We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
70
178
103
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
178
103
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiritale tanksri lankaswimming poolhotel is locatedcomfortable staylovely hotelexcellent viewbuffet dinnerroom was clean and comfortableone night staywild elephantstwo nightskaudulla national parka la carteshort stayricelake
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Hotel is located next to Giritale lake which gives an amazing view. Staff is so friendly and happy to help you at anytime. I would like to point out following points, which I experienced during my stay.

Pool - Not very big. 10 people is enough to make it crowded.

Meals - Average

Sleep - Bit disturbing since small insects had managed to squeeze to the room from the space between the main door and floor. Beds are comfortable. Room lighting is dull but looks cozy.

Night time - It would be difficult to stay out of the room as small insects fly everywhere.

Special note - This hotel will give optimal conditions to people who love to have a relaxing stay in a peaceful environment.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 3 will give a better view than others.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChalithSameera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our Hotel and we appreciate your comments.
Since we are in the Jungle (Cultural Site) the insects tend to come after the rain. The Pool will be rebuild which is in our refurbishment program.

Wish you all the Best and visit us again..

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Very nice view....very calm and quiet place to be with your love ones..from the restaurant you can see the lake very beautifully...from the reception to kitchen all the staff members did a great work..they act as a family..very united, rooms are very specious worth for money..i am taking this opportunity to thank the main chef for his great effort to success the event..thank you

Room Tip: Lake front rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayasuriyais2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Giritale Hotel...

Thank you very much for your comments and please stay and enjoy with us again.

Best Regards and Have a Nice Day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Hotel is located in an excellent place where the view is excellent. I visited this place 3 times because I love the view so much.. Supportive and polite staff, delicious food & comfortable rooms made my stay comfortable at Hotel Gritale. Pool & hanging out areas are superb. Simply I love this place...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank harshanasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Giritale Hotel..

Thank you very much for your comment and Please enjoy with us your next visit at Giritale.

Best Regards and Have a nice day ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is one of those hotels that you just book for the view. It's unbeatable, for sure. As you arrive you already get a glimpse of the amazing view this hotel has to offer. It's just breathtaking. The hotel (especially the rooms) itself though are very dated. The bed is small, the bathroom was tiny (and a bit dirty) and the shower was probably our worst shower the entire three weeks in Sri Lanka. But we accepted it all for the amazing view this hotel has to offer. It would be wise for the hotel though, especially since Giritale is getting more and more popular for tourists, so I'm sure there will be more and more hotels, to update the rooms.
All the staff members were amazing and super friendly. We had a great roomboy who decorated our bed every day!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HdeBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank for your comments. The Hotel will be starting refurbishment 01st of May 2018.
Thanking You...

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Stayed at the Giritale Hotel in August for three nights. Twin room was plenty big enough and clean. Wonderful view from the restaurant terrace area over looking the late - we saw an elephant in the distance. The buffet food for dinner and breakfast was great - plenty of choice/

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KarenWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Giritale Hotel....
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.We like to see you again.

Best Regards & Have a Nice Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews