We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

For the 2nd year in a row, we spent one week in the beautiful Cap Est. I really love the warm colors and the site itself. This time we took the Suite Executive and were at ease. Great service, we loved the breakfast. Nice pool and the Campeche is a good place when hungry after a swim. Try as well the gourmet restaurant sometimes, you won't be disapointed. Minus is the beach which is not always appealing (depending on the tide= no water and a lot of algues). You need a car to seek for better places. Maybe not fully a 5 star hotel, but who cares, a great place to be at!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    145
    76
    48
    12
See reviews for
95
258
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed there in March 2013 and really enjoyed it. Our suite was on the first floor overlooking the beach and we loved having breakfast on the balcony with cute birds around. The room spacious and well laid out. Good air-conditioning. The staff was very helpful with organising car hire and with general advice. We had very nice cocktails in the bar. At the restaurant the best dish was chicken with tomato and baby spinach. Nice swimming pool, which we used at night (not sure if this was allowed though). Hotel has a private beach but it was too small for us, we preferred to roam the island finding some spectacular secluded beaches in the south eastern parts. Not much English spoken anywhere, but we managed perfectly. We really miss Martinique.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sakse_Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor. All team would like to thank you for your warm return. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Kind regards.

V. Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our second year island hopping in the Caribbean and Martinique was a shock - "France on Sea" we thought, but with banana groves and sugar cane fields. A very commercialised busy island that is thus less "Caribbean" as a result.
Le Cap Est is a perfectly good hotel. Our room (210) was lovely and enjoyed good views of the sea and beach. The grounds are well maintained and the hotel boasts a lovely uncrowded private beach. It really is a delightful place to stay. Many reviewers have commented that the hotel is due a little TLC - we noticed that (rusty light fittings in the restaurant)- but nothing to spoil our stay.
We thought the food was generally fine but not "historic" to quote Mr Winner. Why put spring onions on carpaccio of scallops? Service was mixed, often brusque and haphazard, and we noticed the mix of trained and clearly untrained staff also noted by other reviewers. Bizarrely service in the smaller informal restaurant was better than the "posh" restaurant and the food at least as good.
Martinique enjoys direct flights from France so the clients are almost exclusively French. Many of the staff have no English so schoolboy/girl French an asset.
Our main criticism of Le Cap Est is that it is not a 5 Star hotel - although the prices certainly are! You can get much better value in the Caribbean at say The Inn or Nonsuch Bay in Antigua or Calabash Cove in St Lucia. These hotels all offer a much better combination of accommodation, food and service at much lower prices.

Room Tip: Our first floor room (210) was ideally situated, close to the beach, pool and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chrishumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We thank you for your comment further your stay at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa. We are very disapointed by your return. Our Chef work on a French basis with a wonderful creole flavours. We do not have return about his culinary delight. Also, further to your details about others islands, we do not agree. It is not possible to compare an all inclusive resort with the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa. Capacity, decor and ambiance designed are completely different.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to re-discover our island with a different approach,

Kind regards,

V.Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel had very much french service. The tennis court was odd shaped. Wonderful wine and dinner. The fresh squeezed orange juice is the best! I loved the menu. Beach was OK but not spectacular. More for food and dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback following your stay. All team would like to thank you for your warm return. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Kind regards.

V. Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great staff, rooms , service, beach is very nice but this is the windward side of the island so expect wind. Unfortunately the food is not 5 star and borders on inedible. Room service menu is poor. The steak is suitable for shoe resoling. The lobster is good but if you are not an onion person tell them to forget the creole sauce, I like acras de morou (Cod fish fritters) and judge them with fervor. The acras here are sub par, while the calamar was very good 2 of the 3 times we ordered. Inconsistent food quality due to whatever. I may be an americane but I know what food should taste like. The creole night meal was limited and could have offered better and more varied choices. and not a fixed choose one of three super expensive meal. Still a very nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docovNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We thank you for your comment further your stay at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa. We have noted your great return concerning our staff, Suites and others parts of the resort. We have sent your message to our Chef. We have to understand because we do not have any return about the quality in our lagoon restaurant and gourmet restaurant. Our Chef work on a French basis with a wonderful creole flavours. We hope to welcome you back very soon for discover our new restaurant menu.

Kind regards,

V.Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a wonderful Hôtel, view is magnificent, staff, most of them, are also wonderful, helpful and really nice. Food is good, 2 restaurants. Breakfast gratuit is also good. Rooms are cleaned and nice. It is a 5 star Hôtel. The view from our room was magnificent , Atlantic Ocean. There is a beach, small but nice. The only problem, which was a shock to us, is the isolation. This Hotel is at 45 minutes from Fort-de-France and aux Trois Ilets, driving time one way. Then 15 minutes from le François, one way, driving time. The only way to get out of the place is driving. Cost for taxis is about 175 € = $ 240. U.S. round trip to go to Fort-de-France and same to go Au Trois Ilets . To go to Le François 70 €= $95. U.S. Aux Trois Ilets is the main touristic area with other Hotels and other restaurants. You also can rent a car for 170 € = $ 230.,/day, insurance included apparently. So if you decide to go to that place make sure you can afford the inconvenient of being isolated unless you don't want to see any other Martinique sights or other people. And you want to eat all week in only 2 restaurants at the Hôtel .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your comment further to your stay at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa. We are located in the est of the island facing the coral reef near le François town. This coast is very quiet and relaxing that why we have located our resort in this part of the island. According to your tastes, we propose you different restaurants near the resort. Also, we can organize your private transfer or rent a car from the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the resort.
Kind regards,
V. Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Absolutely lovely; the hotel is slightly remote but that only adds to the charm.
The staff is excellent (well there was a bit of an accident one evening at the restaurant but everyone came up to bat to make amends in style! Thank you!).
Truly a wonderful place if you are looking for a leisure holiday (with pool, beach, and spa). And of course you can get in some lovely sightseeing etc.
Our junior suite (seperate houses with a few suites per houses) was gorgeous and very comfortable. Perhaps two small "problems": the A/C is difficult to control (either freezing cold or not at all) and the shower area does not drain very well.
A would definately recommend...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilaryfromMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie_Deguitre, Responsable commercial at Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for having taken the time to give us your feedback following your stay. We have noted your return concerning A/C and shower area drain. We will work on it!. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Valerie Deguitre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
14.0 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Bakoua
Hotel Bakoua
#7 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
13.5 mi away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 5 in Le Diamant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: Quartier La Prairie, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden of Eden: luxury, relation, well-being! On Martinique's eastern coast, between Le Francois and Le Vauclin, 16 miles from the international airport. 50 Suites for day-to-day and dream living, over 18 villas. 2 restaurants (lagoon and a la carte), lounge-bar, meeting room, large swimming pool, white sand beach, Spa in exclusive partnership with Guerlain, Kite surfing, day trip motor boating, windsurfing, little catamarans, tennis court, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort And Spa
Le Cap Est Lagoon Hotel Le Francois
Le Cap Est Lagoon Resort & Spa Martinique/Le Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing