We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price I paid......wow”
Review of Club Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Palm Garden
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For the price I paid......wow”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A great atmosphere to enjoy a relaxing time, we met a great set of fellow guests and made the most of our time. We were there in May and at that time of year the sea currents are treacherous but the beach was idyllic. The all inclusive option was best for us but we still went out and about by "Tuc Tuc " a 3 wheeled taxi. Shopping in Colombo is great for bargains but use a guide for the best places to shop.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter but most of the facilities are on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    71
    41
    23
    24
See reviews for
60
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

i and my family went to this hotel for our family holiday with the plan of 2 nights stay and we found it so awesome about the place and we had to extend it for another night . it was marvelous stay in club palm garden Hotel. Wonderful interiors, very good service and some excellent dining too, must recommend the hotel's staffs for the service. Very reasonably priced too for a superb hotel.

Room Tip: prefer guest to take de room on which de balcony faces the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saffu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We went to this resort for our family holiday. This resort is south of Colombo and takes approximately 1.5-2 hours to Colombo depending on the traffic.

On arrival at the resort one is awestruck by the sheer size of the property. From the drop-off point there is a doorway which leads into the resort which has a huge garden covered with lush greenery and pond with some nice architecture.

The nice thing about this resort is despite the size the rooms and other amenities are located in one area. The rooms are hotel style rooms located in the main 4 storey building. The rooms are spacious and clean (recently refurbished). The rooms have all the basic amenities including satellite TV and standard bathroom toiletries. Each room has a balcony which is a good place to relax and have tea/coffee in the mornings or evenings.

The pool area is quite small compared to some of the other resorts in Sri Lanka. The highlight is the beach area which gets cleaned daily. The water is clean and depth of the sea is quite gradual. Be warned as the currents can be quite strong in part due to a reef which is on the right hand side. For this reason we were advised to stay more towards the left.

We stayed here on full board which includes 3 meals. The meals are served buffet style and there is a good variety and some change in menu daily.However the food can get a bit monotonous after a few days. However on the plus side there are a few beach restaurants just next to the hotel. I would highly recommend Sasika and Sunflower restaurants. Both serve a wide variety of seafood including lobster, prawn, cuttlefish, crabs and fish. One can choose different styles of cooking depending on what tickles your pallette. To get the best seafood I would recommend booking one day in advance to get all the items one wants and to get your food on time. These restaurants do take some time to prepare the food (1hour or more) so inform them what time you plan to have your meal to avoid any delays.

Do note that when you go on the beach it is quite likely that you will be approached by 'The beach boys'. They will offer you trips to places such as the turtle sanctuary, mask factory, boat trip,etc. One particular person we met was Janaka (janaka.viraj@yahoo.com) and we took up his offer to take us for beach sports (jet ski, banana boat,etc) at the Bentota river. We also booked out transport to the beach sports area via Tuk-tuk with him (pretty reasonable). His family also runs the Sasika restaurant and a shop on the beach side selling clothes,etc. We did get some good bargains on quite a few things.

On most evenings besides a life band the hotel do have some shows including snake show, magic show, etc.

The resort has a limited number of units (100+) and this makes it less crowded. Overall a good resort to relax and as one of the Italian couple we met said (who have stayed here for a few weeks),"The place is nice and tranquil......."

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

horrible experience. Stupid rules, low quality food, rude management. It was my first and last time.

Staff asking you cigarettes, how offten do you have sex in your country and so on.

You are obligated to buy food only in the hotel restaurant. Any other food will be confiscated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnnyDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beruwala hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel four times and have had a brilliant time. We were disappointed when we were told it was closing for refurbishment but it is supposed to be opening in the New Year as I have been in touch with the hotel. We will definitely be going back next year then.

The hotel is right on the beach and the staff are the food are great. The entertainment people do a wonderul job both during the day with activities and the nightly entertainment is not Las Vegas but is very enjoyable. The hotel is not far from the village and there is a lovely temple nearby. There are also other enjoyable excursions, we even went white water rafting.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms and the entertainment finishes around midnight so no noise to worry about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

The first impression entering the garden is a pleasant one. The check in was quick and polite. The staff is friendly, but a little reserved or even sky. Some of the waiters are cheeky, sings and tell jokes. Quite funny. I guess many of the employees have received little training, but are trying their best. We found that the hotel had many russian guest. They had a live band Friday and Saturday and that saved the entertainment. The snack meny is very limited and 4 small Bruchetta costed 750 LKR. WE also testet the Hot Butter Cuttlefish (400 LKR per 100 g) and that was great. Only Colombo Swimming Club serves a better dish.
The room were clean and did the job. I missed the moquito net, I think we got alot of bites during the night. The eletronic thing did not work well for us.
The dinners were good and we did not leave hungry. The food and bev manager has improved the place. The pool was very nice and the beach outside the hotel was also very nice. The gym is there, but poorly equiped and not very solid. The Ayurveda massage was OK, but not more.
The overall impression is that this is a good beach hotel, depending on the price you pay. I would call it a 3 star, soon to be 4 star when staff becomes trained and more eager to deliver better service.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
739 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

the facility is set next to a beach where you could swim "at your own risk"beautiful sand though,lots of people there trying hard to sell you something making even strolling on the beach unappealing
The hotel itself has seen better days,the service is atrociously slow even by Sri Lanka standards,the food is below average in quality even though there is quantity.
The place appears to cater to Russian families with low budgets and gargantuan appetites for spaghettis and pizzas,not our cup of tea altogether
The pool is the worst we encountered in Sri Lanka with only a small portion deep enough for swimming

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 10 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.0 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Garden

Property: Club Palm Garden
Address: Moragalla Beruwela Beach, Beruwala 80070, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Palm Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Palm Garden Hotel Beruwala
Hotel Palm Garden
Club Palm Garden Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing