We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydra Icons Guest House
Ranked #2 of 17 Hydra Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After traveling to Greece many times, we finally had the opportunity to spend four nights on Hydra and we could not have chosen a better location. Icons' location high on a hill provides the most stunning view, from the private terrace of the Leonard Cohen Room, as well as a spacious rooftop terrace. Although there is no on-site restaurant, a discounted breakfast is offered at a restaurant nearby that offers The "Mediterranean Breakfast" for two, which will definitely keep you full for hours while you explore this beautiful island. The owner is friendly and accommodating. The room is tastefully decorated and comfortable. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If at all possible, reserve the Leonard Cohen Room. The view is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

The place is made with great taste, offering nice views to the port and excellent comfort in the room. One of the best features of staying there is the hospitality of the owner Yannis: he will offer best tips and will do everything to ensure you are enjoying a great stay.
I am a lifelong fun of Hydra and been there many times but from now on I know I want to be staying at Hydra icons!

It is appropriate to mention that there are quite a few steps to get there but this is very common in Hydra. If you are a person with mobility issues you may want to consider carefully your choices as you plan your trip.

Room Tip: Leonard Coen and Sophia Loren rooms are highly recomended as they offer great views of the town but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinelaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights here (08/09 to 11/09) and wished we could have stayed longer! There are quite a few steps up to the property (56! - we counted!) and a few more to get to the rooms, but it is well worth it for the view. We stayed in the Sophia Loren room which is a superior double and we loved it. Views from two large double windows, in different directions. Rooms are decorated beautifully, with Greek charm but modern. Views to die for from both the room and the roof terrace. Janis (or John) the owner was a really nice guy, he gave us a booklet with map on Hydra and recommended which beaches and restaurants to go to. We took his advice, as we had already seen the restaurants he suggested (on Trip Advisor). We ate at Christina's (Taverna Gitoniko), Xeri Elia and Kryfo Limani (otherwise known as the Secret Port - this was our favourite) - all were excellent. We were given 20%discount at the Isalos cafe at the harbour front! where we had a fabulous breakfast each morning. We visited Plakes and Bisti beaches, both reached by boat and both beautiful. Coming back to such a beautiful place to stay at the end of each day was a big bonus. Room was cleaned daily and bathroom was modern with shower cubicle an good power shower. We loved it here and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Sophia Loren room was beautiful, fabulous views, modern but charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My partner and I stayed several nights here and loved it. Yiannis the owner was very kind and had great information on the island. The other staff we very lovely too.
The rooms had traditional charm with a modern twist and were clean.
The location is great its close to the port with a position up on the hill which gave you a lovely view from the roof top area. It means you have to climb steps to get here but to be honest, if you don't like steps Hydra probably isn't the island for you.
Overall, for a guest house, the price and style is spot on.
Thanks for a lovely stay! Tom and Justine

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good, central location. You need to climb a few steps to reach it (no disabled access).

Average size, very clean room, with comfortable bed. No view.

Small, slightly uncomfortable shower, with just a curtain separating you from the toilet.

Very polite and friendly host. He gave us tips for the whole island, what to visit, what to avoid, how to get to the beaches. He also suggested we could call him at his cellphone at any time, and constantly queried us throughout our stay about whether we were having a good time or if we had any problems.

There is a small terrace where you can sit and enjoy an amazing view of the whole town.

The price is good given that no breakfast is included. It is definitely good value for the price and would definitely suggest it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were placed in a room next to the reception. Unfortunately we didnt get a balcony or a window overlooking the sea or the city but I guess this would be available on a higher room rate (we paid 180€ for 3 nights). Our window faced on a building next door. So we didn't bother opening it. Thus, we did not experience the sea breeze in our room (only a/c)! The Icons guest house is the renovated version of an older guest house. The room was ok, it could have been cleaner though. Also, the old lady living on the ground floor was a bit talkative in the morning with neighbours passing by while we were sleeping (around 8am). The owner was polite and helpful. He gave us a map and directions of places to eat or drink. All in all, a positive experience. However, I would search more accommodation options next time I visit Hydra. It is a lovely island! Worths the visit!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank froufrouathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we stayed for 3 night during July 2013.The owner - extremely helpful - informed us pretty much about everything on the island, (although we didn't had time to go everywhere) and we felt really good and safe when he gave us his mobile phone number and told us that we could call him 24/7 if we needed anything. Icons is a very clean guesthouse, value for money and elegantly decorated.The 360 terrace view is beyond words (an umbrella would be helpful). Such small details kept me from giving the guesthouse 5 points, but the whole picture still was great.Keep it up John!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#1 of 20 in Hydra
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mastoris Mansion
Mastoris Mansion
#4 of 17 in Hydra Town
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portadelmare Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydra Icons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydra Icons Guest House

Address: Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra Town
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hydra Icons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydra Icons Guest House Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing