We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Rastoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rastoni
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We chose Aegina and the Hotel Rastoni as a base for exploring Athens that would be outside the city itself. We liked The Hotel and this relatively unknown island (about a 40 minute trip from Athens on one of the flying dolphin lines) so much that we canceled one of our planned day trips to Athens just to enjoy the hotel and the sites on Aegina. The hotel is lovely, our room was spacious and comfortable and afforded us a delightful view from our balcony of the sea. Dagmar is a charming hostess who was delightfully accommodating and helpful with every request. We looked forward every morning to a full breakfast sitting in their lovely garden. Aegina Town is a small town but had very good restaurants right along the sea. Dagmar helped us rent a car and we used it to explore the island. We especially enjoyed the very well preserved Temple of Aphaia and the fabulous lunch we had in the fishing village of Perdika. Taking the flying dolphin over to Athens for a day visit was quite easy and enjoyable. We would highly recommend visiting this island and, especially, staying at the Hoel Rastoni!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rastoni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a four-night stay at the Rastoni and highly recommend it. The hotel is ideally situated just a short walk from the town with its wide choice of tavernas, Work was just finishing on landscaping and planting the gardens when we were there and it's lovely to sit out and enjoy the excellent breakfast Dagmar produces. Dagmar is friendly and helpful (she arranged car hire for a day for us) and goes out of her way to ensure you have a great time. Our room was spacious with a nice balcony on which to sit and admire the view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavinia4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Going on recommendation from Trip Advisor, we booked in for one night in April. With no time to check out the website, the description of a quiet retreat in an old pistachio farm could be considered a little misleading. There is nothing of the old farm left - other than a few trees - and the building is thoroughly modern. Having said that, the accommodation is of a high standard with good décor, a comfortable bed and outstanding views. You can sit on your own private terrace and look straight at the ruins of Colonna and the Saronic Gulf! The gardens are wonderful, very relaxing and peaceful. But be aware, there is quite some noise from the road which can be heard from the room too. Dagmar was kind and helpful but not onsite all the time so, at night, the doors downstairs are locked and there is nobody on hand if needed. I imagine this probably is the best option in Aegina Town and am glad that we chose it. I would certainly stay there again if on the island. Aegina itself though is not my favourite of the Saronic islands - I definitely prefer the charm of neighbouring Angistri to the hustle and bustle of touristy Aegina.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theworldin80days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed there for just one night, but we really enjoyed the serenity of the place and the perfect view of the approaches of the port. It is just a walking distance from the port and the restaurants. You really feel you are on your own as the only maid leaves in the evening...
Best site to visit in Aegina is 'The temple of Afaia' unfortunately some of its parts are in a museum in Munich.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the quietest.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Rastoni, thanks in part to the personal attention of Dagmar and her wonderful staff at this real jewel of a hotel. It is an oasis of calm and beauty just far enough of a walk from the bustling port center of the island a short hydrofoil trip from Piraeus.The Balinese design and the delightful garden, coupled with the homemade cakes and other treats for the tasty breakfast make this a model place to stay on any Greek island we have been. The rooms are quiet, clean and spacious and the small size of the hotel makes it feel like a home away from home while touring. It is also a short walk to Aegina's fascinating collection of arts and artifacts in the museum next to the archeological site of the last standing temple column. It's at that museum where you can come across surpises such as the floor of an ancient synagogue on the site and which I have reviewed separately in the things to do section under the title "A surprising synagogue find at Kolona'.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is nice and clean even if when you go to a Greek island you may expect something more local. This is very Balinese style hotel with a nice garden and rooms are quite big with little balcony which gives you a good feeling

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

From the moment Dagmar greeted us we felt at home and well cared for. We had a lovely stay at Rastoni. It's a well-positioned property, just a short walk into town and the beach bars. The shops are on your doorstep here, but just a few metres away, so the serenity of the hotel is intact. Amazing breakfasts! These will set you up for day, for sure. I particularly liked the pretty gardens and the grand view of the Appollo temple ruin. Whatever you do, don't miss the Temple of Aphaia, which was outstanding to see and experience - it's not too far away by cab.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank working-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegina Town
6.1 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegina Hotel
Aegina Hotel
#2 of 14 in Aegina Town
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Danae
Hotel Danae
#4 of 14 in Aegina Town
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#2 of 28 in Agia Marina
134 reviews
4.8 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
180 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 28 in Agia Marina
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rastoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rastoni

Address: 31 Str. Dim Petriti, Aegina Town 180 10, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Aegina Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Price Range: £61 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rastoni 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rastoni welcomes you to its oasis of tranquility, relaxation and elegance. At walking distance from the harbour of Aegina you wonder yourself in a different world. The small stylish hotel has 12 beautiful rooms, each one decorated uniquely. A big garden with shaded relaxation areas completes the setting of the hotel. The 12 spacious rooms all have their own facilities: bathroom with shower, TV, central heating, ceiling fan, air-conditioning, refrigerator & private balcony. The rooms on the first and second floor have a tremendous panoramic sea view. You look directly on the ancient hill of Kolona and the sunsets are amazing! The 2 rooms on the ground floor have their own private garden area. Within little minutes you are in the centre of Aegina town, at the harbour, the bus or taxi terminal or on the beach. The hotel has its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rastoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rastoni Aegina/Aegina Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing