We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostal in a lovely quiet village”
Review of Hostal Dragonera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant Elm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Dragonera
Ranked #1 of 1 Sant Elm B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Hostal Dragonera for one week as part of a walking holiday and found the hostal to be ideal for our needs. The rooms are quite small and basic but are spotlessly clean. The hostal does not have a swimming pool but has a wonderful sun deck overlooking the bay with direct access to the sea.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony as these overlook the bay with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sionwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday in Mallorca away from the tourist traps and crazy crowds, I would recommend staying here! St Elm itself is a lovely little village where the natural beauty of the island has been preserved, with only a few terrible tourist restaurants (and a few great ones). Hostal Dragonera was excellent - our room with balcony over the bay was an incredible place to spend an evening and watch the sunset, and we could just nip downstairs and jump straight into the sparkling ocean if we felt like a swim. The room was comfortable and very clean, though quite basic, and the host Sylvia was very helpful and accommodating, even of our very late arrival (1.00am!) Breakfast was quite good, nothing to complain about though not overly fancy, however the view from the restaurant at breakfast was amazing. Hostal Dragonera is excellent value for money, located right on the main street of town. I would recommend staying here over any of the places on the other side of the bay.

Room Tip: We had the corner room with balcony which meant our balcony was much larger than all the others, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank User_186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is not really a 'hostal' with basic accommodation and facilities. It is a proper hotel and a lovely one as such, located right on the seafront next to the beach. The 3-course dinner and buffet breakfast are truly excellent.The owner is a lovely French gentleman (hence the good food!) who supervises everything, but the hotel is run by his son and daughter. The staff is polite, helpful and super efficient. The rooms are on the small side, very clean and bright, with air-con for cold/hot air and free wifi reception. There is a large terrace with sunbeds and you can dip into the clear turquoise water straight from there. What more can you wish for? We enjoyed a walking week in the area and would love to return.

Room Tip: Top floor with sea or side-sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aliki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in June and loved this hotel. We had visited Sant Elm about 4 years ago for the day and had not had enough time to visit Dragonera and so specifically stayed here to do that.
It is a small hotel on the main pedestranised street in Sant Elm and run by a lovely family.
There are sun loungers on a small terrace with from which you can swim.
Breakfasts are very good as are the evening meals.
We are planning to return next year as we did not complete all the walks in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungry_Hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a walking group.Couldn't believe how lovely everything was! Views, good food, lovely family running the place.
The hotel is built into the rocks and you can swim directly from the hotel terrace.
The twin rooms were comfortable with en suite facilities- not luxurious but absolutely fine.
Bar a bit expensive - but don't really blame them as everything else was such good value.
Beach lovely and small shops, farmacia and bakery very close.
The Dragonera was a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiranaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here as part of a walking holiday, based here for 7 nights in a single room. Basically this is a family run restaurant with rooms in the middle of the "main" street in a delightful and quiet resort.

The room was small, small but very clean and serviced. It had an air con, which also acted as a heater. No TV, but free wifi. The restaurant was excellent, where we had buffet breakfast and served 3 course meals.

Didn't use the swimming pool because it was a little cold at this time of year......

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter, away from kitchen fans and fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed three nights. "Dragonera" is a delightful family run hostal, very friendly. The restaurant is fine too, the breakfast really generous. Some rooms (they are very clean) have a stunning view over the sea, including the island Dragonera.

There is a fine small beach just close by. For those who like walking in the mountains, there are some very attractive excursions, especially the one to "La Trapa", an abandoned monastery. Not easy walking, but it is worth it when you arrive, after 2 hrs walk.

We´d love to come back some day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lejon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Elm
0.2 mi away
Universal Aparthotel Don Camilo
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Aquamarin
2.6 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#2 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
380 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Brismar
Hotel Brismar
#4 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
197 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#10 of 52 in Peguera
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dragonera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dragonera

Address: Avinguda de Jaume I, 07159 Sant Elm, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sant Elm
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Elm
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Dragonera 1*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Hostal Dragonera Hotel Sant Elm
Hostal Dragonera Sant Elm, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing