We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlovento
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Upon leaving our Thomson flight the masses went one way onto coaches whilst we were met by a local taxi company and transferred to the hotel La Palma Romantica in Barlevento. It was clear from the journey north and upon arrival, the location was somewhat remote and following a walk down the mountain on Saturday morning to Barlevento it was also apparent the climb back to the hotel was somewhat challenging. The hotel is in an idyllic location with good facilities and we were fortunate to be allocated an upgraded room with stunning views down the mountain and to the ocean beyond, on clear days we were able to see the island of Tenerife. The staff were attentive and on one occassion even changed the menu to accommodate our requirement. With a car rented we were able to get out and discover this beautiful island although driving around the mountains was a little frightening. The weather was not too hot but perfect for the vacation and upon our return we have already discussed with our travel company a return visit in May next year. If you visit this island and go north as we did make sure you hire a car, it is a remote location and if you want to explore a car is the best way to do it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robbos47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Qualities: Location, natural surroundings and quiet
Defects: Old furnishing; room style largely outdated; very weak illumination; very unconfortable bed; overall "sad" athmosphere

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odradek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

La Palma is enchanting and wild...The northern part of the isle is still calmer. It is very green, so expect some rain or clouds from time to time. La palma romantica is the perfect setting for exploring this quit region. It is a 3-star property. It should get some minor updates, but people are friendly, food is good and the views to Barlovento and the nord coast are unforgettable.

Room Tip: High floor if possible: the suites are cheaper than standars room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripperBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just returned from a relaxing week in La Palma. We have been to the Island twice before and stayed in a Finca but this time opted for Hotel La Palma Romantica. The Hotel was small and comfortable which is what we wanted. We had a Junior Suite, a top floor large room with balcony. We had loads of space, sofa's and chairs, a TV although found it hard to locate anything other than World News to watch and a very good size bathroom. The room was warm with under floor heating and blackout curtains. The water pressure on the Island is variable so if you like a powerful shower be warned you won’t get one.
We decided to select half board and chose to eat in every night. The food was very good, all home cooked. The hotel served breakfast and dinner over a good period of time so catered for the early or late riser and those who preferred to eat earlier in the evening than others. It was my husband’s birthday and our wedding anniversary while we were away, the hotel staff were alerted to this and provided us with a table set with flowers, wine, cava and a special celebration cake. The waiters were excellent very helpful and friendly, a wonderful bunch.
The gym was a bit tired, I would have quiet liked a treadmill or cross trainer (that's me being picky) but the indoor pool and Jacuzzi looked ok although we didn’t use them.
I would pick this Hotel over and above any of those in the tourist areas of the Island anytime, quiet, peaceful and friendly.
The weather in the north can be varied and unpredictable but with a car you can chase the sun. But if you dont want to drive around there is loads of great walks nearby to keep you fit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We chose to stay in the North of the island to get away from the main tourist area and high-rise hotels. This hotel had a nice, family-run, small feel to it - with reasonable facilities for a hotel of it's size. It's getting a little dated/worn in places, but was clean. Our room was a nice size and very comfortable. We had a balcony with a view of the garden - but the sea and hill views were rather obscured by the trees just outside the balcony. Ask for the top floor if you don't want people clumping around above you - as the floors were tiled with rugs, so not great at noise-cancelling, plus the sound-proofing to next-door rooms wasn't great. We stayed in November, and it was too cold to use the pool outside, but we used the indoor one a lot - and the jazuzzi was great for soothing the legs after a long steep walk. There's not much to do in the local vicinity, except walk. The local village/town has a very small supermarket but i didn't like the look of any of the cafe bars, so we ate in every night. The food was really nice, evening meals were freshly prepared and always piping hot, but i would have liked to have seen more local dishes. I'm vegetarian, and was well catered for - with the hotel making dishes that were not on the menu to give me some variety. I liked the half-board option - as you didn't have to have it all week, but could decide each day (by noon or 2pm I think) if you wanted to go half-board (set menu), eat out, or choose from their regular menu. The breakfast was buffet-style, with a range of cereals, toast you made yourself, a variety of eggs, plus meats/cheeses, juices, fresh-fruit, lovely bread rolls. The owners were very friendly - the husband was from the UK and the wife was Spanish. He gave us lots of ideas about places to go etc. The ony other improvement i'd make would be not to charge for the sauna.

Room Tip: top floor (see main review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank info-hoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This Hotel is ideally situated in the north of the island. About 600mtrs above sea level overlooking the small town of Barlovento and the Atlantic ocean. The room we had was a junior site, very spacious, with a pitched pine ceiling. This, and the 4 piece bathroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was under-floor heating, which was on when we were there. (November). It does rain in November, but we found that when it was cooler and raining up in the hills, just round the corner and lower down towards the coast it was in the 20s and fine and sunny. The food was good, with a choice from 2 menus for the evening meal, you could mix and match the courses, and these were chosen after breakfast for the evening meal. There is a packed lunch available. The Hotels amenities included a swimming pool, spa tub, gardens, sun loungers and various spa amenities. There was a table tennis table for enthusiasts. The proprietors and staff were very good. La Palma is a steep island, so fitness is needed for many walks, The roads are quite narrow and steep, but there was not a lot of traffic which made getting about quite safe. A drive up to the crater is a must.
This hotel doesn't seem to be in the big tour operators brochures, and we booked it through Travel Repubic. We flew on a First Choice (Thomsons) directly from Manchester.

Room Tip: The junior suite overlooking Barlovento is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The hotel was a gorgeous well run family business, really friendly staff, so knowledgable of the area. They're happy to share advice on the best places to visit. My favourite was the natural swimming pools at La Fajana. Stock up well on the ample buffet breakfast as you'll be out all day driving, hiking, sight seeing, there's so much to see, the island is incredible, with acres of pine forrests, jungle, plantations, fruit trees and bushes everywhere, caves, observatories right at the top, the most most stunning views from up there. We only had a short break, and with so much to see and do, we'll be going back. Would definately re-book in at La Romantica, the hotel we thought was spot on, our room was beautiful with balconies looking down over the village of Barlovento and out accross the forrests, amazing fragrant pine roof, you have robes in your room so you're well equipped to use the spa. Evening meal in the hotel was excellent, all fresh local produce. All in all, really enjoyable stay, wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlovento
22.8 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,792 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
258 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
580 reviews
12.6 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,006 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Benahoare
Hotel Benahoare
#1 of 19 in Los Llanos de Aridane
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palma Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palma Romantica

Address: Las Llanadas S/N, 38726 Barlovento, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Barlovento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlovento
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Palma Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Palma Romantica a spectacular mountain hotel offering a home from home atmosphere. Situated in the north of the Island "La Palma", located 1 km from the village of Barlovento, with unbeatable panoramic views to the sea and mountains, the hotel is surrounded by the wonderful Laurisilva forest. Couples, Individuals, nature lovers, walkers and people wanting tranquility and good food will find this hotel the perfect place for their holidays. All rooms have a balcony or a terrace, with marvellous views over the ocean and to the mountains and are equipped with heating in the winter, telephone, satellite TV, flat screen televisions, mini-bar on request, safety deposit box (local charge), complete bathroom with bath, shower and hair dryer. Double rooms, Single rooms, Junior Suites and 3 Bungalow suites with private jacuzzi and fireplace. Restaurant and lounge bar with chimney, TV and games room, Internet corner, Wifi available in the lounge bar and reception area, tennis courts, table tennis, sun terrace, astronomy observatory (for use when the professional astronomer is staying in the hotel), outside swimming pool, boutique, attractive sub tropical gardens, Free car parking. Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gymnasium, massage service with various treatments to choose from and a indoor pool heated to 27 degrees. (Sauna, steam room, massage are with charge payable locally) restaurant with A La Carte menu, where you can find a selection of international and traditional Canarian dishes. The beach of Puerto Espinola and Los Tilos nature reserve is 15 minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Palma Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palma Romantica Barlovento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing