We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere with very polite and friendly staff”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Eden Resort and Spa in February 2013.

We stayed on an all-inclusive basis for one week.

From the month before our arrival (I emailed the management team a couple of times and received an English reply in a number of hours), our actual arrival and the departure we were treated very well and as if we were regulars.
Staff on the front desk were knowledgeable and spoke very good English.
If you ask them, they will show you a book with attractions and activities that are accessible from the hotel. Some are close by, others a few hours drive away. They also provide a printed list of return taxi prices to various attractions. While they may not be the cheapest prices around, you can at least be sure that the price you see is the price you will pay.

The room staff cleaning team, led by Chandana on our floor, were polite and great at their jobs.

There is entertainment arranged throughout the day but this is unobtrusive and if you simply want to relax and chill out, there is nothing to stop this.
The pool bar was also great and the staff all very cheery and once again friendly and polite while providing a very quick service. Chamila in particular was great and enjoyed engaging in conversation.
The pool itself is spacious enough and deep in places, allowing for a proper swim. It is also only up to shin height in others, making it great for kids (and adults!) to play in if you have any.

The food selection at all times was fantastic. While it is a buffet, all the food was cooked very well. A number of the dishes were spicy and of local origin, which for me and my partner was lovely. When we travel to a country, we like to experience the local food with local flavours and this hotel certainly provided that. Some of the dishes were lovely and spicy. However, if you are more of a home comforts kind of person, the hotel caters for this too with enough familiar so called 'safe' dishes.
There is also a freshly cooked station on for all sittings providing wonderfully cooked fresh omelettes in the morning and interesting and flavoursome dishes in the evening. (The devilled prawns were fantastic).
We also had a number of trips out from the hotel leaving very early in the morning. The earliest left the hotel at 0300. Contacting reception the afternoon before ensured that we had a takeaway breakfast and lunch ready for us for when we left.

We didn’t use the Spa or gym/sports facilities (there is a full size snooker table, squash court, table tennis and games room) so can't comment on these aspects.

The hotel is right on the beach, although this is public. Once you get on the beach there are people there trying to sell you trips and goods. I suggest you don’t book with any of these as they are unreliable, possibly unsafe and also the pricing structure may vary greatly.
However, as with everything in Sri Lanka, they are still polite and friendly enough. We had one bloke who initially hassled us a little, but only in the way that he wanted to sell us a boat trip. In the end, he got the massage and left us alone.
The beach is a lovely area to watch the sunset in the evening.

A couple of tips for travellers looking to go to various places.
Yala National Park IS accessible from Beruwala. It is a long drive and a very early start (0300 leaving the hotel and takes about 4 hours in the morning to get there, 5 hours or so to return in the afternoon) but you can do it. We arranged a Yala trip for £100 per person which included return private taxi (almost 500km!) and private Safari jeep tour for about 4 hours. I am sure you can get it cheaper but this was very easy to arrange through our rep. (Local company Diethelm)
Mirissa (Blue Whale watching) is also easy to get to. Another early start (0430) and another return private taxi but less travel time.
Although on a map, Sri Lanka appears small and accessible, it isn't quite true. You can get almost anywhere by taxi and bus but the driving distances and travel times can be very long.
The roads in Sri Lanka appear to have been improved greatly and none that we drove on were in need of any major repair. In places they were better than UK roads. Yes, it does get busy on the roads in towns from about 0500 and this is the main reason for long journey times. Driving in Sri Lanka appears to be more of a dodgem track than roads. The speeds of cars aren't a great problem, people seem to stick to speed limits or at least don’t go too crazy (apart from the buses, but that’s another story) but they certainly like to overtake on a regular basis. Combined with mopeds and tuk tuks, it can be a bit hectic. But nonetheless, exciting!

All in all, this hotel is very good and comfortable.
This hotel is worthy of a 5* rating based on the staff and the service that they all provide. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile.
The only down side to the hotel at the moment is that some of the communal areas and rooms appeared a little tired. This is mainly down to the style of decor however and not anything to do with staff attitudes or general maintenance. However, this is being addressed in the summer months when they will be closing for refurbishment. We hope to return at some time in the future and am sure it will be worthy of 5* rating all round.

To finish off, the staff at the hotel are fantastic. Everyone is polite, happy and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Sri Lankan people in the areas we stayed in and visited were very similar in that they all showed the same attributes. Whether they were from the hotel or other people working in different activity centres such as the Safari or Whale watching. They made the holiday what it was and it was a pleasure to stay at the Eden Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 which is on the first floor overlooking the pool. It does have quite a limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a comfortable stay .Room was neat & clean .room was located close to the beach , which is well kept .Lot of planning seems to have gone into , ensuring that the guests have a wonderful time . Pool is quite big . Entire hotel staff were good & service minded. Restaurant is quite big & the food spread was quite large .All i all it was great experience staying at EDEN.

Room Tip: select a room which gives a good view of the beach & closer to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkalgudnagaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nice friendly, helpful staff. Service could be very slow or non-existent at times. Gym was small and equipment old and some broken. The hotel is very close to the beach, but I didn't feel 100% comfortable about leaving towel, sunnies etc. on the beach while I swam. The nearby town is worth a look, maybe for an afternoon. If you like lounging round the pool, drinking and eating, this is the place for you. Bacon seemed to be off the menu at breakfast. There are 2 wifi signals - 1 free and 1 you pay for. The free one was impossibly slow and the signal for the paid one was hit and miss. Overall though, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ends of the corridors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abelardsnazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights whilst we stayed in Sri Lanka, it has to be one of the nicest hotels ever... the little touches that they did for us was lovely.

Breakfast is amazing, I am such a fussy eater but I managed to find something on the menu... The fresh Omelettes are to die for...

the staff are all very professional

Right on the beach which is ideal for everyone

Room Tip: The Superior rooms on the ground floor are amazing, ideal for the pool and the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Marie_79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

i am a Sri Lankan who got the opportunity to be a part of a group form 40 countries brought down by Basilur Tea, me and my friend as the agents for Maldives, checked in to the hotel on the 17th and stayed till the 20th Feb 2013.
while we were having diner, some guy brought a bill asking us to sign since they thought we are with the tour operator ( since we were dark skinned and was among the white skin people) we explained that we are guests and the bills or whatever have to be given to the correct people and no to us.
then at 12.30 midnight we get a call asking if we know the bus drivers number and I had to explain that I had no relationship with the bus driver and to call some other guest and ask for it since they always misunderstood us and thought we are not guests.
the room did not have an iron and clearly was not geared to accommodate any business traveler the room had only one plug point for 2 mobiles, one camera, one laptop, kettle and the vaporizer. when we asked for a iron they brought one huge iron which took most of the space in our very small room, 127. when i asked the boy after ironing how i should return it he told me to keep it out side the room. then the next day at 6 am a lady calls the room and says : can we get the iron you took in sinhala in a very rude tone, no good morning nothing. this really ticked me off since i was disturbed with the bill, call at midnight asking for the drivers number and the call at 6.30 am!!!
The bathroom was stinky and the drain pipe that was going under was giving out a horrible smell try keeping the bathroom door open to see what I am telling… gosh!!
the next day i made a complaint to the Business development manager and he officially apologized to us and told that during the war the properties were running only with the help of sri lankans and they also should be treated equally.
the next day i was having a cigarette out near the main door and the security guard asked me to move a three wheeler thinking its mine and he thought i was a tuk tuk driver, the same day night i was asked by another room service attendant to find transport for guest who was departing and the reception showed me a list and told that two guests are leaving the next day and what he should do. clearly no one knew that among the white group who came ( 70 people) there were two sri lankans and was constantly disturbed in a very unprofessional manner, again i complaint to a executive and told him that we need not be treated like foreigners but to please let us just be till the event are over and to inform all the staff not to talk to us since they all think we are with the tour operator or driving a tuk tuk or we are the bus crew.
their was very clear racial discrimination.
the room was full of mosquitoes all the pictures are below and we were thinking how guests would stay in such rooms since even at our homes we dont have mosquitoes the size of moths.
this is clearly not a 5 star hotel even if they say it and the service to us was very disappointing and hurtful. it was worse to be discriminated in our own land by our own people this way.
this Eden is definitely not an Eden for us and we were waiting and counting days to leave. we were feeling odd to even step out of the room thinking that we would be treated differently. this is the first time in my life i was racially discriminated and it hurt me to the core as a sri lankan, I promised my self never ever to treat some one like the way i got treated since now i know the real feeling of been discriminated the feeling is bitter.
Before Eden we staid at Chaaya lodge habarana, we went to Kandalama, then Heritance Ahungalla and Vivantha by Taj, they never treated us this way and we all got a royal treatment. even the tour operators at Aitken Spence were very friendly and did not treat us differently. Eden people can say they are number one in bookings and they have trip adviser certificate and they give a good service and be proud to satisfy their ego they are also a the number one in racial discrimination. if they cant treat us sri lankans well how can they treat a guest well, check the other comments on room 127 on trip adviser nothing have been fixed in that room and i dont think anything will happen also. if you are reading this as a Sri Lankan I am not recommending this at all to any one there are low priced places with good food and great homely service. the beer is only 250 Rupees just out side the hotel too :) so dont ever stay in a place where you are not welcome.
Enjoy Sri lanka despite this low grade unethical unprofessional hotel with so called 5 star there are many good places and sri lankans are lovely people so come down enjoy and stay in any place other than Eden where you will experience real sri lankan hospitality :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sudath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Lovely place for relaxing holiday with familary atmospher. The restaurants are excellent with delicious international food. The employees are very friendly and corteous! The gast-relation is perfect, the rooms are very clean and Lasantha surprised us with towel-animals - we like!!! We could say: It is a place of eden!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Start: 18th November 2012 (Duration: ~ 2 Weeks)
Travelers: 2 adults (couple)
Age: 38/34
Nationality: Germany/Germany
Service Pack: HP (Breakfast + Dinner)


Executive Summary:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Excellent Service - very polite staff - professional management - unobtrusive accommodating at any time. >>>I recommend this hotel.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Transport:
Well organized transfer from the airport to the hotel with English (German) speaking guides.
The driver is organized by the hotel. They are reliable.

Hotel / The Room:
At first..... Negative surprise after arriving the hotel. Our room was not as we expected. But we had booked with our travel agency explicit a sea side room. After 15 Minutes they offered us another room. Room Nr. 222.
First floor. Large Room. Super shower head. Larg terrace right hand side to the entrance hall. Very clean room. For us it was perfect, and we were happy.

Hotel / The Staff:
Always friendly people. Reception staff, cooks, bar-keeper, custodial staff, gardener, mechanics or security.... all greet unobtrusive, polite and hearty. Some of them impressed us extraordinary, that we decided to honor this and ad the photos below.

Hotel / The Area/Spa
Nice clean pool. Enough loungers. Free towels. Nice Spa Area, who likes massage. (The massage is softer than at Thailand.) It is easy to reach the sea. (1 minute)
The furniture at bar is not the newest but clean and elegant.

Hotel / The Anmination:
It is a wellness ore wedding hotel. If you would like to relax, you are right. The guys does there best but the hotel offers only few options to them and the guests. My wife loved water aerobics (I loved it to read a book at the same time). With the travel agency you can make a lot of amazing trips. (Here you have to pay in EUR. But it is still cheaper than in Germany. If you would like to travel alone – be well prepared!!)

Hotel / Price (and tip):
It is not cheap for German tourists. But it is a fair price for accommodation and everything around.

Hotel / Guests:
It’s a mix. Germans, Russians or Poles and the typical British and US tourists.
(Sometimes they disturbed… but mostly they were a good alternative entertainment program :-))

Best regards
Robert

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 11 in Beruwala
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: £64 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sunspot Tours, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing