We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing help when hotel wouldn't let us eat in the restaurant”
Review of Chepas Bar Cafe

Chepas Bar Cafe
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: All Homemade food including daily specials including curries and top quality steak dinners. Number one eatery in Es
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

What a amazing little place this is. My family and I had food here because the hotel family life mar de menorca wouldn't let us eat in the restaurant as our 9 month old son contracted hand, foot and mouth disease from the hotel. We had pizza, chips and garlic sauce and it was 10 out of 10. Mike and Ellen where very welcoming when I told them what was happening. If we ever return to menorca i will be going back for my pizza and sauce.

Thank mk2paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepasbar, Owner at Chepas Bar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear mk2paddy,

Thank you for your review, it is so timely indeed. The previous reviewer gave us a totally negative review for caring about our customers. We were accused of turning away customers, we never have or would do that. Obviously your son had contracted Hand Foot & Mouth whilst on holiday in the All Inclusive Hotel, we were happy to serve you take away food when the hotel you said had denied you service. Obviously eating in was out of the question, you understood that and respected us. We have indeed a sign outside regarding the virus, this is to protect our customers, ourselves and our business,
pretty sensible we think. When everyone else seems to be in denial about the outbreak we will continue to say it how it is even if we suffer negative reviews. If anyone is in doubt just google Hand Foot & Mouth using the hotel name. We hope your son makes a full recovery and suffers no longer from the virus. Sorry you holiday had a stressful ending. You very welcome to visit us again.
Mike & Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Shame there isn't a zero rating!

A window full of signs stating all the charges these guys enforce (even for booking a taxi!!) the words 'No Entry...' appear often.

Opening hours are false on here, they turn up around 3-4pm and close anything from 8pm.

Greeted with an A-Board in the doorway stating that anyone with Foot and Mouth or any family member with it are not allowed in! - strangest sign I've come across, this delightful happy couple (I wish) saw we were puzzled reading this and couldn't wait to tell us that the local hotel currently has Foot and Mouth (which is where we were staying) I have a baby of 11months so hearing this we were very worried, but no panic as we went to reception and were assured that it wasn't true - many thanks for the worry you caused with that!

Each day during our week there I made a point of walking past to see if anyone actually goes in to this 'friendly bar' and they don't, during the week there was a max of 3 people at any one time. With a hotel above them of min2000 guests this place should be full with a great atmosphere but sadly it's not, instead it's a couple with so much negativity, moaning about sweeping up fag ends and leaves before opening at 3pm on a Friday (yes I heard you!)

I think It's time to hand over guys to someone who wants to see happy customers eating and drinking in their bar.

6  Thank MartinKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepasbar, Owner at Chepas Bar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Martin,

What a foolish review. You are correct we do have a signs, one says " no shirt, no shoes, no service" seems pretty obvious for hygiene reasons and good manners apart from being the law for bars, cafeteria & restaurants. The other is on an A board, it denies entry to anyone including family members who have.contracted Hand Foot and Mouth, we will provide take away however. Does it really need explaining to you the reasons why ?. We are free from the virus and intend to stay that way, protecting our customers, ourselves and our business. You indicated the local hotel made light of the virus, however I understand they too now have warning signs, it's obvious your in denial and not concerned about the health of your family, ostrich and sand indeed. Yes we make a charge to non customers to call a taxi however free to customers what wrong with that, pretty reasonable as we're paying for the call. We are on reduced hours as the season is coming to a close, hours are clear on the door and always current. Please don't tell us what hours we should work especially as you have never been a customer. You must have had a really good holiday walking past storking us. The hotel does not accommodate 2000 people, more like 1300 at anyone time and we have many happy customers from them plus villas of course, read some of the reviews. Our negative reviews are normally generated by non customers or those with no manners or common sense. Finally we have owned Chepas Bar Cafe for 14 years, must be doing something right when other business are failing so we have no intention of selling. I'm sure your review will bring a smile to other reviewers, frankly its astonishing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is a great little place. Fun and cheap. Great British pub grub! And the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepasbar, Owner at Chepas Bar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Dan,

Thank you so much for your great review, pleased you enjoyed the food & drinks. We like to have a chat with our customers and even a laugh & joke, makes life more enjoyable.
Your welcome anytime.

Mike & Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We went in as customers and left as friends. Ellen and Mike are the most welcoming of bar owners. We just giggled from the moment we stepped in to the moment we left. We will never get that spikey helmet out of our heads ! Thank you we hope to see you again x

1  Thank Sherryl76166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepasbar, Owner at Chepas Bar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Sherryl & Dan, yes you arrived as customers and left as friends. From the very beginning you were polite and friendly, happy to join in with a joke or three. If all our customers were like you how easy life would be. We're always friendly to people if they are friendly to us, a lot of people never say hello and frankly are disrespectful, no tops, bare feet, some even try to bring their own drinks and food. Your parents taught you well,
It was a pleasure to have met you both. We hope you arrived back in the Uk and did not board the Manchester flight by mistake, we knew you were worried. Hope to see you again, keep in touch. Mike & Ellen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We had arranged to meet up with friends on the last day of their holiday to wish them well before they left. They had arranged to be in the bar watching the football. We arrived and started to order drinks, the bar owner informed me there was a 10 euro minimum whilst the football was on. there was five of us ordering so it didn't seem like it would be a problem. when the drinks arrived the bill came to 24 euro's which seemed a little steep for 1 beer, 3 cokes and a water.

It was at this point the owner stated that it was 10 euros per adult and if we didn't like it we could leave.... This was not explained well enough and left us with a tricky situation, we wanted to spend some time with our friends but did not want to pay over the odds just because the football was on. we decided to leave and the owners were rude and very uncompromising. we left and never returned.

We found out that after we left the couple at the bar had a disagreement with the way we were treated and that the rules had been deliberately misleading . If that person reads this review thank you for sticking up for us. This was the only negative part of what was a great family holiday.

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepasbar, Owner at Chepas Bar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Ross,

We have signage all over the establishment indicating it's a minimum spend of 10 Euro per adult whilst we a showing sporting events on TV. We even explained this to you but you deliberately decided to misunderstand. It is our policy that any adult inside the bar during a sporting event spends at least 10 Euro, you obviously did not want to spend this. The drinks you ordered were given away wth a donation to our Cancer Charity. We also had people on tables eating, you were all milling around and covered in SAND which is not adding to a relaxed & hygienic eating environment for our customers.

As for the gent at the bar, he had already visited us twice previously and was fully aware of our policy, he had paid reluctantly on these occasions but wanted to watch the football, he seized the opportunity to involve himself to mislead you too, he war barred for his behaviour, never to return. We never saw you before and hopefully never again. One last thing....we were never rude but will not tolerate inappropriate behaviour or disrespect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chepas Bar Cafe also viewed

 
Cala'n Porter, Menorca
 
Cala'n Porter, Menorca
 

Been to Chepas Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing