We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nixe Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nixe Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fabulous hotel with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

At first I was skeptical about booking the hotel especially after reading some of the reviews. Nixe hotel is one of the prettiest hotels on the island. It is known by transport companies, taxis and they have their own bus stop so it's easy to move around the area. The location is strategic close to the Bellver castle, city center, etc. The employees at the hotel were the nicest. One of the gentlemen brought our bags all the way up to our room. They were helpful, suggestive and cheerful with requests and questions that we had. One of the concierge attendants even got us premier seats to a popular sold out show in Son Amar. Of course let's not forget the hotel itself which is absolutely stunning. I recommend getting a sea view. Waking up every morning to the sound of the Mediterranean sea was divine. The only glitch if at all (as I didn't mind it) was that their double beds are actually conjoined twins beds. I was on my honeymoon and wanted closeness but it didn't matter. My husband and I have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    263
    69
    35
    24
See reviews for
152
376
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed at Nixe Palace with friends for four days. The hotel is very nice, clean quiet and well furnished. The rooms were very comfortable. We did not eat in the hotel but the bar area with its terrace overlooking the sea was lovely. What made the stay memorable for us were the staff. All the staff were friendly and helpful but the receptionists especially were all friendly, efficient and informative. They made various recommendations for dinner all of which were very good. They provided us with maps and bus routes and suggestions for places to visit.
One night as we were going to dinner we advised the reception that our air conditioning was not working properly. By the time we returned it had been fixed.
The hotel is just outside Palma and the location is a little tired but buses and taxis were all easily available and there were plenty of bars and restaurants locally. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I would honestly rate this as a really good 4 1/2 star hotel, and it did not disappoint us! We booked through expedia for $238 us dollars per night for a balcony room - a very great value in my opinion. We stayed 2 nights and I wish we had of stayed longer! I would say that if you are going to stay here though you should pay for a balcony room. I wouldn't want to stay here without facing the water, so go for it and you won't be disappointed! The first night we arrived at midnight so we ended up with one of the 3 rooms that do not have a balcony. All other rooms have balconies facing the water. They were very kind to upgrade us to a mini suite the second night so that we could have our balcony! The beach was really nice - great to swim in! VERY relaxing! The pool is really small but with the ocean as lovely as it was there was no need for the pool in my opinion. The drinks were good. We got 2 mojitos for 16Euro - the going rate I figured. We didn't have breakfast or lunch here as it was rather expensive but their lunch menu appeared more reasonable. The bus is right outside to take you to town! We took the bus into town twice without any problems. We ate at a little place one block away for 30 euros we had a huge meal with a bottle of wine - couldn't ask for anything better. The bed was the most comfortable of all those we stayed in during our vacation and it was very quiet. Go for the balcony room and enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgeek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I recomend this hotel.
staff were very nice and the beach in front of the hotel is very
good too.
you have a bus stop just in front the hotel.
the spa is very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlamm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Having booked via 'Airmiles' we read one or two unfavourable reviews on this site and were a little worried as to what we should find. In the event the hotel and its staff lived up to its five star billing. The immediate surroundings of the hotel are a little run down and in need of TLC but up the road Palmanova and particularly Potal Nous and Port Andratx are superbly modernised indicating that Cala Major is soon for the same treatment.
We arrived in the early evening in a pre-booked hire car from 'Avis' at the airport (that was not easy - the documentation took ages but in our experience it often does and the indifference of the hire car clerks seems to be universal - world wide)
The hotel staff were welcoming and courteous nothing was too much trouble. The valet parking system worked efficiently and in the face of nightmare parking conditions everwhere on Mallorca 15 euros a day was a small price to pay.
We had a late booking (2 weeks before departure) and no sea view rooms were available, ours had an 'inland view' which in reality meant a concrete wall some 5 metres from the window. The room was comfortable very clean and more than just adequate. The bathroom was immaculate and fully equipped with the necessary towels, cosmetics, ungents and rescue packs - shaving gear, combs, toothbrush and paste etc.The housekeeping was superb.
The terrace and its outstanding views (the best in Spain in my opinion - streets ahead of the Melia Don Pepe on the front in Marbella and we had an 8th floor sea view there) The fantastically clean beach and sea with immediate access from the hotel, showers, changing and toilet facilities made up for the poor view from our room. The standards of care and cleanliness were outstanding.

The breakfast buffet was amongst the very best of my experience in the range and quality of the food and we have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world.
The restaurant food in the evening was excellent also and came with novel advice from the waiter who prevented us from ordering too much food because the portion sizes were such that we would not be able to eat it (now that is unusual!)
The buses which are cheap and frequent pass the front of the hotel and taxis are always available.
On the down side Mallorca as elswhere in the Euro zone has become ridiculously expensive - £15 for two large (500ml) and two small (250ml) beers is just plain daft.
Fuel prices are about the same as UK.

The only downside was a 10 hour delay on the return journey!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

stunning views, excellent facilities, suitable for all ages, in quiet street with many exquisite restaurants, breakfast was delicious and the pool, gym and spa were great!! very grande and lovely modern furnishing

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NardeenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We have travelled all over Europe & this is by far the worst so called "5 star" hotel ever!!!
The staff were just there to rip you off with any extra cost they could add on. We booked for a double room with an extra bed with breakfast included for 310 euro per night (dear enough!!) & they were telling us when we got there our booking only covered 2 people & no breakfasts!!! They then told us for an extra 120 euro per night they would give our daughter a bed & us breakfasts, even though it was perfectly clear on our itinerary what we had booked.
VERY AVERAGE ROOM & POOL AREA!
STAYED 1 NIGHT & GOT OUT OF THERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieMud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nixe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nixe Palace

Property: Hotel Nixe Palace
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 269, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nixe Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front row from the beach and very close to the heart of Palma, in Hotel Nixe Palace guests can enjoy can enjoy the cultural, commercial, sporting and maritime atmosphere of the city. In our hotel you can choose from a broad selection of possibilities, whatever adjusts better to your needs. All of this is complemented by the exquisite personalized treatment that will make your stay here an unforgettable moment. Luxury is not limited to just the views, its rooms offer the latest technology. Whether you want to work, rest or practice sport, the Hotel Nixe Palace offers all the commodities and installations needed, even to be able to do it all. Also we have at your disposal a combination of dreamy interior and exterior areas in which to hold meetings, weddings, made to measure celebrations which will impress even your most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nixe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nixe Palace Hotel
Hotel Nixe Palace Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing