We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive ”
Review of Rancho Grande Park

Rancho Grande Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.84*
and up
Mallorca Evening Tour: Horseback Riding, Dinner...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are the biggest horse Ranch in Mallorca offering horseback riding excursions as well as food and drinks in our restaurant on site. There are various attractions for all family - little mini Zoo, children playground, bouncy castle, football field etc In the evening we organize a Country nights with live music, line dancing and show at the very end of the night. The place is suitable for all family.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
A TripAdvisor Member
3311
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our daughter is absolutely horse mad so when we saw this trip advertised we decided to book it so she could have her first ride on a horse. We were led to believe that there would be unlimited sangria and soft drinks for the kids throughout the evening but unfortunately this wasn't the case. We were offered a small plastic cup of drink when we arrived and didn't see any sangria/drinks again until we sat down to eat. The horses were in good condition and seemed to be well looked after but the rest of the ranch seemed a little run down and a bit dirty. We enjoyed the hour long horseride but didn't enjoy being separated from our 7 and 9 year old daughters so wasn't able to relax entirely and enjoy the ride as a family. If we had known this beforehand we would of maybe thought twice about booking it. It was more expensive than we had originally thought and had put aside €200 going off prices we saw online. We didn't have to leave a deposit when we booked but on arrival ended up paying €238 which is A LOT of money for what you get. Drinks are extra, you have to pay €5 for a locker or leave your bags on a table. We paid for a locker and then you only get €2 back which we thought was pretty bad. There's a rodeo (extra money to have a go). We heard a lady ask for her little girl to have a pony ride (extra €10) but we are only going on what we heard, that wasn't our experience. The meal was terrible, it was like being in a school canteen, rows of tables and benches. We got served a chicken kebab, 5 minutes later a baked potato, 5 minutes later some very bony chewy pork chop and a platter of salad followed by a small tub of ice cream which we never did get. After the meal and more waiting the entertainment started, one of the staff sang a few songs and played his guitar which was brilliant, in fact he was brilliant from start to finish as soon as we got there. The horse show personally for us we didn't enjoy, the rider carried a whip the whole time and the horse looked terrified but I'm sure for people who are into all that they would be impressed. The guy that picked us up and dropped us off was so friendly and very kind when our daughter was afraid sat on this huge horse for the first time. We're glad we went and our horse mad daughter thoroughly enjoyed it, however we wouldn't go again and weren't to keen being trapped there because we were relying on them for transport, we were there for 6 hours altogether and most of that was spent just hanging around.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rancho Grande Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing an honest review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the excursion.

The prices of an excursion itself can vary depending on the site you are booking it with. Our prices are easily found on our webpage, but there could be other sellers that offer different price that could be even cheaper.

As in many other excursions there are lots of extra expenses that possibly is disappointing we understad.

Regarding to the meal then we have to agree that it is very simple. There is only a chicken kebab, potato, pork chops, salad and bread and alioli and an ice cream for dessert Nothing more nothing less. This menu haven't been changed for around 20 years we are doing this excursion and we want to keep it as it is, as well as sitting all together for the dinner by the big table. This is the Ranch style, some people like it and for some it is very disturbing.

Regarding the drinks and sangria. There is included only welcoming drink and then there are included drinks by the dinner - sangria, orange drink, wine , water. We would never spread wrong info, as we don't need any problems and we want to see out guests content.

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoyed the ride either, as it wouldn't be a problem for us to make sure that you are riding next to your children.

We will keep in mind the points you mentioned to try to improve and have more satisfied guests.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horse ride"
in 24 reviews
"jacket potato"
in 15 reviews
"his guitar"
in 14 reviews
"riding experience"
in 15 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 14 reviews
"split into groups"
in 8 reviews
"line dancing"
in 69 reviews
"on arrival"
in 17 reviews
"evening entertainment"
in 7 reviews
"hour ride"
in 6 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 4 reviews
"no frills"
in 8 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 7 reviews
"spanish dancing"
in 5 reviews
"buy photos"
in 3 reviews
"fizzy orange"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall this was one of the best excursions we have been on. We have little or none expeience with riding horses, but it was a very well structured horse ride to suit all ages. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, and had very good language skills as they would speak multiple languages easily. The shows were amazing to watch and scenery was beautiful. The only issue we had was the seating arrangements for the meal, as it was very similar to eating in a school hall, where everyone has to sit next to each other or opposite on very long benches. Food wasn't particular great, and very limited on options, but did taste good. It was fun to learn how to line dance too, would recommend joining in on this. Overall a great evening out.

Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rancho Grande Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Laura for your review.

The food menu hasn't been changed for around 20 years and we understand that it could be old fashioned as people would want to have more options.
The sitting all together on the big table as well is an old tradition, but i guess the people seek for more privacy by the dinner time, but i guess that would be rather changed.

Thank you once again and hope to see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I have little experience in riding (trotting is about my limit) my partner has none and had never been on a horse. Despite this, we were both happy to try. It cost approximately 62 euro each and involved a pick up from palmanova up to and beyond Alcudia centre. This took around 1 hour 10 minutes. We were picked up and taken home (back to hotel) by the ranch which was included in the price.

On arriving at the ranch, we saw there was a small area with parrots, peacocks and a little monkey. There was a bar and a few benches to sit and eat snacks. We were given cowboy hats to wear for a photo.

The trip involved either a horse ride or a wagon trip. We opted to try the morning horse ride. There is also the option for an evening ride with a bbq and entertainment afterward.

We were taken to try on hats ready to begin the ride, and told there were three categories - automatic for beginners, a middle group and an experienced group. We went for the automatic beginners group. We were told this involved simply sitting in the saddle and the horse doing the work - this however depends on the horse. My horse Zidan did require some steering and control.

The ride itself was around 2 hours long. My partner rode Silver who was very well behaved. My horse Zidan not so much lol! He kept trying to nibble my foot, eat everything on the trail, attempting to trot. He was mischievous. There are some flies on the ground in the heat and the horses buck a little to shoo them away, this is a little alarming at first until you realise what they are doing. You ride right down to the beach but unfortunately you do not ride on the actual beach. You get to the foot of the beach, have a professional photo taken and then turn around again.

I do feel that the ride is a long time for the riders and horses to go without water / a drink. 2 hours in extreme heat meant we were exhausted on the return ride back from the beach. There is nowhere on the saddle to put a drink, and for inexperienced riders it is difficult to ride and drink at the same time so I think a drink stop half way is a good idea. Maybe if the workers took some drinks with them to hand out half way, that would help. (The workers ride along with you and the group to ensure horses behave).

Apart from this, the ride was enjoyable. My partner experienced something he never had before, and said he would love to do it again. Thank you to all at the ranch for this day. We will treasure are photos.

Thank Llmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rancho Grande Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for you review.
Summer time in mallorca is really hot. We will try to find a way to not leave our riders thirsty.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We wanted to do something different and the holiday rep suggested this. It cost approximately 62 euro and involved a taxi ride from palmanova up to and beyond Alcudia centre.
We were driven to the park greeted warmly and given a drink . There was a small zoo area with parrots, pigs,llamas and ostriches.
The trip involved either a horse ride or a wagon trip. We opted to try the horse ride .There were three categories and being total novices we went for automatic ..this involved simply sitting in the saddle and the horse doing the work .
Upon our return there was a fun competition on a mechanical bull followed by a bbq meal and plenty of free drink
There then followed an evening of entertainment ranging from singing and dancing to a display by the horses and their riders
Once done we were taken back to our hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed it

Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

What can I say from the transfer who picked us up to the transfer home did have a snooze tho lol ,had an amazing time at the ranch I picked the wagon ride and really found it to be more than my expectation so enjoyable it was fantastic having a sing along ,the bbq was very tastie and I have a very fussy eater of a son but he had enough with just eating the meat so I didn’t need to worry if he was hungry ,the horse show at the end was amazing

Thank nickyjo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho Grande Park also viewed

Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Ca'n Picafort, Majorca
 
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 

Been to Rancho Grande Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing