We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Oasis of Calm and Beauty in Aegina”
Review of Hotel Rastoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rastoni
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Rastoni, thanks in part to the personal attention of Dagmar and her wonderful staff at this real jewel of a hotel. It is an oasis of calm and beauty just far enough of a walk from the bustling port center of the island a short hydrofoil trip from Piraeus.The Balinese design and the delightful garden, coupled with the homemade cakes and other treats for the tasty breakfast make this a model place to stay on any Greek island we have been. The rooms are quiet, clean and spacious and the small size of the hotel makes it feel like a home away from home while touring. It is also a short walk to Aegina's fascinating collection of arts and artifacts in the museum next to the archeological site of the last standing temple column. It's at that museum where you can come across surpises such as the floor of an ancient synagogue on the site and which I have reviewed separately in the things to do section under the title "A surprising synagogue find at Kolona'.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is nice and clean even if when you go to a Greek island you may expect something more local. This is very Balinese style hotel with a nice garden and rooms are quite big with little balcony which gives you a good feeling

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

From the moment Dagmar greeted us we felt at home and well cared for. We had a lovely stay at Rastoni. It's a well-positioned property, just a short walk into town and the beach bars. The shops are on your doorstep here, but just a few metres away, so the serenity of the hotel is intact. Amazing breakfasts! These will set you up for day, for sure. I particularly liked the pretty gardens and the grand view of the Appollo temple ruin. Whatever you do, don't miss the Temple of Aphaia, which was outstanding to see and experience - it's not too far away by cab.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank working-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We spent 5 nights at The Rasoni and enjoyed it enormously. The rooms are lovely with balconies overlooking the garden ant towards a temple ant the sea -magical!

The breakfast was excellent and you were able to eat it out in the beautiful garden.

Dammar was an excellent hostess and very helpful with advice on things to do on Aegina, she was great at double checking on bus timetables and ferry timetables very necessary in Greece!

We were travelling as a couple but children were staying there and having a very good time.

We would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We felt at home as soon as we entered .... relaxing, quiet and well run. Apart from the nicely done Indonesian style decor to the bedroom and the magnificent view towards Agistri across the archaeological site of Koluna, the designer-garden was a special treat at breakfast time. We still dont know the name of many the various, vivid, blooming plants, but so nice to sit next to and eat one's corn flakes! We returned to Athens after two nights very refreshed indeed!

Room Tip: ..any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We only stayed for two nights, but we had a fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful and quiet. The view from the balcony is amazing and it is close to the shops, port and beaches, but not too close. It is the perfect getaway. The manager/owner is friendly and helpful, and can suggest places to go if you are at a loss. The hotel also has beautiful gardens, complete with pomegranate and lime trees, that you can enjoy freely. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone! We will be back, says the husband :D

Room Tip: We were in room 6, at the end of the hall on the top floor. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September. We received a warm welcome to our comfortable, pretty room with a balcony looking out at the sea. We spent most evenings on the balcony in the sunshine and then watching the sun setting. The hotel is very tranquil, particularly the gardens where we chose to have breakfast - good quality, tasty cold buffet. It was a very short walk to the shops, restaurants and seafront/port for ferries. We loved the buzz of Aegina town, having previously spent a few days on much quieter Agistri to completely wind down at the start of our holiday. We would happily stay here again and thank you to Dagmar.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms with balconies looking out at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coryangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegina Town
6.1 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegina Hotel
Aegina Hotel
#2 of 14 in Aegina Town
121 reviews
4.8 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Danae
Hotel Danae
#4 of 14 in Aegina Town
151 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 28 in Agia Marina
292 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rastoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rastoni

Address: Str. Dim Petriti 31, Aegina Town 180 10, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Aegina Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rastoni 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rastoni welcomes you to its oasis of tranquility, relaxation and elegance. At walking distance from the harbor of Aegina you wonder yourself in a different world. The small stylish hotel has 14 beautiful rooms, each one decorated uniquely. A big garden with shaded relaxation areas completes the setting of the hotel. The 12 spacious rooms all have their own facilities: bathroom with shower, TV, central heating, ceiling fan, air-conditioning, refrigerator & private balcony. The rooms on the first and second floor have a tremendous panoramic sea view. You look directly on the ancient hill of Kolona and the sunsets are amazing! The 2 rooms on the ground floor have their own private garden area. Within little minutes you are in the centre of Aegina town, at the harbour, the bus or taxi terminal or on the beach. The hotel has its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rastoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rastoni Aegina/Aegina Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing