We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stately!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you want to feel part of the history this island holds,Cotommatae is the place.The effort of the owners to rebuilt this beautiful house is amazing and it reflects the importance of Greeks with their roots.Friendly,welcome you to their small paradise with hand made breakfast and comfortable,clean rooms.My mind had 100% of relaxation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evitaps96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Cotommatae 1810, we would like to express our special thanks for your kind words and nice review.
We do appreciate the positive points you mention as the relaxation, friendly atmosphere, comfort, cleanliness and home made breakfast.
These are exactly the points we are trying our best to focus and to accomplish as an experience to our guests!
Many thanks again and we hope to host you again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you just get lucky. We made our reservations for this trip about nine months in advance and -- hate to admit this -- I tried about a half dozen other Hydra hotels before i found Cotommatae. The others were pretty much non-responsive since my search was during off season. I was able to book this jewel for the start of our three-week trip. What a perfect plan to begin! The restoration was wrapping up and this 19th century home made us feel like we were guests at an actual home rather than a hotel. We're seniors and even with minimal baggage, the walk was a bit strenuous. If I had it to do over again, I would have hired a donkey for the bags. We loved the location. Far enough to escape port side noise, yet close enough to restaurants and shopping.

Giannis was as helpful as anyone we met on our trip which included stays at nine hotels or apartments. We had the pleasure of meeting the two brothers who have inherited the family home and we advised them to pay Giannis well. He and Illiana were so very accommodating.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weddingparty2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We read your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Cotommatae1810.
It is such a pleasure to read such comments which are what we aim for, the satisfaction
of our guests is our priority and to make them feel that they are truly guests in our
Home. We carefully select our personnel and have told Giannis and Illiana of your
Comments, they too are delighted that their hard work has results.

It is not surprising to meet family members at the Hotel as we still love the Hotel as
a home and have kept our own little corner to be able to stay.

We are more than satisfied that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for
Announcing it on Trip Advisor. We hope you come back to Greece and select us
Again. Very varmest wishes from Hydra, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is an extremely beautiful family owned 'hotel'. With only a few room, this amazingly renovated historical mansion was quiet and refreshing. The owner was wonderfully kind, and took time to explain the history of the house and its remodel when we asked over breakfast. I do not know of a time I have ever been more surprised or pleased with the quality of a tiny boutique hotel. So fresh and comfortable I would return tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PilotDags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your time to write this nice review for our Boutique Hotel Cotommatae 1810.
We do appreciate your comments about your stay and service in our Hotel.
It will be our pleasure to return back and host you again in Hydra and our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Old but perfectly renovated mansion in historical hydra town, very close to the port and simultaneously at a very quiet location. The service was welcoming and so warm that made you feel you are at friends house. The room was spotlessly clean, the mattress very comfortable and the bathroom was exceptional for this style of hotel. There were homemade delicacies offered at breakfast. I loved the way the antiques of the family were mixed with new decoration items to achieve a perfect style result indoors and outdoors, in the tranquil garden. I will certainly come back to relax and rewind!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guests,

It was with great plesure reading your comments and nice review. Many thanks for pointing out that we have tried to keep the balance between the old items and contemporary combined with comfort and relaxation.
We will certainly be happy to host you again and try our best to offer the best of our Boutique Hotel Cotommatae 1810.

Many thanks again and wish you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A sense of history with modern ammenities in this gorgeously restored mansion in Hydra...the morning sunlight streaming through the sheer curtains, the stillness of the night interrupted only by the sounds of the birds or roosters , the sight of the pink bouganvillia covering the house across the street and of the houses built on the slopes of town make for an unforgettable sense of peace and rest. Exceptional staff, breakfast choices and public spaces that encourage conversation with other guests make this hotel very special.

Room Tip: For singles or couples, I suggest the room outside, to the right of the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Cotommate 1810, the owner and the Hotel Staff I would like to express my special thank and appreciation for your nice review and Kind words.
Our Boutique hotel is trying its best to make guests part of this historical place, to feel comfortable and like their own home. And we are very pleased that you have felt that and you responded positively.
We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you soon!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This most be Hydras most beautyful hotell. We have stayed twice at the Cotommatae and both turned out perfectly.
Both times we have been welcommed and served icewater and a traditional dessert from Hydra, cherrys in syrup. A nice gesture, one feels really welcommed.
First time, august 2013, we stayed in the Kalo Domatio. This room has a 180 degree view from the windows and the door. The room is so elegant and cool with the breeze through the windows. Outside, at the terrace, there are sofas and chairs where you can sitt and enjoy the view of the city and relax.
Second time, june 2014, we were offered the Peristeronas Suite, which has a private outdoor terrace and a private jacuzzi. Maybe the best room at the mansion.
All over, there are small spaces with seatings where one can relax and enjoy. The garden where all the lights are lit when it gets dark is simply gorgeous.
Giannis and Illiana and the rest of the staff are so friendly and cheerful and the owner are happy to tell the story of the mansion showing photos from before and after, telling how the builiding was practicly taken apart and rebuilt, with every tile on its right place. Everywhere there are original and genuin paintings and furnitures. They have managed to give the feeling of being a guest in an old mansion rather than a guest in a hotell, without compromising the feeling of luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alesund_NorwayBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guests,

I sincerely would like to express our special thanks for your extremely nice review on behalf of the owner and of course our staff.
Thank you for taking time to describe your experience in our hotel and we do appreciate your kind words!
It was our pleasure to host and we do hope to have you again in our Historical mansion.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Oh my...not knowing what to expect, my husband and I could not believe how lucky we were choosing the Cotommatae.
Giannis could run for Mayor! He was so knowledgeable and very, very helpful. The updated ammenaties blended beautifully with the many old world treasures found at this unique spot.
We absolutely loved our stay. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We do appreciate your lovely words concerning your stay in our Boutique Hotel.
Many thanks also for your kind comments and we do hope to have the pleasure hosting you again in Cotommatae 1810!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 20 in Hydra
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 20 in Hydra
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotommatae Hydra 1810? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotommatae Hydra 1810

Property: Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Address: Andrea Rafalia str, Hydra Town 15234, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotommatae 1810 Boutique HotelIn the centre of the historical town of Hydra Cotommatae 1810 is a traditional Hydrian Mansion which was restarted with much care and respect, and after 4 years of arduous work has started functioning like a Boutique Hotel.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel is within easy access from the seashore of the town, without having to climb up steps, its situated only 200 m from the port, the cafes, restaurants, bars and the terminus of the sea – taxis for excursions to the island’s seaside and beaches. At the same time the Guest House is situated in a quiet district and its lofty stone – walls surround the yards, the garden and the verandas.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel has achieved the balanced harmony, comfort, luxury and true style.The Mansion has 5 suites and two double bed rooms. Three suites can sleep up to 4 persons, one suite can put up to 5 persons, one suite can sleep 3 persons and the two romantic double – bed rooms are available for couples.Every room its name from the use the Family used to apply in the old times. Atmosphere and comfortable furniture can grant amiable surroundings which come in harmony with the character of the Mansion but also the authentic and unique character of Hydra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cotommatae Hydra 1810 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotommatae Hydra 1810 Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing