We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Luabay La Cala,the transfer coach can not drop you off at the hotel so there is a short walk from the drop of point to the hotel entrance.
Everything about this hotel which only has 70 rooms is its location it is right on the beach.The rooms are quite spacious cleaned every day but sadly no storage which means living out of the suitcase Food is OK plenty of hot and cold selection at breakfast and at dinner the helpings are more tapas style which is alright if you like small portions.
The staff are very friendly and helpful but the surrounding area is run down so not much going on there.
One last point if your holiday is booked through Thomsons we did not see a rep during the whole of our holiday either in the hotel or on the airport transfers..

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristolJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Jon, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied by our staff’s friendliness and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will look into your comment about the lack of storage in your room and pass it on to the corresponding department. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you as our guests again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    106
    41
    15
    13
See reviews for
32
140
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Returned last week from 2 weeks at the Luabay La Cala. This is a really good hotel, well positioned virtually on the beach, it is one of Majorca's oldest hotels and has been fully modernised in the pasy 2 yeasts or so. La Cala is a boutique style hotel for adults only and in my opinion, is ideal for guests seeking this type of holiday. Staff are very friendly and efficient and the hotel is genuinely spotless thanks to virtually non- stop cleaning schedules. The food is beautifully presented and the choice is huge both at La Cala and at its sister hotel next door, the Marivent where you can take lunch. Pool area is large, uncluttered and spotless . My only very minor negative is that the rooms although stylish and, of course spotless,are quite small and without a single drawer for storage. Surrounding area is a little jaded but the 3 Luabay hotels ensure that you have a choice of basic entertainment in the evenings. For Clubs or sophisticated entertainment you will need to take a cab.
For us it was a very enjoyable holiday.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The superior,sea view rooms are definitely worth the premium if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Chris, thank you so much for being our guests and writing this review about your time at our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and the food we offer. It is great to know all our staff left a great impression and made you feel comfortable. We will pass your feedback about missing drawer space to the corresponding department and hope we can welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is the place to be if you are looking for an adult only holiday. As soon as we entered the hotel, we were greeted by incredible ocean views. The hotel is modern and very tastefully decorated. Phillip from Reception gave us a really warm and friendly welcome ... the kind you always wish you had but are never actually given. Staff were incredible, always polite and doing their very best to give us a five star holiday.

The area itself (Cala Mayor) is okay. Nothing brilliant but you don't notice it really during the day as time is spent around the lovely pool and at the beach. If you want a deck chair by the pool, go early.
Breakfast on the terrace is beautiful and calm... The perfect way to start the day. Catering staff are generally very helpful but we never seemed to get a smile from the lady who cooked the eggs.

The rooms are quite compact, modern and bright. We had a third floor sea view room which gave us the most amazing beach and sea views. The architect missed a trick though as there were no shelves or drawers for our clothes. Other than hanging up a few items, we had to live out of our cases. A clear glass wall separated the shower from the rest of the room so if you are sharing a room, make sure you're prepared for this. It was a little strange for my sister and I!

The person who made the biggest impact on our holiday was the gorgeous Andrea from Guest Services, although you'll see her under many other guises too... Entertainment, fitness instructor. Despite her hectic schedule, it was obvious she loves her job(s), really cares about the guests and is a true credit to the hotel. She gave my sister and I hourly training sessions in the gym every day - purely because she has a passion for it. What a treat and what an angel she is.

Although there is hotel entertainment provided every night, if you're looking for a buzz, you won't find it in Cala Mayor. A 10 minute taxi ride one way will bring you to Palma or the opposite way (and if you're made of tougher stuff) will give you a crazy night out in Magaluf.

I have no hesitation in recommending LuaBay La Cala to anyone looking for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoopyKof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have just come back from my holiday with my sister 18th August 2013. We stayed at Luabay La Cala, but you have access to the Marivent and the Costa Palma as well. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the lovely receptionist Philips who made us feel so welcome during our whole stay. Always smiling. We used the fitness centre every day. The equipment isn't great but Andrea from the client services informed us on our first day there that she teaches gym class 5 days a week and it felt like we had our own personal trainer, which then led to either zumba or water aerobics. Everything was perfect. The over 16s policy allows for the atmosphere to be calm, with a sea view from the pool and only a door separating you from the beach. The area itself is nothing special but there are some fab restaurants if you come out of the hotel and turn left towards San Agustin. We tried Calanova - which was fabulous (10 minute walk) and an indian with sea views. La Cala restaurant we went to for lunch almost daily - amazing tuna salad for 6 euros and very friendly. The taxi to Palma was 10 euros but the bus is 1,30 euros. For a relaxing, friendly holiday with a calm atmosphere and simple yet modern décor I'd choose this hotel. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the third floor if you can. The view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Vanessa, thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our staff’s special attention. It is a pleasure to know you were satisfied with all parts of our hotel and we would love to welcome you back at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just returned from Luabay La Cala. Had a great chill out holiday. Hotel is ideal for relaxing. Booked with Thomsons but didn't get to see the rep for 5 days. Luckily, the hotel staff and reps were excellent and very helpful. Hotel staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. We arrived at 4 am and found that they had food laid out for us on arrival. Food was excellent, as was the restaurant service. Generally a relaxed atmostphere, no chasing pool beds before 8.30 am.Hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Entertainment at this hotel was low key but you could go to the sister hotels next door for more upbeat entertainment. Location of the Hotel is stunning. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach was lovely. Opt for a sea view room, great view. Access to the beach via secure gate, literally less than a minute from the sea. However the surrounding area is not to the same standard. Would definitely return to the same Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room. views stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Susan, thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are very glad you had a great time and enjoyed a relaxing holiday. It is great to know you were satisfied with our service, the food we offer and the hotel in general. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we are looking forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booked a week at Luabay la cala with Thomson holidays for its central location. On arrival we were informed that no room was available and would have to stay for 2 nights at Galatzo about 40mins away.I had no intention in travelling round the island for my weeks holiday so I requested a meeting with the manager (big mistake) couldn't care less and was totally arrogant. With the help of Thomson rep we were relocated to HM Tropical at playa da palma which was great. Friendly helpful staff,spotlessly clean and lovely food, albeit a little way from Palma.
Top marks to Rochelle (rep) for sorting the problem and to Thomson for reimbursement for lost time. Its just a pity that this hotel don't seem to work with Thomson, if they did these problems wouldn't exist.
Im sure that many people have had a good holiday at La Cala, and perhaps they just need to move the manager to a new post(not public relations).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Patrick, we are very sorry that your booked room was not available on your arrival and that you were not satisfied with the solution we offered. We would love to welcome you at one of our hotels again in the future, so you get to enjoy the high standard of our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have just returned from a week in the Luabay La Cala. The hotel, being one of Thomson's Chic & Unique, certainly lived up to it's name. The hotel was small, only 60 rooms, compared to the bigger sister hotels next door. The terrace overlooking the stunning beach is beautiful. We went for Half Board, all buffet style food. Breakfast was good, but dinner could do with some improvement, it was all tapas, and if, like me, you holiday with a hard working man, they will not find the dinners very satisfying. However, the hotel is stunning, rooms were neat, clean and tidy. Definitely opt for a sea view room, as the location of the hotel is stunning. The nearby area isn't all that good though, Charlotte's which is up the road and turn right is nice for a cold drink and a pizza. But if you want a super restaurant with beautiful views, then walk up the road from the hotel, turn right and take a 12 minute walk to Calanova restaurant situation on the marina in Sant Agusti. It's fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.0 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
32.2 mi away
Garden Holiday Village
Garden Holiday Village
#11 of 30 in Playa de Muro
585 reviews
45.0 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#4 of 15 in Canyamel
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Valentin Reina Paguera
Valentin Reina Paguera
#8 of 52 in Peguera
203 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#22 of 77 in Playa de Palma
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique

Property: Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
Address: Calle Gavina 4, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay La Cala)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique Hotel, ideal for adults, it has been completely renovated in 2012 with a modern and functional style. Its 67 rooms have been designed to the smallest detail to offer tranquility and comfort with the needs of today's traveler. Sun, beach, the best food, incredible rooms, in short everything needed to enjoy a special holiday. Open from May until October. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing