We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hydra is paradise and Bratsera is right in the middle of it”
Review of Bratsera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bratsera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have stayed here twice, our first visit in 2000 we were disappointed with the room but the common areas are glorious: the pool (the only hotel with one on the island I think), restaurant and lobby. Second time lucky in 2012, I bit the bullet and booked one of the more expensive suites with a terrace (yes its expensive, Parisian hotel prices for rustic charm). Even my difficult to please other half loved it immediately. Yes the bathrooms are basic (shower curtains?) and furnishings simple but Hydra is paradise that you sometimes have to share with dive bombing Scandinavian kids. Lovely lay out for breakfast. We were in the Junior suite with the terrace facing the mountain away from the pool. I booked well in advance. Restaurant staff were lovely but hosts a little non-committal. If you are staying in Hydra for longer than a couple of days, rent a villa but for 4 days the Bratsera is great and very well located.

Room Tip: spend more to get a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We paid 250 euro for the suite and it was by far the worst! So bad that we asked to change us room. We had stayed many years ago in that hotel and it is really sad to see it in that condition. Rooms were had a strange smell so that it was hard to stay without windows opened. Ceiling was in such a bad condition that you thought that it could fall on our heads. Definitely does not worth the money they ask. If you are looking for the best hotel in hydra it is definitely "cottomatae"!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elenipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we knew that hydra in general is quite a pricey island, so we were prepared to meet high hotel prices. the particular hotel was selected mostly because of the true love to the authentic historical places and curiosity. however should it be only about finding a high standard, high quality hotel room, we would choose a less pricey hotel. one weekend (we stayed overnight) is quite enough to immerse in the atmosphere of the hotel and island without digging too deep in the pocket, so we are overall satisfied with the hospitality, friendliness and good service of the hotel personnel. as to the hotel's design and furnishing, the idea of arranging hotel rooms in an old sponge factory is great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our third stay at Bratsera and we loved it again!
It is the only hotel on Hydra with a real pool which is very appealing in the middle of summer and an obvious criteria for selecting a hotel but we love the simple charm of the property. We booked a family room with the loft space upstairs and the rooms and bathrooms are basic but that is all part of the appeal. Don't go expecting Missoni bath towels! The property, a former sponge factory is decorated with a lot of the original records, equiptment and yes, sponges. The pool area and garden is lovely with lots of pool chairs to drag under the shade. Breakfast offers a fresh selection of fruit, bread and cold cuts, good coffee and dinner is great.
The staff were very helpful and efficient - extra beach or bath towels were not a problem,
Not sure it offers great value for money and it could do with a bit of sprucing up but we will keep going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank australiantripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went to the Bratsera after looking for a place with a pool on the island of Hydra and consequently The Bratsera was the only one on the island. The pool area was awesome~ Very clean and nicely landscaped. The rooms we felt were very pricey though for 2 people. They were average size, clean and the bathrooms were very nice and newly done. The shower was great too. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a wide assortment of items. The apple cake was OUTSTANDING! The front desk when we arrived were rude when we tried to get the price lower, but later were helpful. The other service staff in the hotel were very nice. I would certainly go to The Bratsera if you are looking for a pool and want to lounge around it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I'm a little bit disappointed in Bratsera. The rooms are very simple which is ok. However, the shower is so small that it barely fits one person. We only got one pool/beach towel each to keep for the entire stay.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast around the pool was ok.

I definitely think there are better, similarly priced hotels in Hydra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmsterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay - the pool, the common areas are lovely - we also enjoyed the breakfast (apart from fake orange juice ) and ate some very good 'mezes' at the restaurant. The building and garden/pool is full of charm and character but once we moved elsewhere we realised that really the rooms are very overdue a good dose of TLC and investment. We were given supposedly a 'superior room', but suffered the tiny bathroom with loo seat that won't stay up ! and with every flush, there was a deep groaning noise throughout the building ! The shower was poor - so small you had to try hard not to have the curtain stick to you. The bed linens are not good quality - ok until you stay elsewhere and compare. We spent a further night at Orloff in Hydra where they provide much better value for money, proper double beds with nice linens and modern renovated bathrooms. A charming old mansion but with no pool. Then we went to Posidonion Grand Hotel in Spetses - totally out there in another league - which at the same price as Bratsera really shows up Bratsera as rather mercenary in their pricing versus room quality - sorry Bratsera - it is seriously time to provide better beds and linens, improve the furniture and decor of the rooms and particularly to throroughly renovate the bathrooms to the standards indictated by your pricing - your many loyal visitors deserve better !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FredAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#1 of 20 in Hydra
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bratsera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bratsera Hotel

Address: Near Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range: £135 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bratsera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bratsera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bratsera Hotel Hydra, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing