We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel, friendly, great location but too many children shouting all day long ruin the tranquility!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bratsera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hydra Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bratsera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, friendly, great location but too many children shouting all day long ruin the tranquility!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is' a jewel, clean, well decorated, the rooms are bright, the breakfast plentiful and tasty, the pool makes the atmosphere of the garden chic and relaxing ...
BUT there are many families in this hotel, with too many children who occupy all day long all the common areas of the pool ruin the atmosphere of tranquility!!! The staff should be more present to control the noisy activity of the children ( and also of some adult) If you are a childless couple, looking for silence and relax there will be 'hard to find it. Margherita is a super nice waitress.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIONISOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Words cannot express how lovely our stay at the Bratseras Hotel in Hydra was this summer. My wife and I had spent a month in Spetses and decided to book one night in Hydra late last month. The former sponge factory (the building was originally a vibrant sponge factory in Hydra) is now a well-run, relaxing destination with a great restaurant in a courtyard by a pool, and great service. On top of it all, while we were there, we were treated to a wonderful performance of Beethoven, Shubert and Mendehlson by the Saronic Chamber Music Festival. (www.saronicfestival.com) They come back every summer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Bratsera is the hotel for you if you want to be very close to the harbor and all that the town of Hydra offers. It's also the only hotel in town with a pool (a huge deal if you're not a beach person). The staff is great - the ladies at the front desk as well as Yiannis make you feel at home and are extremely helpful. The hotel itself is so unique ( a former sponge factory) so there's so much history to absorb if you're interested. I would not describe it as luxurious, but it is charming, rustic and historic and our family enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawksnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The jewel in the crown. Traditional greek luxury oasis. We could not believe what a beautiful oasis Bratsera was and it had to offer, relaxing, tastefully decorated and welcoming staff. We did pay a premium however for one night .

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My 16 year old son and I stayed at the Bratsera for three nights in June of 2012, and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is "kitchy" and beautiful!! It's everything you would think a hotel on a Greek island should be; whitewashed walls, boganvilla, pillars, white curtains, old stone steps. It's a renovated sponge factory, and there are old artifacts everywhere. The sponge press is still in the lobby, along with sponges and nets, etc. There's a real cannon in the courtyard. Also a fountain, a beautiful pool (only one on the island), and lots of chairs, tables and lounges around the pool to just hang-out on. The original handwritten ledgers from the sponge factory are just sitting around in the library for you to look at if you want. There's pictures of the workers and factory during full production on the walls, which we found very interesting. Our room was super! We had one of the "cheepies" on the ground floor with no balcony. We loved all of the solid stone, and the bathroom was adorable. It's all as you would imagine it years ago, except everything has been modernized and it all works flawlessly. Yes, others have stated that the bathrooms are a bit small, and ours was on the small side, but it was wonderful to use a stone sink! And the shower was beautiful with stone and a small window. If you are looking for the Hyatt, stay in the US please. If you want the "real deal" and some amazing memories, come to the Bratsera. The staff could have not been more friendly or helpful. Hydra is stunning, and the Bratsera is the best.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great from what I saw. Pick any of them, and you will love the old world ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

i think we must have been there about 6 times already, love every time we return there! great location, so close to the ferry so no need for donkey btw, yet quiet there. lovely pool, always space by the pool, lots of different rooms, we love no. 26 on the ground floor as it has patio at the back which is great and direct access to the pool so you can just pop in, sweet! the breakfast is a pleasure!! so yummy, great choice yet not too spoiled. great start to a day! one of the best holidays we have there!
Marina at the reception is awesome!

Room Tip: no. 26 is the best for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have stayed here twice, our first visit in 2000 we were disappointed with the room but the common areas are glorious: the pool (the only hotel with one on the island I think), restaurant and lobby. Second time lucky in 2012, I bit the bullet and booked one of the more expensive suites with a terrace (yes its expensive, Parisian hotel prices for rustic charm). Even my difficult to please other half loved it immediately. Yes the bathrooms are basic (shower curtains?) and furnishings simple but Hydra is paradise that you sometimes have to share with dive bombing Scandinavian kids. Lovely lay out for breakfast. We were in the Junior suite with the terrace facing the mountain away from the pool. I booked well in advance. Restaurant staff were lovely but hosts a little non-committal. If you are staying in Hydra for longer than a couple of days, rent a villa but for 4 days the Bratsera is great and very well located.

Room Tip: spend more to get a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 22 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bratsera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bratsera Hotel

Property: Bratsera Hotel
Address: Near Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bratsera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Bratsera Hotel Hydra, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing