We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Danaos Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sfakaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danaos Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We spent our honeymoon in Danaos Beach Hotel in June 2011.
We liked this hotel because of the following reasons:
- It was really close to the sea and the scene was just beautiful. The hotel is directly on the beach which is covered by sand, however there are many stones in the first few meters in the water, so water shoes are recommended.
- Our room was practically furnished with a small kitchenette and it was always clean because the cleaning staff came every day.
- This is a family run hotel and the owners, Kostas and Katarina, were always very nice to us. Once they organised a party for the guests with greek salad, melone wine and raki and of course with very good greek music. It was good to stay in a hotel where the athmosphere is so friendly.

So everything was very good in connection with the hotel BUT Sfakaki is a big NOTHING. There is not any nice street to walk, the supermarket is quite far away the hotel (there is a small one near the hotel but the assortment is very small) and there isn't anything to see. It has only one advantage that is close to Rethimno.
So I only recommend this hotel to those who would like to rent a car and go to trips alone or to those who do not want to step out of the hotel and just want to sunbathe and relax on the beach or next to the pool all the day.
Actually we were the first type so we rented car and made some trips alone.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank lilyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This hotel, as sais everyone, is runned by family. They are very friendly and helpful people. Everything is really nice and clean. The beach is cozy, The sea is wright under the windows. I suggest it for those who are interested i warm and quiet holidays, also for those who want to travel around, but not for those, who just goes for a holiday to stay in the hotel and go nowhere just to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rimgaudas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at Danaos hotel in July for 1 week. This hotel will be excellent for those who wants to have peaceful and quiet holidays as well as for those who wants to travel around Crete.
We stayed in sea side room. Room was equipped with kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave) as well as with TV (SAT TV not very good quality), air conditioning and balcony with sea view. Air condition costs 6 EUR per day. Room was quite big and it was cleaned every day. There is WIFI down stairs.
In breakfasts you will have traditional Greek bed, boiled eggs and bacon,cheese and ham, self maid Greek pastry, jams and local yogurt. We enjoyed breakfast a lot and always ate looking to the see.
For dinner we recommend to go to taverna Adriana, excellent food, excellent service. Local people also are eating there.
Sfakaki is small village, so if you want to by smth in supermarket you need to by tickets for bus in local shop and go to Plakias or Rethimnon. It is only 10-15 minutes from Sfakaki.
We spend 4 days traveling around and 3 days lying near the pool. We will recommend to stay in Danaos beach for all who wants peace and feel real Greek atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EvitaRiga_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

OK - we booked a cheap and cheerful holiday - we checked the 'hotel' out on Trip Advisor - and had no preconceived concerns. We were initially the only people staying in the studio apartments which are very basic but clean with bedding and towels changed regularly.. The studio apartments are separated from the B & B rooms by the garden. We had the corner apartment which has two balconies and the best views of the garden and sea. The pool area is rather cramped because no-one could get onto the **beach (!), but clean and tidy. As self caterers, we chose to have breakfasts at the hotel - and they were suffiicient - fried bacon, eggs, etc, fruit, continental style offerings, yoghurts, etc. Very good value for 4 euros. There were a number of gripes with the room itself - no plug for the basin in the bathroom - broken clothes hooks, etc - minor quibbles - but the hotel is classed as only a two star. However, the hosts, Caterina and Costas were very pleasant and helpful at all times.
The downsides, well, unless you have mountaineering gear, it is impossible to get onto the **beach - the 'steps' have disappeared, the beach was extremely narrow and filthy, covered with all kinds of debris and detritis. Any photographs of sunbeds on the beach are sadly out of date. The owners admitted this and couldn't explain/understand where their 'beach' had disappeared to.The nearby 'supermarket' is full of empty shelves - and the bus tickets have to be purchased there. Information of this kind would be very useful if available in the hotel, The nearby Taverna Adriana is OK and tries to cater for any special dietary requirements as does Demitrios tavern.
Sfekaki is remote, but luckily on the bus route to Rethymnon and Platanes. Rethymnon is great for shops and the Venetian harbour is beautiful. Platanes is where to go for a decent beach plus (if you're self catering) a number of decent supermarkets. A trip to Asteri village is worth it - there is a super taverna which is 'attached' to a tiny museum - we had an excellent meal/evening there. Try the lemon raki - if offered!
Would we return, probably not.
ps - Never, ever fly with Viking !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just got back from a weeks stay at Hotel Danaos Beach with my girlfriend and we were both very happy with our stay. The location is litteraly right by the beach and most rooms have views off the ocean.

We chose a room with a balcony and it was well worth the small extra fee(200 DKK a head for a week). We woke up and fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean and enjoyed the fantastic sunsets over the Cretan Sea.

The rooms function as small apartments within the hotel. The rooms are nice, clean and of a decent size with a small kitchen with fridge, kettle etc.The bathrooms are average sized with a shower.

It's a family run hotel and it tells by the service. We were always met with a smile and the staffs best efforts to assist us.

You have to be aware that the hotel is located 30 min outside Rethymon but busses stop by Dimitri's Tavern close to the hotel with regular intervals. We didn't mind the small journey but some might.

If you go into Rethymon to eat i would recommend going to the Melody Garden in the old city or Lemon Tree Garden(try the organic local white wine), also in the old town. Both offer great meals and atmosphere at affordable prices.

All in all i would recommend this for anyone who's looking for a great getaway at an even greater price without the need of a luxury hotel. If i go back i would love to stay at Hotel Danaos Beach again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Viking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Væsterås
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2008

This was a really nice little hotel.

Me and my girlfriend went on a unspecified trip, so we did not really know where we would end up :)

Our stay for the week was placed at Danaos Beach Hotel.

As we arrived late around 3am we where welcomed in a really good way and showed the way up to our rooms. The smell of the sea was obvious however we couldn't see any.

The first sight of the room was a nice suprise to start with, reallt spacious and with a nice big roomy balcony with a view over the pool. The rooms include pretty much whatever you would and wouldn't need ona vecation. Small cooking plate, some plates, a couple of glasses,freezer,refrigderator,AC(for a small fee per 24h), Phone and a TV.

Waking up the moring after we look out the balcony and realize we ended up in 1 of 3 rooms with a wonderful view right over the pool and the nearby beach.

This view was really a wonderful sight, and definitly added to our experience here! Too bad there are only 3 rooms like that.

The people working at the hotel are very helpful even with lacking English ther was never any problem with communication.
And they are really looking to be helpful!

The bus stops not far away from the hotel, and you have a handfull of tavernas and supermarkets around if you don't mind a stroll.

I would definitly recommend the small taverna right next to the hotell, not entierly sure of the name... however you cant miss it.

Also, I must say there is a taverna further away(would guess about 1000m or something like that) named Eleven.
This taverna is a small, really cozy one placed right by the beach with a beautiful view over the sunset.
Small menu and real local wine!

If you take a stroll down the other way you will not have far to go to rethmynons nightclubs - there are 4 of them placed in a line basicly Cant remember the name of the first one but that seemed to be the most popular one, followed by "The island" "Mambo and "Siesta".

They are located a small 5 min walk away, and according to a cab driver these clubs where alot better than the one placed in town.
But as home these are more active Fridays and saturdays!

Have lots of wonderful pictures from the hotel and trip however not on this computer. But I would higly recommend this place if you want a nice relaxing vecation and don't feel like beeing in the midst of a city! :)

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileynator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

Danaos Beach Hotel is located in Sfakaki village, 7 km east of Rethimnon. Danaos is a simple budget hotel, 3* or less, consisting of two buildings.
Pros: absolutely not crowded, quiet place;
spaceous rooms (with kitchen corner, tv, freezer, AC (separately paid, 6 Euro/day), balcony);
parking lot (rather small);
small but good outdoor pool;
very close to sandy beach;
bus stop, a couple of good tavernas and tiny "supermarket" as well as gas station are nearby;
hotel stuff was really helpful though they spoke English... let's say, very a little. Still smiles and gestures always helped.
Contras:
noisy place - crossroad of Old and New National Roads is just 100 m off the hotel;
breakfast - though buffet it was very modest, no chance to get fruits, yougurts (except Greek yougurt), juices, bacon or simply scrambled eggs; still, if you are a connoisseur of corn flakes with milk for breakfast 7 days a week - you will be ok;
drowsy evenings - even pool bar was always empty, seems all hotel habitants spent evenings/nights in Rethymnon;
twin bed i.e two separate beds, well... some people like it, not us.
So: a good stay at more than moderate price; can be recommended if brainwash is needed or if reading a book by the pool is considered worthwhile for spending your leave .

  • Liked — Good ratio of quality/price for to-do-nothing vacation stay
  • Disliked — Road noise around the clock
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crete_tramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sfakaki
0.2 mi away
Thalassi Hotel-Apts
Thalassi Hotel-Apts
#1 of 8 in Sfakaki
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#5 of 8 in Sfakaki
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agelia Beach Hotel
Agelia Beach Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sfakaki
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ekavi Hotel
Ekavi Hotel
#102 of 175 in Rethymnon
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Dream Apartments
Blue Dream Apartments
#78 of 175 in Rethymnon
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaos Beach Hotel

Property: Danaos Beach Hotel
Address: Sfakaki, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Sfakaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Hotel Class:2 star — Danaos Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Danaos Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture - Sfakaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing