We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small with a quality feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balneario Pozo de la Salud
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabinosa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small with a quality feel”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I wasn't sure which hotel to pick, but am so glad I settled on this. It's small and has a personal feel. Built on a wide (by Hierro standards) flat coastal area, the building is well designed and constructed, furnished to a high standard and clean. The central hall/atrium is planted with lush foliage and even a palm tree, giving a lovely tropical look with the wow factor. Rear rooms look out onto the pool area and up to the mountains, the car park being to one side. Sea views from the other side are as stunning as described by others. In our upstairs sea view room we hardly heard the crashing waves with the windows closed.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful despite our inadequate Spanish; all receptionists bar one had enough English to help out when needed. Service only occasionally fell below expectations; replenishing the mini bar water was not automatic, a bulb was replaced on request but they did not get the bathroom extractor to work.
The food is indeed the weak point and I suggest booking B & B as we did. That way we could eat in (3 courses for €18) but had the choice of going over the road to the bar restaurant or we ate out at lunchtime and had a snack in the room or tapas over the road later. However, if you go intending to use the spa a lot, booking half board will get you good reductions on treatments.
We ate in 3 times and mostly enjoyed what we ordered. However, the menu is short and only changes once a week, on Friday. On half board it could get very boring. On the plus side, the wine is reasonably priced and we loved the local ones. The waiter is a lovely guy who makes up for the lack of choice with his welcoming helpful service.
A word of warning: if exploring the island by car from here, think carefully before taking the shortest route to the other side of the island on the HI500 beyond the Playa del Verodal turning. Despite being an experienced mountain driver I was scared by the vertiginous unfenced drops from this single track road which has a lot more hairpin bends than most maps suggest.

Room Tip: Unless you fear being disturbed by the sound of the waves, do ask for a sea view room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
64
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in February 2013. El Hierro is a great place to visit and off the beaten track - but the road surfaces are excellent - and there are really interesting contrasts in scenery. This hotel combines modern and traditional. It is right on the ocean - make sure you ask for an ocean facing room. Its setting matches that of the Parador, which is on the other side of the island, but at about half the price. It was very quiet when we were there and the staff were excellent. Although El Hierro seems to be a small island, it does take time to drive around so it may be a good idea to stay in a variety of places if staying here for a few days. We would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay and, if/when we come back, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackNicklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

It was a real treat to stay in this hotel in the remote north-west of the beautiful island of El Hierro. I was given a perfect room on the ground floor with patio which overlooked the crashing waves (in my opinion better than a first floor room without balcony). It was fantastic. The welcome by friendly staff was lovely. The room was immaculately clean with furnishings of extremely high quality and comfortable beds. The minibar and air conditioning worked well. Every aspect was luxurious. While I found that it was too far/dark to walk into Sabinosa for a beer in the evenings, the hotel itself was just perfect for relaxation. My only criticism is that I did not like the restaurant. I found the food limited and unexciting with the biggest problem that the portions were too small (I went back to my room to snack afterwards!). In any case, I recommend the hotel very highly and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the ground floor as there are private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed in December 2012 for 4 days. The hotel is located about 35 minute drive from the airport right next to the ocean. I had a room overlooking the sea on the second floor, with a view towards La Palma (I think) which you could see in the morning. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable with a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities.

The whole island of El Hierro is very peaceful and quiet and the hotel reflects this, in addition it is a health spa and a whole range of treatments can be booked at fairly reasonable rates.

I had half board at the hotel, breakfast was a cold buffet and catered more to German tastes, but there was plenty to choose from. Evening meal has a set menu with four or five choices for three courses which is served to you. The food was very good and served promptly. The restaurant staff don't speak English (or German) at all, but we all seemed to manage with the few words of Spanish that we knew. The receptionist does speak English so any problems and they just called her over. There is also free wi-fi in the reception area, but no computer so you need to bring your own phone/ipad/laptop to use it.

The island of El Hierro and this hotel are ideal for a tranquil break from city and work life and stresses and I would love to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorkGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

A fantastic place! Located right over the sea, right at the foot of a mountain, with no crowd in sight and unpenetrable to irritation, which electronic devices bring ( the last possible signal which is GPS ceases about 100 meter from hotel), - this hotel is the perfect refuge to rest from a city life. The ideal place to keep silence and listen only to your thoughts - and to the sea.
All things which are essential in hotels are present: rooms are comfortable though not very spatious, breakfasts are simple but sufficient, and it is clean and flowers in the hall are beautiful. And people - I don't want to call them staff. They are really wonderful - it was a pleasure for us to contact with them every time we did. Those women are exactly that type of host, which every traveller is hoping to find in a new place - people, who are hospitable, but not because of job obligations. And do not bother about language barrier, they are not a fluent english-speakers, but they have a dictionary! I was on Hierro only for three days but now I love it. And this hotel is indeed a significant part of my impression of the whole island - they are perfectly congruent. I am going to return here.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location is stunning. Leave your window open at night and with the right wind, the ocean water sprays your window. This hotel is secluded and so peaceful and quite - the only sound - the waves crashing in.

The rooms were perfect size, very comfy beds. Clean, excellent service.

This hotel has made one of the most lasting impressions on me ever.

The views, the views the views. Fantastico!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCSPOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabinosa
0.0 mi away
Parador Hotel El Hierro
Parador Hotel El Hierro
#1 of 4 in Valverde
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ida Ines
Hotel Ida Ines
#1 of 1 in Frontera
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa El Mocanal
Hotel Villa El Mocanal
#3 of 4 in Valverde
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
988 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Brujita
La Brujita
#2 of 2 in Tigaday
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balneario Pozo de la Salud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balneario Pozo de la Salud

Property: Balneario Pozo de la Salud
Address: El Pozo de la Salud s/n, 38911 Sabinosa, El Hierro, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > El Hierro > Sabinosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabinosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balneario Pozo de la Salud 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balneario Pozo de la Salud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balneario Pozo De La Salud El Hierro/Sabinosa, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing