We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danaos Beach Hotel Appts”
Review of Danaos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danaos Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Danaos Beach Hotel Appts”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have just come back from spending a week at this Hotel, we stayed in a self catering appt.
The host's are really nice people, and couldn't do enough for us, engaging us in conversation at breakfast and in the evening teaching us the Greek words for Hello good nite etc.
The appt was very clean, the air con worked very well and the shower was very good always plenty of hot water. Towels were changed regularly.
The area is very quite, three Tavernas within 5 mins walking distance. We only ate in the first two. They were very good both food and hospitality. There is a well stocked supermarket too.
If you want a loud nite life, then this isn't the place to be, but if like us, you want a totally relaxing time, then you wont be disappointed.
There is a big town 20 mins away on the bus ( Rethymno which leaves every half hr and the last bus back is mid-nite cost just 1.60 euro each way) with plenty of tourist attractions and trip booking places.
Time spent on the sandy beach, dipping in the clear shallow sea was really relaxing. There's a beach bar that served food, drinks and hired sunbeds. If you prefer there are subeds around the pool at the appartment.

Room Tip: All the appts have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just got back from a two-week stay at Danaos Beach with our family (two kids of 3 and 6 years old). Our room was what we expected it to be - two bedrooms, small kitchenette and WC/bathroom. The cleaning staff come and clean up daily, towels are changed every second day. We went there self-catering, so I am not sure about the breakfast. One (and I should say the only) thing that came as a slight disappointment was the fact that the street (the road connecting Heraklion to Rethymno) is really close. There are two buildings in the hotel - the first one close to the sea (which is pictured on most ads ;)) and the second one farther from the sea and just 20 m from the road. As our apartment was in the second one, we "enjoyed" the traffic noise throughout our stay. Though I must say it was better for its monotony than raving discos in the neighbourhood or permanently drunk neighbours next door (had some experience of both :)) But... we would have loved to stay in the other building and listen to the sounds of the sea instead :D Next to the hotel there is taverna Andriana - yummy food, friendly owners, very good prices. On Thursdays you get wild karaoke evening there, so the music and singing could be heard until 00.30 :) There are two more tavernas in the vicinity - 50 m behind Andriana (a bit more expensive) and next to the bus stop (haven't tried it though). The shop next to the bus stop offers only the basics - water, some fruit (depending on the day of the week), bread, milk... So you don't go starving after arrival :) We chose to go to a shop situated 10-15 minute walk in the direction of Rethymnon (near Grecotel). You don't need a bus and the walk is good in the evening :) The hotel is great for those who doesn't care much about constant supply of food (as in AI), who just want to relax and enjoy the sea, or who rent a car and travel around (did a bit of both actually - could recomment Greco Car rental in Adelianos Kampos (2 bus stops away) for good prices and friendly service).

Room Tip: Get the room in the seaside building to listen to the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bruzhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I was here in 2011 September for a week, and it is a really quiet, familiar, safety, beautiful small hotel with nice crew, super beach, comfortable rooms, clean and nice pool. Rethymno is about 25 minutes from here by bus, it costs 1,6 euro. I recommend this hotel for new couples, solo travellers, disables people, or who like peace and quiet. Have a nice trip!

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms stay sea side are the best, but I lived in a half-suteren room, and it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We spent our honeymoon in Danaos Beach Hotel in June 2011.
We liked this hotel because of the following reasons:
- It was really close to the sea and the scene was just beautiful. The hotel is directly on the beach which is covered by sand, however there are many stones in the first few meters in the water, so water shoes are recommended.
- Our room was practically furnished with a small kitchenette and it was always clean because the cleaning staff came every day.
- This is a family run hotel and the owners, Kostas and Katarina, were always very nice to us. Once they organised a party for the guests with greek salad, melone wine and raki and of course with very good greek music. It was good to stay in a hotel where the athmosphere is so friendly.

So everything was very good in connection with the hotel BUT Sfakaki is a big NOTHING. There is not any nice street to walk, the supermarket is quite far away the hotel (there is a small one near the hotel but the assortment is very small) and there isn't anything to see. It has only one advantage that is close to Rethimno.
So I only recommend this hotel to those who would like to rent a car and go to trips alone or to those who do not want to step out of the hotel and just want to sunbathe and relax on the beach or next to the pool all the day.
Actually we were the first type so we rented car and made some trips alone.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank lilyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This hotel, as sais everyone, is runned by family. They are very friendly and helpful people. Everything is really nice and clean. The beach is cozy, The sea is wright under the windows. I suggest it for those who are interested i warm and quiet holidays, also for those who want to travel around, but not for those, who just goes for a holiday to stay in the hotel and go nowhere just to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rimgaudas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at Danaos hotel in July for 1 week. This hotel will be excellent for those who wants to have peaceful and quiet holidays as well as for those who wants to travel around Crete.
We stayed in sea side room. Room was equipped with kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave) as well as with TV (SAT TV not very good quality), air conditioning and balcony with sea view. Air condition costs 6 EUR per day. Room was quite big and it was cleaned every day. There is WIFI down stairs.
In breakfasts you will have traditional Greek bed, boiled eggs and bacon,cheese and ham, self maid Greek pastry, jams and local yogurt. We enjoyed breakfast a lot and always ate looking to the see.
For dinner we recommend to go to taverna Adriana, excellent food, excellent service. Local people also are eating there.
Sfakaki is small village, so if you want to by smth in supermarket you need to by tickets for bus in local shop and go to Plakias or Rethimnon. It is only 10-15 minutes from Sfakaki.
We spend 4 days traveling around and 3 days lying near the pool. We will recommend to stay in Danaos beach for all who wants peace and feel real Greek atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EvitaRiga_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

OK - we booked a cheap and cheerful holiday - we checked the 'hotel' out on Trip Advisor - and had no preconceived concerns. We were initially the only people staying in the studio apartments which are very basic but clean with bedding and towels changed regularly.. The studio apartments are separated from the B & B rooms by the garden. We had the corner apartment which has two balconies and the best views of the garden and sea. The pool area is rather cramped because no-one could get onto the **beach (!), but clean and tidy. As self caterers, we chose to have breakfasts at the hotel - and they were suffiicient - fried bacon, eggs, etc, fruit, continental style offerings, yoghurts, etc. Very good value for 4 euros. There were a number of gripes with the room itself - no plug for the basin in the bathroom - broken clothes hooks, etc - minor quibbles - but the hotel is classed as only a two star. However, the hosts, Caterina and Costas were very pleasant and helpful at all times.
The downsides, well, unless you have mountaineering gear, it is impossible to get onto the **beach - the 'steps' have disappeared, the beach was extremely narrow and filthy, covered with all kinds of debris and detritis. Any photographs of sunbeds on the beach are sadly out of date. The owners admitted this and couldn't explain/understand where their 'beach' had disappeared to.The nearby 'supermarket' is full of empty shelves - and the bus tickets have to be purchased there. Information of this kind would be very useful if available in the hotel, The nearby Taverna Adriana is OK and tries to cater for any special dietary requirements as does Demitrios tavern.
Sfekaki is remote, but luckily on the bus route to Rethymnon and Platanes. Rethymnon is great for shops and the Venetian harbour is beautiful. Platanes is where to go for a decent beach plus (if you're self catering) a number of decent supermarkets. A trip to Asteri village is worth it - there is a super taverna which is 'attached' to a tiny museum - we had an excellent meal/evening there. Try the lemon raki - if offered!
Would we return, probably not.
ps - Never, ever fly with Viking !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sfakaki
0.1 mi away
Thalassi Hotel-Apts
Thalassi Hotel-Apts
#1 of 8 in Sfakaki
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 8 in Sfakaki
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agelia Beach Hotel
Agelia Beach Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sfakaki
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaos Beach Hotel

Property: Danaos Beach Hotel
Address: Sfakaki, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Sfakaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Hotel Class:2 star — Danaos Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Danaos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danaos Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture - Sfakaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing