We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms in ancient walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Argomaniz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Argomaniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

To put together such well modernised rooms and bathrooms ,
and a great view over the plain to Vitoria ,
and to be located so close to the motorway network ,
and to offer and excellent top floor dining experience with local food choices and wines
as well as breakfast ,
and then to add to that pleasant efficient service from front desk to restaurant staff
.. all these made this a great stay
And to add to this the individuality of a converted chateau/castle type building with history .. all at a very sensible price .. I will be back and will not stay elsewhere if in the area
In warm weather the outside seating area overlooking the view would be nice too

Room Tip: Superior room with view is worth the small upcharge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Argomaniz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Mr.


We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.
We are really proud because of your congratulations that you have written them down

Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you soon.



Yours Faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed there for one night. Unfortunately we couldn't see the view because it was dark when we arrived and misty the following morning. Apart from that everything was as it should be. We were pleased to see that the restaurant had a special menu (to celebrate the defeat of Napoleon at Vittoria) which was a bit lighter than the main menu and both delicious and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed for three nights in December, 2013. Booked 2 nights, but liked it so much we negotiated one more night. Upgraded for a small fee to a HUGE room with a nice view toward Vitoria. Loved the large bathroom. Ethernet in room, but no Wi-Fi except in the lobby.
Ate dinner twice in the restaurant--had the special menu with wine included the first night; a la carte the second. Had one of the most inventive and delicious apple-based deserts ever. Something I would expect in San Francisco, not in Agromaniz!

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timm5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 - it was beautifully clean, accommodated myself, my husband and two children - we loved our stay. The breakfast was delicious and nothing to much for the staff, We will definitely stay again if we visit from the UK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Easy to get to by car and a very nice location. Love the vibe of the hotel being an palace. I actually like the bar service, they gave us a beeper so that if we wanted a drink we just buzzed them pretty cool. The dinner was excellent, but being an American every restaurant in Spain was excellent. No wifi in the rooms, that was a little "misadvertising". we had to go to the lobby. It also had a really nice courtyard too and the rooms were pretty nice (typical parador).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaiz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Argomaniz is definitely off the beaten path, accessible only by car. But it provides a wonderful spot from which to take day trips. Bilbao and San Sebastian on the coast are an easy hour’s drive away. The 17th century palace sits upon a hill providing a panoramic view to the west of Vitoria-Gasteiz and the Ebro Valley. To the east are the wooded uplands of the Sierra de Urbasa and the Rioja wine regions lie to the south. The hotel is thoroughly modern, the room was spacious, clean and quiet. The bathroom had a nice double sink! We had the dinner menu the first night, all regional specialties which were delicious –asparagus, partridge, and pears for dessert. The second night we opted for the tapas and a bottle of wine, a very pleasant dining experience. We chose the continental breakfast, but the options were substantial if you wanted more to eat more. Rich in history, dotted with small towns and ancient churches, the Parador de Argomaniz affords an opportunity to leisurely explore a beautiful part of Spain. So plan to spend more than a day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxford1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our second trip around the Parador hotels this year and this was our first hotel to ease us in gently! We flew into France and then drove to this as our first Spanish hotel (of 4) in northern Spain. The room was lovely and the shower in the bathroom was very powerful - always a good sign! The only problem was the sink - one of those push down contraptions which is supposed to hold the water in the sink but kept draining away - very annoying when trying to shave.
Another niggle was that wi-fi didn't work in the room - only in the bar/reception area and even then reception wasn't that strong.
Dinner was very good and breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice.
A good first stopover close to the motorway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argomaniz
7.1 mi away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,594 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Elorriaga
Hotel Palacio de Elorriaga
#6 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
151 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
932 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
633 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Zumeltzegi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Argomaniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Argomaniz

Address: Ctra. N-1. km. 363, 01192 Argomaniz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Argomaniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Argomaniz
Price Range: £54 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Argomaniz 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance ornaments preserve the nobility of the Parador, where Napoleon regained strength before attacking the town of Vitoria/Gasteiz. It is located in a vantage point overlooking the most beautiful parts of the plain of Alava, the Gorbea mountains and the Ullibarri Gamboa reservoir. The remarkable rooms feature wooden chests, furniture and floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Argomaniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Argomaniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing