We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, good views, rooms need TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fregate Bleue
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This Hotel makes an ideal base for exploring Martinique. The rooms are comfortable with some great views over Fregate Bay and the nearby islands, but they are a little tired and in need of some loving attention. The dear lady who runs the hotel with her husband tried hard to make us feel at home, we speak very little French but fortunately for us her English was reasonable. We had one evening meal at the hotel which sadly was very average. The food appeared to have been heated or re-heated rather than cooked and considering the hotel is set amongst acres of banana plantations you would not expect a banana flambé to be made with such an old, blackened & dried out example. Great base to explore from but be prepared for eccentric dark wood furniture and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I think of Hotel Fregate Bleue as not so much a hotel as the guest houses of my childhood memories...slightly shabby but comfortable and restful. Physically it is in need of a bit of TLC but the views from our balcony were stunning and the room was large and airy and the huge 4 poster very comfortable. We ate in every night and the dinners were simple, nourishing and delicious. Our hostess was delightful and all the staff were welcoming and gracious. We felt welcomed and looked after.
You do need a vehicle to access it. There is no beach or water access (apart from a boat ramp at the end of the street). There are alternative eating venues in Destaly so you don't need to feel constrained to eat in. Also our room had a basic kitchenette where we could have self catered if we felt so inclined.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panthea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Fregate Bleue at the end of a two week trip to Martinique and Guadeloupe, so we wanted to relax for a few days before travelling home.

We stayed in Amanda which we think is classified a suite - but all the rooms are slightly different. This one was large with some old furniture (bed, desk, chest, and wardrobe) but no easy chairs. There is a mezzanine with two single beds which was very bare - not sure it would be much fun sleeping up there even for kids. Good quality bed and bed linen. Bathroom OK (but why just shower gel sachets and nothing else?). The kitchenette very basic and a bit tired, but adequate for simple food preparation. Everything was very clean.

On paper we thought it was expensive for the room but we found on this trip that all the accommodation on the islands was relatively expensive - and you do seem to pay a lot extra when you have a bit more space and a sea view. On both counts, we felt this was worth the extra and it was a joy to be able to sleep and enjoy the sea breeze with the window open and not worry about security.

The balcony has a fabulous view and has loungers as well as table and chairs. It was a charming place to sit and drink a beer, have a chat or just snooze and had it enjoyed the sun for a greater part of the day. We had breakfast and only one evening meal at the hotel while we were there. We had looked forward to the dinner but it was actually the least good meal we had on our holiday so our experience was a bit different from others. But if you have had a long day it was great not to have to dress up and get in the car to go eat.

Madame and the staff were very helpful and we found we only had to ask for something for it to be supplied or corrected - a saucepan for example, a salad bowl, and the fact our fan wasn't working. Madame Lucy explained she had had to be absent in France on and off for the last few months and that she was working hard to catch up on maintenance and organisation. She was very helpful with information about where to go, what to do, how long things took etc which meant we were able to make the best use of our time there. We didn't particularly miss beaches as we'd seen a lot of sand over the previous two weeks so we enjoyed the quiet of the swimming pool at the hotel. And we were able to do a late checkout for no charge on our last day which was fantastic. I would say the hotel strikes a nice balance between a luxury/comfort and relaxation without formality.

I would agree with everyone else - you do need a car to make the most of a stay here. But the location is really fantastic as a base to tour Martinique because it is central and beyond the worst of the traffic holdups around Fort de France. Only 30 minutes from the airport too.

We would recommend Salines for the beach (about 45 minutes and wonderful swimming) and Habitation Clement for a visit. Nothing much in Francois, but lots of nice bars and restaurants to try up in the hills. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

A beautiful small hotel, where colonial furnishings blend harmoniously with all modern amenities and where the peace and quiet and warm welcoming ambience has to be experienced to be believed! A really homely atmosphere prevails and being centrally located this an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful island of Martinique.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I along with my inlaws rented the appartment. What a joy it was to stay there. The views are magnificent with an covered outdoor kitchen and dining area and massive balcony from which to ppreciate it. Every room is seperated by doors, with its own bathroom and air conditioning. The lounge area can also be converted into extra sleeping space, also with extra bathroom attached should you want to accomodate a large family.

We did not take breakfast as there is a fabulous French supermarket just a short drive down the road, but the evening meals we booked were superb. Basically we were asked what we wanted and it was cooked to order.

It is a definite bonus that the hotel is located in a residential area as it is very quiet. One families dogs were a bit noisy a couple of nights but a pair of ear plugs from the flight resolved the problem.

The owner, Yveline, is a delightful, as are the staff. Everyone is so helpful and always looking for ways to make your stay even more pleasurable

The pool is great to plung into and cool down although a bit too shallow to get a really good swim, but with so few rooms in the hotel, we often had the pool and the terrace to oursleves.

A great place to stay for families with young children or a couple looking for a quiet escape.

There are some wonderful places to visit in Martinique too, wonderful wild beaches or beautuful white sandy shallows and terrific botanical gardens to name just a couple

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Hotel Fregate Bleue was a great spot for a quick four day trip to Martinique. It has regional charm and is convenient to the airport, Fort de France and several good beaches (45 min from Salines). It was quiet and our room was large with an expansive ocean view. The couple in charge are very nice and hospitable. We have been to Martinique 11 times and like this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed here for 10 days in Jan 07 - been meaning to write a review ever since! We felt it was a lot of money for the standard of accommodation - the room was full of old fashioned furniture and a had a strange mezzanine area used for storage which wasn't very nice. The bathroom needed upgrading - this was annoying, as it isn't expensive to replace rusty soap holders , bins etc.

The balcony was lovely, really big with beautiful views. Breakfast was very poor but served on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea. The "swimming pool" was more like a bath and situated next to the carpark. Nobody was ever in it (I wonder why).

Location was terrible. In the middle of nowhere actually, so don't even think about not hiring a car. And there is no access to the beach. In fact you can't really walk anywhere from the hotel.

Martinique is really beautiful with a perfect climate but a car is definitely needed.

Mme de Lucy was rather false although willing to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. At the time I think we paid around 1200 euros for the 10 nights which was extortionate for the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corrie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
12.4 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,116 reviews
7.1 mi away
HOTEL CAP MACABOU
HOTEL CAP MACABOU
#2 of 2 in Le Vauclin
147 reviews
12.5 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel La Bateliere
Hotel La Bateliere
#1 of 1 in Schoelcher
503 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Bleu Marine
Hotel Villa Bleu Marine
#4 of 4 in La Trinite
47 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Village de la Pointe
Le Village de la Pointe
#1 of 2 in Le Vauclin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fregate Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fregate Bleue

Address: Fregate Est 4, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fregate Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central point for exploring the island, located on the east side of Martinique in the town of Francis, this small boutique hotel 5 minutes from downtown offers a panoramic view of the Atlantic and its islets, in a haven of peace and freshness. Located in a quiet location 50 meters from the sea, you will be able to relax around the outdoor swimming pool and lush vegetation, while enjoying the light breeze of the trade winds. With its Creole architectural style and antique furniture for some rooms and modern for the other, this hotel offers a genuinely warm and friendly atmosphere, making it an ideal holiday resort. Fregate Bleue has 16 rooms with different standings, ranging from garden view room to the spacious suite with sea view, not forgetting the large family rooms or rooms "Loft" in the attic. This boutique hotel proposes you a wide choice of type of accommodation that suits all for holidaymakers and business travelers. All rooms are equipped with independent air conditioning, free wireless internet, a TV, a telephone and a hairdryer. Some also have a kitchenette. The restaurant will allow you to enjoy all your meals on the terrace near the pool or in air-conditioned room and enjoy, among others, a local Creole cuisine. Free parking is available. The hotel also has a laundry room. You can also enjoy special rates on many sports, cultural and leisure, located near the hotel, thanks to our privileged partners. The location is currently towards the award, to be taken up by the same group that recently renovated hotel La Pagerie GPS: 14 ° 36'18.98''N / 60 ° 52'22.17''W ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fregate Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fregate Bleue Hotel
Hotel Fregate Bleue Martinique/Le Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing