We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the beach”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place on the beach”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The rooms near the pool side are the best here. You could walk into the pool and to the sea from here. The food spread was very good and included a large variety of all veg and non veg food. We really enjoyed the pool and the beach the best and of course the cultural show put up there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    406
    152
    68
    46
See reviews for
412
694
49
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We didn't stay at the Eden - we came in one night for dinner after having driven past and seen a sign that gave us the impression that it might be a nice resort. That it was, so the hunch paid off well!

After having tried their evening buffet, we came back every night thereafter. We're vegetarian and were delighted with the fabulous range of local food that we were able to try. It was always cooked to perfection and of the highest standard... we never thought we'd eat so well in Sri Lanka! One night they were having a special meal for all on the beach but the menu available was a set menu and wasn't vegetarian friendly. The chef was so kind as to cook us some special curries for us to eat back in the cafe. Wow.. they were simply AWESOME and that was the best meal we've had in a long time, containing lots of interesting spices that we've never come across in other countries. The chefs were even kind enough to explain to us what they were. Speaking of which, the service is impeccable, with many of the staff members speaking multiple languages, even a bit of Japanese which was nice.

Most of the people staying here appeared to be from either Germany or Russia. Few were eating the local food, instead opting for the continental food on the buffet... we were dumbfounded as to why they wouldn't eat this amazing local food!??

Whether you stay here or not, you're missing out if you don't at least come to eat here. The hotel itself looked very nice.. a bit too big and hotel-ish for our tastes (we prefer to stay at smaller boutique operations with more local touches) but well located on the beach and very lavish looking with big pools and all the fittings.

The buffets are only available at night and on weekend lunches, so we ate breakfast and lunch at Vivanta by The Taj, which has a buffet for all meals and is also very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here from the 9th to the 22nd sept 2013 with friends for our tenth wedding anniversary . From the outset they made us feel totally at home . we have travelled fairly extensively but i must say the sri lankans are the friendliest race of people we have come across. There wasnt a thing that was too much trouble for them , and all done with a friendly smile . Our room was huge and immaculate , with turndown service and chocolates every night . many thanks to lasantha our housekeeper - a credit to himself and the hotel .

The food was amazing and varied , i was in curry heaven . I was remarking to ranil how wonderful one particular curry was and he called the chef out to for us to tell him which one it was so he could make it again just for us even though it wasnt on the menu - superb service !!!

i can recommend the beach boys for trips . we used Aruna for ours , we arranged three with him and i must say it was amazing value for money . We went to pinnawala elephant orphanage which is great . He stopped a bit further down the road for us to wash one in the river and ride her into the jungle then on to a spice farm where we learnt about various spices used for cooking and medicine , which was then followed by a full body massage in the jungle . Then on to kandy for visits to the tea plantations / factories and toured the botanical gardens . All this for £60 - we cant get a massage at home for that !!. We also went on a river safari and saw fruit bats , crocodiles and water monitors and even managed to handle baby crocs . Our third trip was to a turtle hatchery where we saw their conservation project . At sunset we got to release the baby turtles into the sea .

All in all Sri Lanka is a magical place and for us it was a life experience, we were slightly concerned about the weather but it was fantastic . I must make a special mention regarding Ranil , Kapila , Saniga , Pulindu , Lasantha and Ali - You made us feel so welcomed . I know ive missed others out , im sorry , you all made it fantastic for us .

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room , they all open up to the pool and you can have your loungers right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob01829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This resort is located on the Beruwala beach.The stay here was average.
Pros:
Nice rooms
Yummy food
DVD player with a collection of movies in the room
The 24 hour open restaurant cooks up very nice food

Cons:
They charge any and everything you ask for. When we booked we had categorically told them that we want sea facing rooms, but when we checked in, we were given room on the ground floor with a pool view. On requesting, they shifted us to the 2nd floor, but we had to pay 100$ extra for 2 nights!!
We had pre booked a beach side dinner. bUt what we got was a dinner at the restaurant, food was good though. When asked that if we could dine in the topmost penthouse view, we were told it will be charged extra.
There are 3 dining places-- one where you get buffet, one which is open 24hrs and you can have snacks too, and one which is ala carte restaurant. The menu card given in our room was of the restaurant on the 1st floor. When we decided the menu and went to the restaurant, we were denied entrance as there was a "Dress code" for entrance and we were all properly dresses except for slippers instead of shoes.
The Wi-Fi is only free when you are at the restaurant, else you get charged for that too.
Overall ok experience, but could have been much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplysaheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Went to The Eden Resort & Spa with my daughters for 10 days from August 20th to 30th.
Although there were many guests staying at the hotel, all the staff were always friendly and helpful, ensuring they made our experience comfortable and unique.
The hotel also put on different entertainment e.g. cultural dance shows every night which was always enjoyable. The food was excellent and as a family of vegetarians, staff always catered for our needs.
A special Thank you to Shehan and Lasantha who surprised my daughter with a 21st birthday cake and decorated the room. Outstanding service.

Just a tip... During the end of our stay, renovations were taking place in the main restaurant until the end of September. However, outside seating was provided which was also just as nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Checked in to Eden Resort and Spa over a weekend and it's an Old war horse but tastefully designed and some rooms have been renovated.

What stands out for me here was the service and the GM leading from the front. It was a busy in the hotel with hundreds of people but the service was outstanding.

we especially liked the bathrooms - I stayed in #409 - and it's was clean and the bath area had a wooden flooring so that our feet were not shocked by the cold water, nice touch.

The food and beverage was also good, the buffet lunch was outstanding. The garden is lush and well maintained as well.

we ordered hot Chocolate post dinner but that was not up to the mark, the Chef I think had an off day! other than that blemish it was a perfect weekend getaway and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've come back from 10 days at the Eden Resort and I just have to say it was amazing. It was such an treatment and a relaxing place that we have to go back again some day.The Sri Lanka people are wonderful .The hotel was lovely and clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful,especially one person Miss Tharani .Many many thanks to her

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Beruwala
787 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Property: Eden Resort & Spa
Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing