We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night (May 24, 2014). Tried to make a reservation directly with the hotel desk, but interestingly was told by the hotel that I could get better rates by using Bookings.com. Indeed they were right...I cannot figure out why the hotel would not give their best rate to those who call directly.

Good: Great food--buffet had wonderful variety and great service by wait staff. Lobby is nice. Good location that is easily accesible via the new Southern Highway. Excellent welcome by front desk including a cold towel and welcome soft drink. We were personally escorted to our rooms by a manager. We were upgraded to deluxe rooms. Excellent decor. Bathrooms are well appointed and spacious.

Needs improvement: room 114 smelled musty. Room 116 was fine. Guests can smoke I the rooms...May be a problem for some. Room fixtures can use some replacing/ refurbishing. E.g. The mirror in room116 shows signs of corrosion from the salt air. Some light fixtures were not working. The tiles in the pool are a funky shade of green and in some areas,brown. At first glance the pool looks like it had algae and sewage in it due to the color of the tiles. The water is clear and clean..just looks dirty. I think the conventional light blue tile work would have rendered the more inviting.

Pool area and landscaping are nice. The beach is nice for the area. However, west coast beaches are not as nice as those on the east coast. The beach has its share of vendors, but there is security and the property is fenced in. We did not go during the best time of year (monsoon season). The seas are rough and dangerous. However, it was nice to stand ankle deep in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean.

Overall, it was a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Colombo.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 114 due to the musty odor. All rooms on the upper floors have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KY Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Last Weekend we enjoyed our holiday at Eden resort & Spa with a group of friends. We really enjoyed our stay and all the staff gave us a good service. One of our friends was celebrating their wedding anniversary, which made us to contact Ms. Navanjana before the arrival to arrange a cake. She had done it with extra effort to make their anniversary remarkable. And thank to the chef who made the cake (the name was Chef Roshan as we can remember). Rooms were perfect. Food was excellent. Hope to see you all again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chathuranga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to see your encouraging note and indeed it was our privileged to serve you at Eden Resort Spa. We are always committed to serve our valued guest and happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you the hospitality in truly Sri Lankan way.

Thank you once again for your sentiments and we look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our visit to the Eden resort was met first with a refreshing welcome drink as well as an expansive reception area overlooking the pool. The people throughout Sri Lanka were lovely and this place was no different.

Being honeymooners, we were given an upgarde to one of the best rooms with an amazing views, with some minor technical giches with some of the room appliances...

Great vegetarian food and amazing property

Overall, a very good resort

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Priyanka9987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two nights at Edens after deciding over the wonderful reviews and then we were let down.It turned out to be something more than our expectations. The service is great , property is amazing . We took a Superior room and it was very clean and tidy and adios to housekeeping..
The pool adds to the attraction and whoever loves to wander in the beach its jus a few steps from the pool.
The food was really great and a Special Thanks to the staff who arranged a Surprise Cake for my Wifes Bday...
Would definitely return for a second stay anytime cos its quite impressive place in terms of hospitality and ambience.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

and my family went to this hotel for our family holiday with the plan of 2 nights stay and we found it so awesome about the place and we had to extend it for another night . it was marvelous stay in eden. Wonderful interiors, very good service and some excellent dining too, must recommend the hotel's staffs for the service.speciel thanks to miss tharani and staffs at spa. very reasonably priced too for a superb hotel..hope to be thr sooooon

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank zameer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to see your encouraging note and indeed it was our privileged to serve you at Eden Resort Spa. We are always committed to serve our valued guest and happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you the hospitality in truly Sri Lankan way.

Thank you once again for your sentiments and we look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent nine beautiful nights as our honeymoon in this hotel at the end of the April. We were looking for a nice, calm and quiet hotel at some exotic place and we found it. After a long flight and trip through some other hotels, where another tourists stopped, Eden was like real heaven. No railway, no building projects, just birds singing and rather big green territory. We were settled to our room very quickly, almost after our arrival.
Room: was good. Really good. Honestly, I even expected less. New furniture, a/c, clean shower. The room was cleaned twice a day, whether you gave tips or not.
Food: in the restaurant was very delicious. Breakfasts were rather simple, but every evening there was something interesting. Especially my husband and I liked seafood. So special thanks to the Chef and all his command.
Territory: not big, but very green. The hotel has their own lifeguards and security. Beach near hotel was cleaned every morning.
Activity: every evening there were either snake show, or fire show, or little disco at the beach, but not the whole night. The hotel has lots of indoor and outdoor games.
Problems: bad wi-fi, even if it is paid. No drying-room, which is very needed to be because even the whole night is not enough for clothes not to be wet.
And the last one: at the middle of our staying, the hotel started to fix some of the rooms and a/c, so there was a bit of noise. It was not annoying, when we were on the beach, but when it was raining and we stayed in our room, the noise, we ran away from, came back and was horrible. There is a very very very special and huge thanks to the hotel manager Navanjana, who helped us with our problem and offered us a new, even better room in the other wing of the hotel and saved our vacation. She is a very smart and friendly girl who understands everybody and tries to do her best to provide people's holidays and make their vacation unforgettable.
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our honeymoon in this hotel and this country. We were very happy to visit Sri Lanka. And I hope we will meet again in this hotel ✌️

Room Tip: The rooms which are not on the ground floor has balconies and terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValeriaLimanskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

It's indeed a pleasure having you with us on your visit to Sri Lanka, and we deem it a privilege and honor to have been of service to you during your short visit to Eden Resort & Spa in Beruwela.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the truely Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had wonderfull holiday at EDEN RESORT.I felt that one of brilient hotel in sri Lanka.I would Like to remind bcz of kindly & faithfully staff.when I came in sri Lanka in April with my girl friend to get married.we were at eden resort in beruwala. that was nicely sea weive.not only that it has nice garden & pool.I was also happy with my girl friend about sri Lanka people the service which they gave we should be appriciste it.when we were arrived there , they wormedly welcome us with guest relation executive that's like MS tharani especialy I should remember tharani she is also halpful ,friendlyness and always she has a nice smile in her face.that's great.they gave us to that room no 302 also nicely sea wiew room.I would like to let u next time after we came there definetly we stay at EDEN. My giri tales me allways we spent nice holiday. She's very happy. I also very happy that & I would like to give my best regarts all of u & especialy ms. Tharani and Eden staff.tnx a lot u r coparation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to see your encouraging note and indeed it was our privileged to serve you at Eden Resort Spa. We are always committed to serve our valued guest and happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you the hospitality in truly Sri Lankan way.

Thank you once again for your sentiments and we look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,763 reviews
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 11 in Beruwala
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: £94 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing