We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice & quiet hotel, w/ beautiful landscape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fregate Bleue
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Bobigny, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice & quiet hotel, w/ beautiful landscape”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is very quiet and offers a beautiful landscape on the François bay (ask for rooms with a view on the bay).
All the employees are extremely kind and helpfull, whatever you need or ask.
For people who are looking for typical places, where sweet little birds kindly sing you a song when you take your breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    69
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
35
89
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This Hotel makes an ideal base for exploring Martinique. The rooms are comfortable with some great views over Fregate Bay and the nearby islands, but they are a little tired and in need of some loving attention. The dear lady who runs the hotel with her husband tried hard to make us feel at home, we speak very little French but fortunately for us her English was reasonable. We had one evening meal at the hotel which sadly was very average. The food appeared to have been heated or re-heated rather than cooked and considering the hotel is set amongst acres of banana plantations you would not expect a banana flambé to be made with such an old, blackened & dried out example. Great base to explore from but be prepared for eccentric dark wood furniture and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I think of Hotel Fregate Bleue as not so much a hotel as the guest houses of my childhood memories...slightly shabby but comfortable and restful. Physically it is in need of a bit of TLC but the views from our balcony were stunning and the room was large and airy and the huge 4 poster very comfortable. We ate in every night and the dinners were simple, nourishing and delicious. Our hostess was delightful and all the staff were welcoming and gracious. We felt welcomed and looked after.
You do need a vehicle to access it. There is no beach or water access (apart from a boat ramp at the end of the street). There are alternative eating venues in Destaly so you don't need to feel constrained to eat in. Also our room had a basic kitchenette where we could have self catered if we felt so inclined.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panthea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Fregate Bleue at the end of a two week trip to Martinique and Guadeloupe, so we wanted to relax for a few days before travelling home.

We stayed in Amanda which we think is classified a suite - but all the rooms are slightly different. This one was large with some old furniture (bed, desk, chest, and wardrobe) but no easy chairs. There is a mezzanine with two single beds which was very bare - not sure it would be much fun sleeping up there even for kids. Good quality bed and bed linen. Bathroom OK (but why just shower gel sachets and nothing else?). The kitchenette very basic and a bit tired, but adequate for simple food preparation. Everything was very clean.

On paper we thought it was expensive for the room but we found on this trip that all the accommodation on the islands was relatively expensive - and you do seem to pay a lot extra when you have a bit more space and a sea view. On both counts, we felt this was worth the extra and it was a joy to be able to sleep and enjoy the sea breeze with the window open and not worry about security.

The balcony has a fabulous view and has loungers as well as table and chairs. It was a charming place to sit and drink a beer, have a chat or just snooze and had it enjoyed the sun for a greater part of the day. We had breakfast and only one evening meal at the hotel while we were there. We had looked forward to the dinner but it was actually the least good meal we had on our holiday so our experience was a bit different from others. But if you have had a long day it was great not to have to dress up and get in the car to go eat.

Madame and the staff were very helpful and we found we only had to ask for something for it to be supplied or corrected - a saucepan for example, a salad bowl, and the fact our fan wasn't working. Madame Lucy explained she had had to be absent in France on and off for the last few months and that she was working hard to catch up on maintenance and organisation. She was very helpful with information about where to go, what to do, how long things took etc which meant we were able to make the best use of our time there. We didn't particularly miss beaches as we'd seen a lot of sand over the previous two weeks so we enjoyed the quiet of the swimming pool at the hotel. And we were able to do a late checkout for no charge on our last day which was fantastic. I would say the hotel strikes a nice balance between a luxury/comfort and relaxation without formality.

I would agree with everyone else - you do need a car to make the most of a stay here. But the location is really fantastic as a base to tour Martinique because it is central and beyond the worst of the traffic holdups around Fort de France. Only 30 minutes from the airport too.

We would recommend Salines for the beach (about 45 minutes and wonderful swimming) and Habitation Clement for a visit. Nothing much in Francois, but lots of nice bars and restaurants to try up in the hills. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

A beautiful small hotel, where colonial furnishings blend harmoniously with all modern amenities and where the peace and quiet and warm welcoming ambience has to be experienced to be believed! A really homely atmosphere prevails and being centrally located this an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful island of Martinique.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I along with my inlaws rented the appartment. What a joy it was to stay there. The views are magnificent with an covered outdoor kitchen and dining area and massive balcony from which to ppreciate it. Every room is seperated by doors, with its own bathroom and air conditioning. The lounge area can also be converted into extra sleeping space, also with extra bathroom attached should you want to accomodate a large family.

We did not take breakfast as there is a fabulous French supermarket just a short drive down the road, but the evening meals we booked were superb. Basically we were asked what we wanted and it was cooked to order.

It is a definite bonus that the hotel is located in a residential area as it is very quiet. One families dogs were a bit noisy a couple of nights but a pair of ear plugs from the flight resolved the problem.

The owner, Yveline, is a delightful, as are the staff. Everyone is so helpful and always looking for ways to make your stay even more pleasurable

The pool is great to plung into and cool down although a bit too shallow to get a really good swim, but with so few rooms in the hotel, we often had the pool and the terrace to oursleves.

A great place to stay for families with young children or a couple looking for a quiet escape.

There are some wonderful places to visit in Martinique too, wonderful wild beaches or beautuful white sandy shallows and terrific botanical gardens to name just a couple

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF / P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Hotel Fregate Bleue was a great spot for a quick four day trip to Martinique. It has regional charm and is convenient to the airport, Fort de France and several good beaches (45 min from Salines). It was quiet and our room was large with an expansive ocean view. The couple in charge are very nice and hospitable. We have been to Martinique 11 times and like this place.

  • Liked — Large room with great ocean view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
12.4 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,054 reviews
13.0 mi away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 4 in Le Diamant
303 reviews
12.5 mi away
Residence du Village Creole
Residence du Village Creole
#6 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
338 reviews
11.5 mi away
Residence Oceane Hotel
Residence Oceane Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Trinite
158 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fregate Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fregate Bleue

Property: Hotel Fregate Bleue
Address: Fregate Est 4, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fregate Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central point for exploring the island, located on the east side of Martinique in the town of Francis, this small boutique hotel 5 minutes from downtown offers a panoramic view of the Atlantic and its islets, in a haven of peace and freshness. Located in a quiet location 50 meters from the sea, you will be able to relax around the outdoor swimming pool and lush vegetation, while enjoying the light breeze of the trade winds. With its Creole architectural style and antique furniture for some rooms and modern for the other, this hotel offers a genuinely warm and friendly atmosphere, making it an ideal holiday resort. Fregate Bleue has 16 rooms with different standings, ranging from garden view room to the spacious suite with sea view, not forgetting the large family rooms or rooms "Loft" in the attic. This boutique hotel proposes you a wide choice of type of accommodation that suits all for holidaymakers and business travelers. All rooms are equipped with independent air conditioning, free wireless internet, a TV, a telephone and a hairdryer. Some also have a kitchenette. The restaurant will allow you to enjoy all your meals on the terrace near the pool or in air-conditioned room and enjoy, among others, a local Creole cuisine. Free parking is available. The hotel also has a laundry room. You can also enjoy special rates on many sports, cultural and leisure, located near the hotel, thanks to our privileged partners. The location is currently towards the award, to be taken up by the same group that recently renovated hotel La Pagerie GPS: 14 ° 36'18.98''N / 60 ° 52'22.17''W ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fregate Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fregate Bleue Hotel
Hotel Fregate Bleue Martinique/Le Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing