We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable holiday with Friends”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Eden Resort is located in Bentota , a town midway between Colombo and Galle. Very scenic and quiet location. The pool facilities and spa are excellent. The food is reasonable.

Nearby places offer scuba diving and water sports activity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bighna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
There are newer reviews for Eden Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of August and had a brilliant time. The staff were incredibly friendly and took the time to make sure that our stay was everything we wanted from advising on the best spa treatments to recommending local places to visit and creating different towel animals to come back to everyday. The food in the hotel was great and we would particularly recommend eating in the restaurant which is upstairs (cannot remember the name) as the food and service were both exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was a last minute holiday booked through Kuoni. We like relaxing beach holidays with good food and the opportunity to explore the local area, and this was almost a perfect fit.
The location, on an excellent beach is relaxing, but for the seemingly endless number of marriages which took place whilst we were there.
The rooms are pleasant and clean. We had a room on the ground floor just 20 feet from the pool and had no problems with noise.
The only disappointment in the hotel was the food. We were booked half-board but found the evening buffet unexciting and repetitive with too much emphasis on vegetarian dishes and deserts. Meat dishes disappeared quickly and on a couple of occasions we found the barbecue servers had 'run out'. There is a second restaurant in the hotel which is 'a la carte',but expensive. For lunch we ate at a restaurant a few yards north along the beach which was excellent.
Highly recommend the 3 day trips stopping a couple of nights elsewhere in order to see the historic sites and temples. Our personal driver for the trip was great fun and showed us how not to get ripped-off when buying drinks etc.
Sri Lanka itself is a beautiful island to visit, rich in culture and friendly people. However I doubt anyone will escape from the island without being ripped-off in one way or another - in our case the 'Spice Garden' sale of ayurvedic treatments. Don't bother buying cinammon and nuts - they are cheaper at the supermarkets when you get home!
Worth visiting once, but nothing to really go back for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishfilipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Superb hotel with very friendly staff. We were very warmly welcomed on our arrival after a long exhaustive journey. Our stay was for 2 weeks and was our chosen location for our Sri Lankan style wedding. The room (415) was absolutely outstanding and we loved everything about it. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony views were awesome. We must give a massive thank you to Kumara from house keeping who kept our room fresh and clean throughout our stay. The animals that he created from towels were a work of art and a pleasure to arrive back to our room to see. We were always greeted by him with a very friendly smile.
Our wedding coordinators were Oshadie and Tharani and both amazing people who made our wedding day extra special. Not only were they employees of the hotel but became our good friends and it was sad to say our good byes to them when we left.
The food, layout and choice was superb which catered for all types of taste. Mahesh the pastry chefs work was delightful and made our meal times feel very special. The staff at the pool bar were brilliant too.
We went out on regular excursions and were given unbeatable deals by W. Premalal Silva a very trustworthy gentleman often found near reception or in his office at the Tista Gem & Jewellery shop just outside the hotel gates.
We were also very honored to take part in Sri Lankas Independence Day celebrations. It was a spectacular day.
Needless to say that this is one of the best hotels that we have ever stayed at and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGreatrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed 6 nights, 25/01 to 31/01/2013, Deluxe Room 220, half board. Nice hotel in a great location with helpful friendly staff though sometimes things got lost in translation. Our deluxe room was large and well appointed but the bathroom was not clean. There was mould around the taps, bath and the between the tiles and plenty of discoloured grouting, how many 5 star hotels have that? The towel rail fell off the wall and when we reported it all they did was change our towels! We grew a little tired of staff randomly and regularly knocking on our door to ask if everything was ok. Desk staff were very helpful and made sure our bookings for whale watching and diving went without a hitch. The grounds were too small for the size of the hotel and were a bit crowded at times but were kept clean and tidy as was the very welcoming pool. The touts shouting and making noises through the fence were a daily annoyance as they were when walking on the beach. Food was good with some variations and although a dresscode is stated for dinner it was not enforced unless you were a male in beachwear which we found disappointing. Lunch varied between good and poor depending on who was cooking on the day. The beer was the most expensive we found in Sri Lanka. Walk onto the beach and turn right to the Blue Lagoon next door and enjoy a good lunch in a great location and the cheapest beer we came across during our tour. Bottled water is available outside the hotel for a sixth of the price. Turn left out of the main entrance, third shop on the left This is not a 5 star hotel, maybe 3+ star or with a bit more effort 4 star at a stretch. It served its purpose as a place to relax after our tour but I would not choose to stay there again. Checked out Cinnamom Bey and Bentota Beach whilst there and they looked better options

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharkbait53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was a lovely place and we would like to go back as my sister-in-law fell on our second day breaking her thigh. We spent a lot of our time travelling back and forth to the hospital in Colombo. The staff were very kind to us and gave us fruit baskets every day to take for her. The food was marvellous. We would love to go back and enjoy all the amenities we did not have time for. We made good friends with all the staff who welcomed us back in every day and treated us like members of their family. Our rooms overlooked the pool and gardens and beach. Fantastic!! We shall return !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic. To claim 5 stars, they need to improve on their room maintenance and Vegetarian food selection. On our recent trip there, the Veg choice( unless you liked Sri Lankan Food, daily) was very limited. Our saviour was Sundeep( a Chef in Training), who went out of his way to please us, by giving us a free menu choice. This same service was then taken over by the Senior Pastry Chef, Mahesh. The staff generally is very friendly.

Room Tip: You obviously pay more for Sea View. Room size is good
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardaman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,698 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#6 of 10 in Beruwala
835 reviews
11.8 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: £63 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Sunspot Tours, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing