We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews on trip advisor we were unsure of how our holiday would be, as we are a young couple going to a family resort. However as soon as we arrived to hotel orquidea after a quick 20 min transfer, we were impressed with a large and immaculately clean room with a sea view. Our room was attended to by maids everyday of our stay! The food at the hotel was great, a lot of choice and something for everyone, as well as a seperate buffet for children (which I would imagine makes life easier for any parent.) We also chose to eat in the adult only area of the restaurant which gave a bit more privacy and relaxed setting. I would definitely go all inclusive at this hotel as there was endless food, ice cream and drinks from 7:30 am until gone 11 pm. The entertainments team at the hotel really made our holiday; activities were running throughout the day and in the evening which gave everybody a chance to be involved without feeling forced. This hotel was ideal for families and kids but we were surprised at how much we enjoyed the family entertainment as a couple. Pools were clean and a lifeguard was on duty;there were enough sunbeds to go around too. The spa at the hotel comes at extra charge but was only 9euros for the days use. It gives an opportunity for time out in an adult environment if you want to escape children and the crowd. The beach is just down from the pool, however it is a pebble beach. Overall we don't have a single complaint about our holiday at hotel orquidea! Both Thompson and hotel staff, the food and the hotel exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone. However don't go if you aren't willing to get involved with a bit of entertainment!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    541
    307
    92
    68
See reviews for
1,114
260
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent 2 weeks here in the middle of the school holidays. Yes the hotel was busy (but you expect that with a good hotel in the peak of the summer) but it was also spotlessly clean, friendly and well managed.

We asked for a room with a pool view and had exactly that (with the beach view included too!) rooms were spacious set out on 2 levels (ok for my kids but could have been awkward for a toddler learning to walk!) very clean, daily maid service.

Food on offer was great something for everyone. Kids meals included all the usual options fish fingers, nuggets, smiley faces but also had well presented fruits, veg etc (first time my 7 yr old has picked broccoli himself!!!) Fab desserts and brilliant options for adults to pick from. Bottles of cava for breakfast if you wanted! Carvery and fresh fish daily. Al a carte option once a week with all inclusive package which was well worth it.

Pools were all good 3 to pick from (2 main with a baby/toddler pool). Couple of kids had accidents in the pool during our stay and the lifeguards immediately closed the pools and started cleaning and chlorinating before they would re-open the pool.

Had to get up by 7 to get a sunbed with a brolly so the kids could have some shade - that was a shame but ironically it was always the Brits that were up first!

Entertainment was fantastic with a mixture of the reps doing performances and some outside professionals (hypnotists, singers, illusionists etc). Big Daddy was the main entertainments manager and a real sport dressing up daily for the acquafit. My kids loved him and it really made their holiday. No hassle from the reps, plenty to do if you wanted to be involved but they didn't pressurise you.

All round great holiday and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentyatlonghirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Hotel Orquidea. We had a really lovely holiday.
Lets start with all the positives:
The hotel bedrooms were excellent, spotlessly clean with great facilities. We had a split level room with a separate lounge area on the lower level. Our room had a tv, DVD plater, air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, a safe, fridge and ironing board.
The food was excellent, there was an amazing amount of choice. It was all clearly labelled and catered for all kinds of dietary requirements.
The Thomspons Kids Club was run extremely well. Our little 4 year old attended tots sessions every day from. 10-12. This was ideal as we still had lots of time to spend as a family but meant he was out of the sun for a couple of hours each day. The activites were varied and engaging.
The entertainment team were excellent. They worked tirelessly to provide a range of activites day and night for all ages.
The spa was fab! It was adults only and you had to pay but guests at the hotel get a discount and it's well worth it for some relaxation time.
Swimming pools were excellent. There was no problem getting beds on any day. There were always lots available. Of course there are always those who will get up early t if you didn't mind being a few rows back for the pool it was fine. However it was extremely frustrating during our second week as on 4 occasions one of the pools had to be closed as some annoying parent did not put thier child in a swim nappy and let them pooh in the pool. Disgusting!


The negatives:
Noisy - the evening entertainment goes on until 11.30pm. We have a 4year old and despite being on the 9th floor it was impossible to sleep, it was extremely loud.
Isolated - Bahia Feliz is basically a few hotels and restaurants with some touristy shops. There's really nowhere to go if you like a walk in the evening. The next resort is a good 40 minute walk each way.
The Beach - very small and rocky, quite dangerous for young children.

We did have a great holiday and if you are going there I'm sure you will; however I don't think we'll go back as we've stayed in much nicer resorts.

Room Tip: Although the sea view was lovely if you have small children or like your sleep like me, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

As always read some of the reviews and was not sure who to believe. All in all a fantastic holiday. The hotel was clean and tidy but not 4 star. The pool are was great and the life guard was excellent allowing just enough fun but not too much. Food was good but as usual in most Spanish hotel restaurants you had to be a bit eclectic to enjoy to variety. We were a family with two girls 15 and 10. The 15 year old took a couple of days to settle in and enjoyed the freedom of the resort without us having to worry where she was. The 10 year old had an absolute ball meeting lots of new friends and joining in all the activities. My wife had the ideal holiday lying in the sun while i played as much sport as possible handing her drinks as i passed from water polo to volley ball court. The most impressive thing of all was the entertainments team who worked there socks off and made it a holiday to remember. All in all a GREAT holiday.
JIMBO

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JIMBO76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was a bog standard hotel. Perfect for young children not so fun for adults.
There was fighting for sunbeds and seats on a night.
However the entertainment team were very accommodating.
I do not feel the food was up to standard.
The rooms were very spacious with split level flooring and they were also very clean as for the rest of the hotel it was fairly clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have recently returned (this morning) from a family holiday to this hotel and I had to write my comments immediately because of the fantastic time we all had. We are a family of four with a Daughter aged 12 and a Son aged 8 and everything was catered for each and every one of us.

The Hotel staff were very good and on our late check in we were soon directed to our room. The room was spacious and clean we were on the top floor (11th) and the view of the Hotel facilities and the sea view were excellent. The hotel facilities were great and were very well maintained including the hotel amenities, food and the three pool areas. The pool was supervised by a trained life guard who maintained strong but very pleasant discipline. The food and drink selection was great with plenty of choice for the adults and the children.

Now the Thomson holiday entertainers, WOW, every single one of them was absolutely fantastic and Pixie Page, Jenny Bean, Jazzie Jamie and Big Daddy were out of this World to the adults and the children alike. Their energy and enthusiasm was inspiring to the kids and made their holiday even more enjoyable. They are an absolute credit to Thomson and themselves and it is a shame they will not stay together as I am sure they will move to bigger things. Although we did not use the kids club we did meet all the carers and again they were all really friendly and helpful and presented the kids events in a proffesional and secure manner. The day-time events were a joy and enabled us to meet some lovely and joyous people; the evening entertainment was a complete pleasure and again excellently delivered by the entertainment team. I will go to bed with great memories singing 'SAMBA' for months to come!

I would recommend this hotel to any family and although the entertainers may change I am sure Big Daddy will ensure the high standards will be maintained but they will have to reach very high standards to surpass the team we met.

Although the entertainment team were fantastic but as the title suggest it was an all-round absolutely fantastic holiday.

Andy Pandy (wind your neck in), Paula, Hannah Banana and Ash.

Room Tip: Higher floor room deliver fantastic sea views and views over the hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel was fabulous. Upon arrival we found the staff friendly and very helpful. Our room was spaceous and well layed out and great for the kids It was kept clean and had everything we could need for the duration of our stay, the room was cleaned every day throughout our stay This hotel is good for both couples and families. Entertainment was brilliant, with a variety of things suitable for all ages both in the day and in the evening. We were all inclusive, and the food and drink on offer was delicious and varied, the kids buffet was very good as our kids could help theirselfes which made it hard to find a reason to leave the hotel. Whoever writes bad reports about this hotel needs to get a life as we could not find one fault with the hotel, staff, food, room or the pool area the pool area is great for all ages. Their were 15 of us who spent 2 weeks at this great hotel. We will be returning to this great place well done to the reps at the hotel 100% effert every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#2 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
4.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#51 of 218 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Property: TUI Family Life Orquidea
Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing