We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrise Apartments
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grace(Sfakaki)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ekavi Hotel(Rethymnon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
28
16
11
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
11
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpool area isnice beachnikostavernasbeachesgreekcreterethymnonfurnituresunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Sunrise Apartments in Sfakaki, Crete from 28-Jul - 04-Aug 2011 and had a fantastic. We were looking for a quiet holiday in a small Crete village and we were not disappointed.

The apartments were clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the sea. The resort had a few tavernas serving good quality food at reasonable prices. The beach based near a larger hotel was better and sandy etc, and the sunbeds were free if you were buying drinks from the bar.

For a more lively nightlife then Rethymnon was half an hour bus ride away and the buses were very regular and ran up to 11.30 at night. Rethymnon is a lovely town with tiny streets filled with souveniers.

The apartments were set on a hillside which was steep but not impossible to climb.

If you want lively nightlife and a bustling resort full of drunken revellers go to Malia. If you wish to experience a slice of greek life with lively nightlife accessible then its an ideal base. Apartments were quiet and there were always sunbeds available, and the pool was lovely, we had this to ourselves at times.

:otel staff didn't speak much English but were friendly and we managed to communicate. This added to the charm. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phoebe4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Me and my friend arrived at the apartments on a Friday afternoon to find only the cleaner around. She showed us to our rooms but could not speak any English. In fact, the only person that could speak English is the barman (who was very helpfull and lovely). This is the main problem with the apartments as nothing can get sorted because non of the management can speak any English.

I found the rooms very nice with a brilliant view! It did only get cleaned once in the week we were there and the bathroom was a bit dirty but apart from that everything else was fine. The pool was lovely and it is only a 2 min walk to the nearest pub/restaurant. The hill is hard work but i didn't see it as a problem.


All in all i enjoyed my stay but i would not go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faireyc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We booked this through Thomson/First Choice. We knew things weren't quite right with this place when we were transferred (without any warning from the Rep) from the 'Transfer Coach' to a taxi, at a nearby hotel, to be driven the 2km up to the Sun Rise Apartments. On arrival, which was after midnight, there was, unsurprisingly no-one around. If it wasn't for the taxi driver calling a number, on a business card that was stuck to a door, and speaking to the owner (we think as he didn't speak any English.) who came out and showed us to our rooms. As the rep hadn't accompanied us we felt, quite frankly that we'd been dumped and it was a case of sort yourselves out!

The room itself was basic and looked dated. Standard of maintenance was poor and looked nothing like the bright and airy brochure pics. The bed was very firm with firm pillows. The shower hose was split. There was a loose electrical pull cord above the shower, which didn't seem to do anything any way. The kitchenette had basic crockery, cutlery, pots and pans. However, there was no corkscrew, dishcloth or tea towel. A previous reviewer mentioned that you need to hold the shower head whilst using it. Our rep explained that this is a Greek thing!! The brochure, and Thomson websites, states a maid service three times a week. Our room was cleaned once in seven days! Air-conditioning is available but this is €12 per day!

Take heed of the note about the steep hill. It's very steep and when carrying shopping, or luggage, in 25°C (or a lot higher) it is very noticeable. Parking for hire cars is very tight; however, if you ask the rep, you may be able to use the slightly larger parking at the Radamanthy's Residence further up the hill!

On a plus note, the pool was refreshing and received sun virtually all day. As the brochure said this is a budget place, ideal for those who just need a base for the week and are not bothered about a night-life. There are a couple of tavernas at the bottom of the hill that do good food.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

just returned from sunrise u must have a sense of humour if not cry thomson rep?didnt see anyone after airport had to have detective skills to find out information about resort and apartments no reception that was promised 2 days later found out it was in next apartments different name 200 meters uphill apartments not 2 bad occational stench of sewerage in toilet shower room about 5 restaurants within half a mile walk no entertainment in any had meal in various then went back to balcony for rest of evening rather than sit chatting in restaurant because nothing else to do i would say if u want a place to explore crete and just sleep this may be passable as a brit i would have forgot my language had it not been for the great scandinavians i speak english only they speak various note thomson say uk people only 98 percent swedish but they where great thomson liers if ur not a mountaineer dont go there try climbing 1 in 5 hill carrying a load of shopping from supermarket half a mile away alright if ur a fitness freak but watch ur heart lol we had to make the best of this holiday or be miserable for 14 days stiff upper lip and all that if u dont want bus rides and taxis dont go there last holiday with thomsononly only plus meeting great swedish people thomson wheres my refund?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disguntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Pros:
+ Nice view over the ocean.

Cons:
- No info when we should check out. We and other guest was yelled at by the angry hotel personel.
- 10 km outside Rethymnon. You have to rent a car to get to the good beaches.
- The reception was at a hotel 200 m up a hill.
- The handwasher was not clean when we arrived.
- not so nice neighbourhood. Looked like a backyard.
- The warm water in the shower was empty after 1 min showering.
- AC didn't work
- Small 14 inch TV. Just greek channels.
- Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonobovariant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews