We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Hotel Ses Sucreres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ses Sucreres
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here! Ses Sucreres is located in a small town, Ferrereis, in the middle of the island and we enjoyed the local feel of the town - from seeing residents enjoy warm evenings to visiting small pastry shops. The hotel is tastefully decorated, with nice large rooms. Breakfast had local specialities. It had all the amenities that you would expect in a small hotel, and a few unexpected extras - like a beach umbrella! However, what made the experience really special was our hosts, who were very helpful, with lots of advice on everything from beaches to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Why I loved this hotel:

Location:
- it's not by the ocean and I did not bring a car - however this was no problem - the buses come like clockwork on the hour and I went to Cala Galdana each day (10 minute trip) and then walked along the Cami Cavills (the bush track around the entire island) left or right to my favourite beaches. There are 5 that I would describe as absolute heaven - but I will let you discover them - you simply walk the Cami Cavills. I would bring a car if you want to leave Ferreries at night time and go to Cuitudella (hope I spelt that right!) and Mahon - but if you are happy just exploring the entire South coast (white beaches are in the south - but people say the North is just as beautiful but different) and getting fit walking a lot - don't worry about a car!
- You can take a lightweight beach umbrella from the hotel and walk with it no problem (I am small girl)

The Hotel:
- It's bohemian simplicity is beautiful
- there is a lovely ambience - imagine dimmed lighting when you come home at the end of the day with Dipytique (refer Space NK) candles burning the scent of Jasmine and lovely music playing quietly in the reading room - and you can see the little garden beyond.
- Stephanie (who resembles the lovely Juliette Binoche ;-) has chosen lovely pieces of original artwork for the hotel and rooms which are decorated simply and beautifully - also with flowers from the garden -I had lilly's and pink hortensia. Rooms are cleaned and beds made beautifully each day.
- there are no televisions to distract you from completely escaping - I did not read the news for 10 nights - Perfect! - It is true that the breakfast is simple (but I loved this!) - typical breakfast would be omlette, tomato jam, and local cheese or local sausage with cheese and tomato all with olive oil - granary toast and a lovely biscuit with fresh squeezed orange juice and tea and coffee is always served - but I am telling you I toned up in my 12 days on that diet - swimming and walking around Menorca.
Before I came here I read a review by somebody that had criticised the hotel for not having TV or more breakfast options - they completely missed the point of staying here and if you must have a TV and a full array of English breakfast options I recommend the Sol Gavilanes at Cala Galdana.

Menorca: Love the virgin beaches and discovering them - the countryside is untouched unlike Ibiza with its huge industrial sheds and clubs etc.

In summary: a beautiful, homely, bohemian, quiet, small arty hotel - loved it and would definitely book again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Ses Sucreres did indeed live up to all the high expectations we had for our stay following the reviews we read prior to booking our holiday. It is a delightful small B&B ran by the gracious, helpful and friendly owner/ host Stephanie. The decor of the residence and the guest rooms is simple, natural and comfortable with the emphasis being on natural products, local artisanal items and good design. The place is airy, fresh and well looked after. There is a sweet residence cat that adds to the charm and homey feel of the place. Stephanie serves the morning breakfast, which you ask for directly with her in the morning - and the food is fresh and sufficient. We loved our room on the first floor- simply decorated and comfortable with good large bed. We also spent some time on the roof terrace in the evening enjoying a glass of wine before dinner - this is very nice as it offers a nice view of the town and the surrounding hills. There is also a small patio where breakfast is served in the morning and one usually meets other guests during this time. There are some things worth pointing out about Ses Sucreres that may be useful to know for other travelers before booking: 1 - this is indeed not a hotel but a B&B so it is important to keep this in mind when it comes to expectations i.e. the B&B part is adjacent to the family residence quarters with the main entry hall being shared so one feels to be a part of the residence daily life, in other words regular interaction with the owners and other quests should be expected (we enjoyed this aspect very much as we got to practice our spanish and got to know the owner a bit..) 2 - there is no buffet or set breakfast as such, the owner asks you every morning what you would like and she makes it for you and serves it...usually what you want she has available but this is not a restaurant so there might be things she needs to get for the next day...the food however is always fresh, organic and local 3 - there is a normal street life going on outside your windows including children playing at night and a rooster starting up at 5 am so be prepared for this (again, we loved this aspect and nothing that a pair of earplugs would not fix) 4 - there is no TV/refrigerator or hairdryer in the room...there is a shared refrigerator downstairs and you can request the hairdryer form the owner - so no problems there for us again 5- this is a rather small typical Catalan/Spanish town with normal residents life going about and with not that many tourist oriented options for eating out or entertainment...this we did not mind at all and in fact enjoyed the tranquility and simplicity and authenticity of the place, for more diverse dining options we headed to Ciutadella 20 mins driving away...5- The owner/host is very helpful and happy to provide you with whatever you need...she takes pride in the place and is very involved with the daily life of the residence and in making the quests feel comfortable. The only small reservation I have with the overall experience is the weak drip coffee served at breakfast - I usually had to go down the street to get a proper espresso/ cortado right after breakfast. If a proper coffee were served with breakfast - ses sucreres would be heaven.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ivanavesela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We loved the big, tastefully decorated room, the comfortable bed, and the great breakfast and advice provided by the hotel's proprietors. All the other reviews will note the fine materials and decorations, but above that I will fondly remember the warm welcome we received, with great advice on how to best take advantage of the time we had on this wonderful island. There is so much to do and to see in Menorca, and although it may seem like a "small island", we were extremely happy to be located in a central location that allowed us to explore highland views and stunning sea views from truly wild coasts and creeks. I'd like to think we will be able to get to Ses Sucreres again, I certainly wouldn't even bother looking for any place else to stay if we can get back to Menorca!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fweffwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in Ses Sucreres last summer for just under a week, for some much needed rest and relaxation. We travel quite a lot during the year to far flung places with work and are again looking for a relaxing week or two when we return home to Barcelona.

On looking around on the trip advisor website I thought I must write a review of this gem of a place in the centre of the lovely island of Menorca.

The service is second to none and all the the food that is served up bar the tea and coffee is locally produced. The room that we had, I can not remember the number, was huge and tastefully renovated and in keeping with the charm of the local surroundings.

Our host was wonderful and never too far away to guide and help us with our exploration of the island on two wheels. If you are looking for a place that reflects what else goes on in Menorca other than tourism, then Ferreries is it and being slap bang in the centre of the island it is a easy to hop to and from.

The search will continue for this years short break, but it will be difficult to beat this lovely little retreat.............. so maybe we ought to book again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagallanesBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Ses Sucreres lives up to all the favourable reviews. The rooms are spacious, calm and relaxing. The bed was huge and very comfortable with cosy duvet and pillows. All the paintings and furniture are chosen with care and consideration to add to the peaceful ambiance created by a total lack of televisions, radio, telephone or even an alarm clock. It is an excellent choice for those who wish to visit as much of Menorca as possible in a one week visit.
We made long walks every day to deserted beaches and ruined towers. We saw Egyptian vultures soaring above a gorge as we ate our picnic lunch at the edge of a prehistoric village and a tiny tortoise as we explored the marsh between Sant Tomas and Son Bou. Ferreries is centrally placed so anywhere on the island is only 30 or 40 minutes away, at most. We were there for the last week in March so all the tourist resorts were closed but Ferreries is a busy, thriving town were we could enjoy a relaxing drink at the end of a busy day and watch the world go by. Stephanie was very helpful in recommending excellent restaurants and walks in the locality which were not in our books. To top it all we had warm sunshine all day, everyday - we couldn't have asked for a nicer holiday.

Room Tip: The suite was very large with a large walk in dressing area and another small writing/ sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margar8T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife, my daughter (2 years old) and myself had a stay in ses sucreres end of may. We have been amazed by the size of the room and especially by the very stylish decoration. The breakfast is a must, you will never forget the local made tomato jam! The holders are very nice and helped us in finding nice places to go. It was quite easy as the place is centrally located. This is definitely our recommendation if you stay in Menorca.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank team_fanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferreries
4.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,000 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
#2 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
4.1 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,829 reviews
15.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ses Sucreres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ses Sucreres

Property: Hotel Ses Sucreres
Address: Calle Sant Joan 15, 07750 Ferreries, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ferreries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ses Sucreres 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ses Sucreres is a small and unusual family-owned guesthouse in the old neighbourhood of Ferreries, a genuine village in the center of Minorca. The 1844s dated house has been recently restored with respect to the original structure and traditional Minorcan architecture. Hotel Ses Sucreres combines organic materials, restful accommodations and a personalized service all in an eclectics, timeless and refined atmosphere.Come and enrich your travel experience with something different and get infused with the islanders strong sense of place. Yan Xu: "...A sense of place is a sense of the beauty and the wealth of phenomena that comprise a particular place..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ses Sucreres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing