and making the moment more meaningful by anticipating guest need. Food was amazing and tasteful we ate lunch in Srilankan cuisine which is one of the most complex cuisines of south Asia. Due to the excellent service of waiter ‘Sumith’, in lunch time we want to go back again Giritale Hotel and like to be served by him again. His specialty in guest service is Amazing and best example is when we consider about our dessert he explain the ingredient in type of dessert and recommended Watalappan. Watalappan is a famous traditional recipe of Sri Lanka especially very popular amongst Muslims. It is one of the favorite desserts of them now loved by many country men and women. Dish is very famous in Sri Lanka there is a belief that this dish has a Malay origin.

Sumith counsel was right on the mark. Specially head of our family been well fed, his attention children and to our meal and our pleasure in it, was outstanding. We want recommend him for next level in his carrier. Hotel is build long ago and but maintain of physical asset is amazing, no one can easily know that hotel is build may years ago. toured room was well arranged and cleanness is well maintained. On the hotel corridors we met few senior staffs and supervisor they were very friendly. Lobby was small but beautiful. front desk staff Supervisor Thilak, and his staff Niroshan, Thilina, Dhanushka have a big heart to help in every guest in needs and trying to making memorable and personal experience for All guest. Also they never forget to suggest some activities in area which easily can enjoy by everyone.
• Bird Watching
• Jungle safari
• Heritage tour
• Village tour
• Wild life museum (Giitale)

Hotel has its self a small Spa which will be guarantee best ayurvedic treatments (any type) unique feature of spa is Herbal Steam bath and Herbal Sauna.
Staff will be guaranteed the best service during your stay in. highly recommending don’t miss go and stay there.

Address: Giritale Hotel,
Giritale,
Polonnaruwa,
Srilanka.

TP:0094272246311
Email: giritaleh@carcumb.com
Web: http://www.giritalehotel.com

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
518 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
328 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
23 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
109 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#5 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Property: Giritale Hotel
Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing