We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vintage glamour and service, right on the beach”
Review of Hotel Nixe Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nixe Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“vintage glamour and service, right on the beach”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The 1950's built Nixe Palace has the most wonderful aspect, nestling within a sun-drenched sandy cove just 15 minutes from Palma and the airport - so a great place to stay for a long, weekend. The service is truly 5 star and the staff can't do enough for you. Try to spa treatments too, which are very professional and well worth the money. Make sure that you book a sea view balcony room, we had a lovely room on the 6th floor. Only downside is if you go off season you can expect the sea to be too cold and unfortunately the outdoor pool is not heated, and the indoor spa pool is not really designed for excercise. Catch the 10 minute bus into Palma for wonderful sightseeing, eating and shopping. Make sure you climb up to the Bellver Castle too, set atop a lovely forested parkland on the outskirts of the citiy, and stop for a drink on the terrace of the Museu D'Arte Moderne, overlooking the marina.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea facing balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    273
    72
    38
    24
See reviews for
161
389
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

to the approach from the illetas side there are rather a lot of grotty fast food joints which make you wonder if you are nearing a 5 star hotel, on arrival however you will be pleasantly surprised , as the hotel itself is very well appointed(apart from new but low standard corridor carpets), nicely furnished rooms, and clean bathrooms, stunning views of the bay and lovely beach directly accessed from the hotel, spa facilities are nice, all in all much better than expected considering the surrounding area.

Room Tip: front sea view rooms worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

I would have given Nixe the highest score if the coffee had been drinkable but sadly it spoilt my visit not having a decent cup of coffee at breakfast. Cannot fault the wonderful sea views, excellent staff and very clean rooms. We had thought long and hard where to stay in Palma and it really is worth staying this short distance out, for the sea view. Easy bus ride into town, 1.50 euros. We would go back - despite having to get take away coffee from a cafe down the road!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaroJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights,we booked using the Travel Republic web site, best rate for b/b
On arrival we upgraded to a sea view this was a must ,the views are stunning ,we sat out there many times, even though it was early march.The staff are very helpful at the hotel and the breakfasts are great!!
Pepe at reception(VERY HELPFUL) advised us to purchase a bus pass which allowed 10 trips to Palma centre for 10 euros this was excellent.way of getting in to the centre .we would certainly recommend this hotel. The area around the hotel is a little tired ,but this is typical of other places in Spain too, in the present economic climate and didn't put us off.we cannot wait to come back to the hotel again next year

Room Tip: a seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is simply fantastic, the staff are amazing and the location is second to none.

Pros:
View, the view is astonishing!
Service, everyone is more than happy to help you and they're very friendly
Spa treatment was nice and relaxing
Terrace is lovely
Very quiet

Cons:
The spa, the showers weren't working completely and neither was the ice machine
Food and Drink is very expensive in the hotel (€15 for a sandwich and €18 for breakfast!!)
Outdoor pool is not heated and the outdoor bar was undergoing refurbishments

Room Tip: Always get a sea view room, I'd recommend the 8th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Random_Pearswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just had a lovely 4 night stay at the Nixe Palace. Fabulous sea and beach views from our balcony. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely appointed with a spacious bathroom. The quality of the food was very good and beautifully presented, however, the menu did not change which let the experience down just a little bit. It is a great place to relax and unwind, and a good location to explore surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Some balconies are large than others, might be useful to request at time of booking. Also floor 4 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilloYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Had a lovely four nights at the Nixe Palace, half board. I can't say anything negative about the hotel - the staff were curtious, friendly and helpful. The view from our bedroom fantastic, and we had lots of little extras in the room. Will point out that there are no irons in the bedrooms but there is a laundry facility, we however had brought a travel iron so that was fine. Breakfast was just great, it was a buffet style but catered for all, plus your could have a glass of bubbly! We sat on the veranda for breakfast every morning - bliss! After our day we came back and enjoyed some time in the spa before getting dressed for dinner. Dinner was what I would consider 'fine dining' it was three courses and we tried something different off the menu every evening. One of the big surprises was returning to our room in the eving to find housekeeping had been in and turned down the bed - and they left chocolate! Now just to give some tips on outside the main entrance of the hotel: turn left and you can walk into Cala Major, it was a little scruffy and not very big, but you can walk down to a lovely little marina. We had drinks at a couple of the cafes and the people in them were lovely. But as I said a little scruffy. Turn right and you can walk to Palma. It is about 20 minutes to the start of the harbour and quite a long walk to the centre of Palma from there, taking you past a beautiful marina, can't say how long because we didn't do it all. There is a nice shopping complex at the start of the harbour Pont Pi. We did go on the bus to the centre of Palma and it was a lovely city - don't forget to visit the Cathedral area. Stunning! (The only reason I put 'very good' for the location was the fact that Cala Major was a bit scruffy, it might be different in high season, and 'very good' for the Spa because the steam room wasn't working one day, and they don't have a proper changing room, although you are meant to walk down to the Spa in the robe provided in your bedroom, but I didn't fancy this because you had to walk through reception. Would I go again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room. We had a balcony not a terrace, which I preferred as it seemed the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanKirkWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,582 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nixe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nixe Palace

Property: Hotel Nixe Palace
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 269, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nixe Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front row from the beach and very close to the heart of Palma, in Hotel Nixe Palace guests can enjoy can enjoy the cultural, commercial, sporting and maritime atmosphere of the city. In our hotel you can choose from a broad selection of possibilities, whatever adjusts better to your needs. All of this is complemented by the exquisite personalized treatment that will make your stay here an unforgettable moment. Luxury is not limited to just the views, its rooms offer the latest technology. Whether you want to work, rest or practice sport, the Hotel Nixe Palace offers all the commodities and installations needed, even to be able to do it all. Also we have at your disposal a combination of dreamy interior and exterior areas in which to hold meetings, weddings, made to measure celebrations which will impress even your most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nixe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nixe Palace Hotel
Hotel Nixe Palace Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing